Skip to content

Persuasion

January 27, 2009

I recently stumbled upon a new healy blog, I Like Bubbles! and today in my reader, I find this entry.  Go ahead and read it, I’ll wait.

For those of you that were lazy, the important thing to know about it is the quote from a WoW Insider post:

Where a Warrior’s Shield Slam looks and sounds like you have busted a skull open with your heavy shield and powerful blow, a Paladin’s Shield of Righteousness somewhat sparkles at an opponent threateningly, with an utter lack of aural flair.

Now, isn’t that enough to make you want to read the article posted at WI?  It made me want to read it.  And I have to say that it reminded me a lot of Gnomeageddon‘s post Why Druids Are Redundant.  Critiques on classes by members of another class are usually scathing and not complementary but these two happened to be pretty darn funny.  The comments on the WI post leave something to be desired, however.  There was a comment (that must have been deleted, since I can’t find it now) that stated: “As a friend once said: “Consecration is a fart joke in itself.”

There was everything from “Warriors get their hands dirty. Paladins shoo the dirt away with the pure and not dirty powers of light so they don’t get all icky.” to “When you’re ready for some real, honest to goodness, multi-mob tanking, threat generating, damage mitigating goodness and not some wussy sound and graphics, call your friendly, neighbourhood alliance tankadin.” and I really found myself going back and forth.  Yes, I had posted something just a few days ago about how I wasn’t sure which tank to play, but even just reading this silly post whose only point was basically to say, “Hammer of the Righteous sounds dumb” almost convinced me to dust off my poor neglected warrior and play her up to experience all the skull-busting awesomeness promised in the post.

I say almost because one of the things I love about paladins is consecrate and their AoE tanking goodness and I still want to play one.  But that nasty fart comment will ruin every consecration I might throw down.  Ugh.

5 Comments leave one →
  1. January 27, 2009 9:26 AM

    Oh, man. I absolutely adore my pally tank and nothing could ruin him for me, not even the fart joke. (This is Salanthe, the shaman, btw.) Tanking is so simple and I can hold on to tons of mobs at once with very little effort. I have a 70+ warrior to and I hate tanking on her. Paladins > warriors in my experience, but it largely comes down to personal style, I think.Still, paladin spells do sound kind of wussy.

  2. January 27, 2009 7:25 PM

    Hm, well I suppose since it’s never come to my attention I have been oblivious to these jokes. I’ve been a retadin since I rolled her oh so many months ago. At lvl 74, not even now would I ever stop playing her. She’s just a “funadin!”…with a side order of lame.I actually love the graphics on almost every paladin spell, but it suits my playstyle. I’m all for gold flying every which direction and causing damage.I smite you with my gold! That’s how rich I am!(in actuality I have a hard time saving gold heh)

  3. January 28, 2009 3:25 AM

    Hey, thanks for the comment and support on my blog! I really enjoy your style of writing and plan to keep coming back.The spirit of this post made me laugh while remembering the tankspot podcasts when Ciderhelm and Lore take jabs at each other in the name of class pride.Keep up the good work!

  4. January 28, 2009 4:34 AM

    I’ve heard most of the pally tanking jokes and have borne the brunt of many a wussy accusation. My favorite recent one is “Paladins need a ‘Heroic Throw the Book’ so they can toss their Librams at the enemy!” which is made largely defunct now that we actually have a ranged taunt (thank the Light). However, the sound of a 3-target HotR hitting still reminds me of the Death Star firing it’s laser. Pew pew!

  5. January 30, 2009 4:52 PM

    Ha, I just belatedly saw this.Macharious never did get back to me on the sparkle bit. I don’t think the fart joke would put him off, though.Ambrosyne was a brief tankadin, but it…suits her. She’s the squeaky clean holy sort. Obviously the far jokes kind of mar that image, though…I have a warrior tank, and I love her and her face smashing ways, but it’s…well, harder! But oh, Shockwave…how I love you…

Leave a Reply

