Skip to content

Thoughts on: selfishness

November 12, 2008

It really amazes me how whiny people can be.

Many realms were down for the majority of November 11th, and some are down still (Anea’s realm, for example) and I understand that can be frustrating.

I don’t understand how people feel that they can demand a “refund” of the downtime every time it happens, as it they deserve it. I pay for this game, same as they do. I might even pay marginally more than others, since I pay by the month and not by the three- or six-month options.

Let’s average out 30 days to the month. 24 hours a day x 30 days = 720 hours per month at $15 per month. I believe that averages out to about $0.21 a day. That’s cents. You can find that under your couch cushions.

And yet people act as if the sky was falling, indignant and angry when there is any downtime. First of all, as romiress said on a badly named WowInsider post (imo*):

People need to calm down. As a person who’s studying computer science… Yah, the fact that this sort of major mess up doesn’t happen weekly with more then 250 realms… It’s an accomplishment in itself.

Not that I’m a computer science expert, but this makes sense – there’s a lot that goes into maintenance of anything like this game, and I can appreciate that sometimes bugs and mistakes do happen.

While I enjoy the game as much as the next person, I don’t lose my head when I can’t play because of downtime. Sometimes, like today, I had other things that I wanted to do besides play omgrightnow, like work on my knitting, so I wasn’t too fussed at all. Other times I have been sad that I couldn’t play (I was so close to leveling/maxing a profession/what-have-you) but life goes on. I found something else to do while checking to see when servers came up.

Bottom line: this is a massive game with millions playing it. Nature of the beast.

Furthermore, apparently there is a bug**, allowing for the purchase of PvP gear at a discount and free gear for mages and priests altogether. And people are clammoring in trade “where iz fre gear?” This is clearly a bug, yet people are still trying to get it, wanting to know where the vendors are. Do we not remember the last time this happened? The gear was taken away and people got banned. I can only shake my head at them.

*I say badly named because this is not a debacle. There have been worse and there will be worse come Wrath. Calling this a debacle is making a mountain out of a molehill and is only fueling the fire.

**As I was checking for more information on the gear bug, I see that they use the phrase “mail debacle” – WI staff must have learned a new word today. Also, please see above on the use of “debacle.”

One Comment leave one →
  1. Anea permalink
    November 14, 2008 9:13 PM

    @sonnySonny, I think that when Rose wrote the second paragraph of her reply, she was addressing me with her agreement. I also think that she wasn’t speaking of you specifically when she wrote it, I think she was addressing the “eveyone” part of the word “you”. I believe that only the first paragraph is for you. There was no reason to make the petty comment about “learning to read”.It’s perfectly ok with me that you disagree with the title of the post – that’s what opinions are for. That’s why we blog and why we comment. However, I will say that I titled it that way because people (the “complainers”) are being overly demanding, seemingly only because they pay money. For that $15 they expect a lot – and should, but there is a line. I think it’s a bastardized case of “the customer is always right” – it’s only true to a point and is null once demands become a little over the top.That was my thinking, and I do not want to have a sniping back and forth discussion here, so I will agree to disagree with you.

Leave a Reply

