Skip to content

New UI? Not yet.

October 18, 2008


I had intended the post I wrote today to feature my new UI that I had plans of creating. I had put it off for a few days, saying that I was waiting for all the addons to be smoothed out and ready for use. Originally I had even wanted to find a completed suite on WoW Interface or Curse, so that all the hard work was done, since I really am not the best addon manipulator anyway.

I spent several hours going over each and every option I could find, seeing what would be useful. Going through the current addon list, seeing what could be taken out. Less is more, right? So I started out with a few core addons, thinking that I would get the big stuff done first, then do all the fun easy stuff later.

And nothing worked. Well, mainly Pitbull didn’t work – not even when I downgraded to an older version. There was a lot of back and forth, trying this and that, transferring old to try in the new, etc. We all know the drill.

Failure. All of it.

Now, I could just say, “I don’t need all this stuff!” and just use the default UI. I don’t need the unit frames changed, do I? I don’t have to have special bars for my buttons, do I?

Yes. Yes, I do.

The UI is a really important part of the experience. I will even go so far as to say that it can make or break the game for the player. For the longest time I didn’t even know you could manipulate your UI, so I only used what Blizz offered me. I was content with it because I had to be. But then somehow, at some point, I found out what addons were and what they did and how awesome the UIs could look. And I wanted it too.

An aesthetically pleasing UI makes a happy player. If you have something nice to look at, well… you don’t mind looking at it a lot – you may play the game more. If you have addons steamlining play, then you can get more done. It really does all come down to happiness.

I hate to think that I depend on these things so much. Especially when I didn’t used to think that they were necessary. But if your UI and addons were all taken away, wouldn’t you feel that your game experience was lacking? We’ve seen the other side, and the grass really is greener.

I just can’t cultivate that grass. How frustrating is that? There are so many people that not only can manipulate the addons to do what they want, there are people that actually take the time to make and code them. And I can’t even make Pitbull do what I want it to?

Shameful, that’s what it is.

Plus, it’s not only that. I haven’t yet trained my new spells or spent my talent points, because I want to put the buttons in my UI where they will fit best. I don’t want to train with the default UI and set up house, only to have to move house to the new UI later.

So, if I can’t get the UI problem solved, then I don’t train and spend my talent points. If I don’t train and spend talent points, what a sad little priest am I.

It will get done – sooner or later, I’ll have a self-crafted UI. It might not be the prettiest thing to look at, but it will be mine. I will know how to make it work. I just really hope it’s soon, so that I can be a priest again!

New UI? Not yet.

October 18, 2008


I had intended the post I wrote today to feature my new UI that I had plans of creating. I had put it off for a few days, saying that I was waiting for all the addons to be smoothed out and ready for use. Originally I had even wanted to find a completed suite on WoW Interface or Curse, so that all the hard work was done, since I really am not the best addon manipulator anyway.

I spent several hours going over each and every option I could find, seeing what would be useful. Going through the current addon list, seeing what could be taken out. Less is more, right? So I started out with a few core addons, thinking that I would get the big stuff done first, then do all the fun easy stuff later.

And nothing worked. Well, mainly Pitbull didn’t work – not even when I downgraded to an older version. There was a lot of back and forth, trying this and that, transferring old to try in the new, etc. We all know the drill.

Failure. All of it.

Now, I could just say, “I don’t need all this stuff!” and just use the default UI. I don’t need the unit frames changed, do I? I don’t have to have special bars for my buttons, do I?

Yes. Yes, I do.

The UI is a really important part of the experience. I will even go so far as to say that it can make or break the game for the player. For the longest time I didn’t even know you could manipulate your UI, so I only used what Blizz offered me. I was content with it because I had to be. But then somehow, at some point, I found out what addons were and what they did and how awesome the UIs could look. And I wanted it too.

An aesthetically pleasing UI makes a happy player. If you have something nice to look at, well… you don’t mind looking at it a lot – you may play the game more. If you have addons steamlining play, then you can get more done. It really does all come down to happiness.

I hate to think that I depend on these things so much. Especially when I didn’t used to think that they were necessary. But if your UI and addons were all taken away, wouldn’t you feel that your game experience was lacking? We’ve seen the other side, and the grass really is greener.

I just can’t cultivate that grass. How frustrating is that? There are so many people that not only can manipulate the addons to do what they want, there are people that actually take the time to make and code them. And I can’t even make Pitbull do what I want it to?

Shameful, that’s what it is.

Plus, it’s not only that. I haven’t yet trained my new spells or spent my talent points, because I want to put the buttons in my UI where they will fit best. I don’t want to train with the default UI and set up house, only to have to move house to the new UI later.

So, if I can’t get the UI problem solved, then I don’t train and spend my talent points. If I don’t train and spend talent points, what a sad little priest am I.

It will get done – sooner or later, I’ll have a self-crafted UI. It might not be the prettiest thing to look at, but it will be mine. I will know how to make it work. I just really hope it’s soon, so that I can be a priest again!

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

