Skip to content

Recruit-a-friend – wise?

February 8, 2009

Last night before a midnight run of Naxx (and my first meeting and slaying of Sapphiron and Kel’Thuzad) I was discussing with some guildies my alt-conundrum and the raid leader’s solution was to use the recruit-a-friend system to get a high level paladin quickly, since that seemed to be the class that I was wanting to play most.  I wasn’t quite clear on how it worked, so he gave me a rundown.  I didn’t explore it further last night because the raid ran late, but I let Lus know about it today and he thought it was a good enough idea that he beat me to punch – his new account was created before I even looked up from the FAQ.

He rolled a really cute gnome warlock and paired him with a mage and they’re 20 now.  And they will be 60 very soon.  During all the runs of the Stockades, it gave me ample time to try to figure out all the characters that I wanted – what classes did I want at my disposal?  And while I am still sure that I want a tanking class, I wasn’t sure if insta-leveling was the way to go.

When I group up with people that I don’t know, I expect them to know their class and to play it well.  Now I know that you can read up on a class and be aware of the abilities that you have, but I think that practice makes perfect.  I would feel most comfortable as a tank knowing that I had honed my abilities for a full 80 levels – had some time to have trial and error, to  see if certain specs worked for me – just basically make myself familiar with the class.

Another example of what I’m talking about is how people largely tend to look down on most death knights, because anyone can have one now and just because they have reached a high level doesn’t mean they know what they’re doing.  Same thing for people that are “given” characters or have bought accounts – they have the character, sure, but they don’t yet know what they’re doing.

So, while the free and fast levels are extremely appealing, I’m not sure if that’s what I will want to do.  Although – I will also say that I would feel a little less uncomfortable about having higher level DPS classes, ranged in particular.  (I’m thinking about mages or an elemental shaman specifically, since those are classes I would play.)  And while it feels almost hypocritical by thinking it would be ok, I think that you need to be more on top of your game to be a viable tank than “just” a DPS.  And before all you DPS cry out in indignation, I’m not saying that anyone can do your job and do it well.  I am saying that it would be passable.  And in my opinion if one or the other has to be only passable and one has to be experienced, I would choose the DPS to be passable and the tank to be experienced.

TL:DR – Even though I know that I would figure it out just fine, I think that leveling the good old fashioned way is best for me.

Plus, I only want to have Draenei on my main server, which will be explained in another post, no doubt,  so that is a turn off as well.

17 Comments leave one →
  1. February 8, 2009 3:08 PM

    Consider also that:* you can get plenty of practice once you get to end cap just by going back and helping anyone needing any lowbie instance (seems silly, but it can teach you situational awareness from a tank’s perspective even when running folks through VC – the faster you can do it with no deaths the better you are); especially if you help a bunch of folks get through the Outlands content.* at the rate that Blizz is tweaking talents and skills – you will find that folks are often having to re-learn anyways even if they leveled up old school — take Mutilate rogues for example, now having to put their fastest weapon in their main hand instead of off hand.* most of all, leveling to 80 old school really still does not teach you the experience you need to go from a ‘good’ tank to a ‘great’ tank — you really have no other way than to be in the trenches at 80, visor down, shield up, getting seriously shoved around while healers frantically try to keep you alive and deeps race to eradicate the boss; more time spent in front of end content bosses > more time spent leveling through Burning Steppes.Whichever you choose, welcome to tanking!

  2. Anea permalink
    February 9, 2009 4:10 AM

    @ Ironshield – Those are interesting points that I hadn’t considered, especially the last. Trial under fire will make you or break you, surely. And nothing boosts your confidence than smiting good ‘ol Mr. Smite, right? I’ll have to exercise these ideas!

  3. February 9, 2009 8:53 AM

    I have contemplated it for the zefra you get after three months of recruite a friend.

