Skip to content

Housing and You

January 31, 2009

Since I have never played any other game before, I don’t know any of the other possibilities that might be available to me as a player.  Warcraft has been my first and only taste of gaming, so what I get from this game is what I would expect of other games – certainly nothing more.  However, there have been posts in blogs and on forums for quite a while about housing.  Players want it.

So I really thought about that.  Housing?  Apartments?  The first thing I thought of was Stormwind.  The inns and shops sometimes have empty rooms, so I imagined having a room to myself.  But what if Lus wanted to come over for dinner?  I couldn’t very well shove the innkeeper out of the way to make dinner for us.  And I doubt both of us would fit on a single bed.  And other than that quick thinking, I never gave housing another thought.  I didn’t think that Blizz would implement it soon, so why should I concern myself?

Because the possibilities are endless, that’s why.  Because it’s fun to think about.  And Kagrra over at The Druid Team has started a series of articles addressing this very issue.  The first article focuses on the houses available in Stormwind and Thunderbluff  (he even has floorplans!) and the second about utilities.  And this isn’t just fantastical thinking; he’s really viewing it from a logical and game savvy perspective.

So stop by and give him a read – elf housing of both flavors will be discussed next – can’t wait!

4 Comments leave one →
  1. February 2, 2009 12:48 PM

    I think they were thinking if implementing something like this but it was more of a base like a guild headquarters.You would go through a portal and there would be the guild bank and all other stuff.I played eve online before WOW and they had bases where corps could build there own stations etc.

  2. February 3, 2009 3:13 PM

    If I remember correctly Evercrack has something where you can purchase land and buidl various sized buildings on them. Where you store all the junk you’ve collected while adventuring.Could always be interesting to see the WoW real estate market effects. :)

  3. Adlib permalink
    February 10, 2009 8:13 PM

    I have been hearing talk about housing a lot. I think it would be a huge success. Maybe that’s one thing they’re holding out on until the next expansion. Just my two cents on it. I would totally live in Stormwind. :)

  4. February 13, 2009 1:00 AM

    […] again with the Ohhhh… Slightly off topic (but only slightly) Anea from Holy Discipline brought the series of player housing posts by Kagrra from The Druid Team to my attention. Some of […]

Leave a Reply

