Skip to content

First two days of Northrend in screenshots

November 15, 2008

I am really enjoying questing in the Borean Tundra. I don’t know why people do call it the Boring Tundra – is the Howling Fjord really such a party?

I love the scenery, the weather, the little extras that the devs seemed to put into everything to give it a little extra something.

The first thing that I saw upon setting foot on the continent was Valiance Keep – I really loved the pendents that were flying from the turrets. Gave it a medieval feel that set a good tone.

After a little more questing, we found the Tuskarr. And try as I might, right now I really can’t think of words that would describe exactly why I liked their village (albeit raided and destroyed) and the race as a whole, but I really did. They are a new favorite. Probably because they are round and jolly looking – much like Santa, and everyone instantly loves him, right?
This looks like a very cold bed. Not a very good shelter, is it?

Fizzcrank Fullthrottle’s story that he tells you before giving you quests is really very interesting. It’s a very imaginative story and very gnome. And I liked it enough to screencap it and write about it, so if you haven’t quested in the Borean Tundra, make a point to stop by and actually read his story instead of speed click through it.

Today we quested in Winterfin to start, and down in the trench really reminded me of The Little Mermaid. I was singing “Under the Sea” in my head while we were down there.

I also had fun with the penguins.

After I came back from killing the orcas I saw that someone had killed all the penguins. I really don’t like it when people kill critters like that. Whenever I see cats dead in Silvermoon or outside Stormwind, bunnies, any other creature that is there to complete the feel of an area, dead… it really bothers me. There is a correlation between what you do in the game and who you are outside the game and I feel like a certain type of person gets joy from killing cats just because they can and I don’t think well of them. Who thinks it’s funny to do that?

Went into the Nexus for the first time. GOR-GEOUS! I cannot tell you how much I like the snow and ice.
Blooper: As I was taking a picture of the bed-in-a-tent I had zoomed in and removed my UI and stepped over a step, and right as I took the screenshot, Frosty decided to fly in and say “OH HAI!”

Exactly like this screenshot from Zephiyr’s post. Click it. As she said, “The troll on the right hand side is CLEARLY saying “OH, HAI GUISE!!””

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

