Skip to content

Well, nevermind then

June 20, 2010

I was chatting randomly to someone on my realm while I was queueing for randoms about how I wanted to get Classic Dungeon Master and that I hoped I could find people to do it with.  I was squarely in the BRD range of things and knew that the big long “Upper City” was coming and was (honestly) dreading it.  The chances of getting someone (anyone!) in the group that knew where they were going and the group finishing the instance intact were slim to none.  Especially multiple times in a row.  I was dreading it.  It actually ended up that I managed to find one group for Prison but we did the whole thing (plus I got my key) and then I didn’t queue for a random again until I was sure I wouldn’t get BRD.  That much haet.

So now that I’ve reached Outlands eligibility, I can go to Hellfire and sprint to 60 and be eligible for the Outlands randoms.  Things will go pretty fast from there.  That means that I would have to queue for particular Classic dungeons that I don’t have yet, but that also means rolling the dice in the hopes that I will have someone (actually, four someones) that know where they’re going and will stick together.  Those last Classic dungeons are long and I (ironically) cannot be a contributing member of my party, navigationwise, ’cause I don’t know the dungeons whatsoever.  Yes, I will learn them if I queue for them, but will I ever get a group that can make it to the end?  Will I have enough groups make it to the end that I will learn by repitition?

At the time I was talking to the person on my realm, I was all gung-ho about it and told myself I was DEFINTIELY going to get that achievement.  Now that it’s time for me to actually do it… I probably won’t.  I’ll probably wuss out and go back at 80 to get the achievements.

Surely I’m not the only person who doesn’t want to spend hours queueing and requeueing as people drop out of stagnant groups?

8 Comments leave one →
  1. June 20, 2010 6:50 PM

    I know exactly how you feel. After too terribly botched runs in there, I just gave up too. Now I’m runnign the BC dungeons and having fun again. I’ve been thinking about doing some research so I knew what I was doing, and then going back, but…. I don’t know when I’ll bother.

  2. June 20, 2010 7:35 PM

    Heheh, you’re definitely not the only one.
    I was really annoyed when they introduced the Achievements, and most of the raids and dungeons didn’t register. (I assume because I didn’t have any specific gear to prove I’d run them)
    I’ve caught up on most of the instances, but I still lack the raids – but I didn’t bother doing that until quite recently. It’s simply easier when you can solo it and not have to rely on strangers.

  3. June 21, 2010 7:39 AM

    I’m with you on this. If I didn’t get it and completed it while levelling I’ll just go back at 80. It’s just for the achievement, so waiting a tiny bit longer isn’t that bad. Not compared to waiting for ages in queues and still getting a group that can’t get to the end :)

    So I’d wait if I were you :)

  4. June 21, 2010 9:19 AM

    Yeeeah, I can’t blame you. Those instances are super painful at-level, and the achievement points aren’t worth the headache. So no, you’re not alone. ;)

  5. June 21, 2010 4:47 PM

    I played during Vanilla, even if it was for 2 weeks before BC came out but I can assure you I have not seen the final boss of BRD, EVER! Yeah, I hope that changes though, my warlock just hit 56 so maybe I’ll see that final boss soon.

    -Anslym

  6. June 21, 2010 5:31 PM

    Unfortunately, I think people just level up too quickly nowadays, you know? Before you know it, you’re 70 and then it’s kind of like “Wait… I wanted to do all those dungeons!”

    No shame in going back at 80. :)

  7. June 23, 2010 2:24 PM

    It’s a shame there’s no way, yet, to make cross-server (or better yet, cross-battle-group) groups. After spending so long at the level cap, back in the day, I know the last half of Blackrock Depths — the part leading past the golem foundry, the bar and on to the Black Forge, Molten Core and the king — like the back of my hand.

    I’d have been thrilled to be your guide in there.

  8. June 29, 2010 6:30 AM

    I absolutely LOVE BRD. I used to run it 2-3 times a day back in vanilla for fire resist gear and the like. I also boosted so many guildies through there to get their MC attunement. The other day I took my hunter in there to get attuned (He’s on a MC-soloing mission) and to my horror discovered I didn’t have a key on that char, nor could I remember where the key came from. A quick Wowwiki, much running about and one stupid death later and I was back in the swing of things.
    When others in the guild discovered I was running MC, they wanted to try it too, and of course they needed a guide through BRD. It’s shocking to see how many people don’t know their way in there, or have never been there for that matter :( The same with stuff like Strat, Scholo, etc.
    Oh, and I never did get to do the Emperor event even at 55-60 because everyone was always too scared to try. Ok, I better stop or my comment’s gonna end up as long as your post.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