  4. February 9, 2009 5:01 PM

    If you consider traditional leveling strategies, it is also really common to level future tanks/healers as their DPS spec initially to speed up the process. Even if you aren’t sporting a zhevra, it is really no guarantee that you’ve gained experience from leveling.As for tanking, I will advocate strongly for Warrior Power. You’ll be no slouch as far as killing is concerned, and Blizzard has already stated they love the way Prot turned out (I do too, incidentally).If you end up recruit-a-friend-ing on your tank, I’d also suggest partnering with a healer. Getting used to the nuances of working with one is probably one of the best skills you can hope to acquire while leveling. It’s really a mind-set that can take time to cultivate.

  5. Anea permalink
    February 9, 2009 8:17 PM

    @ Esdras – I bet it was worth it – I saw a zhevra or two after recruit a friend started, but other than those isolated incidents, I never see them. Practically one of a kind now, if you ran around with one of those!

  6. Anea permalink
    February 9, 2009 8:17 PM

    @ Esdras – I bet it was worth it – I saw a zhevra or two after recruit a friend started, but other than those isolated incidents, I never see them. Practically one of a kind now, if you ran around with one of those!

  7. Anea permalink
    February 9, 2009 8:25 PM

    @Tarsus – I was so focused on making my point that I neglected to process all the information – yes, there are people that level all the way up on their own and just aren’t that great at their class. I’ve seen this – healed them several times, in fact. Why I ignored the point? No clue.

  8. Anea permalink
    February 9, 2009 8:25 PM

    @Tarsus – I was so focused on making my point that I neglected to process all the information – yes, there are people that level all the way up on their own and just aren’t that great at their class. I’ve seen this – healed them several times, in fact. Why I ignored the point? No clue.

  9. February 10, 2009 1:10 PM

    I wrote something up about the pros and cons of Recruit a Friend <a href="http://4haelz.blogspot.com/2008/10/recruit-friend-revisited.html“ rel=”nofollow”>here. I’ve used it before, and it’s nice in some ways and not so nice in others. :)

  10. Argon permalink
    February 10, 2009 7:57 PM

    As others have said, soloing as a tank doesn’t really help that much anyways, except for letting you practice your rotation, and letting you practice managing a ton of mobs at once. But for a Paladin at least you don’t even get all the abilities for your rotation until level 75! R-a-F only goes to level 60, so you’ll still have 20 levels to work that out.

  11. February 10, 2009 9:16 PM

    I did the recruit a friend thing because I love to play many classes. In fact I now have every class up to 60, 6 of which are over 70 and 2 at 80. The thing you have to remember is that the triple xp and grinding in that fashion will only take you up to 60 so you have 20 levels to learn the class. Also, most of the class defining talents don’t show up until that point so you aren’t learning a whole lot before then.Just keep in mind if you do decide to do this, you only get 90 days of triple experience, so you might as well level up as much as you can. You can always decide not to play a class later and around 60 you can really figure out if you like a class or not. Just remember that you won’t have the same gear someone who levelled up will have.

  12. Pinná permalink
    February 10, 2009 9:21 PM

    Hello there! I was pointed this way from over yonder (BBB Website). I enjoyed reading the posts and thought I’d drop a note of encouragement.I think that the problem with death knights are orientation based. Since death knights are melee characters, people who previously had melee based dps characters will have an easier time getting oriented with the movement heavy aspect of the class (fire! oh noes! it burnssss!). Coming from previously melee, dot oriented classes (rogue/feral druids) it was much easier for me to play the class. I can see how formerly ranged classes would have some issues in getting used to the class.I find the death knight class to be very fun and challenging to play. You have to be constantly aware of your rune timers, your cool downs and your runic power, on top of the situational awareness of the encounter (again, fire! bad!). The play style is priority based as well which makes it challenging. The class itself is easy to play but difficult to master.

  13. February 11, 2009 2:15 AM

    Pffft… I know what you mean… I have rolled a Death Knight… then sometime later I remembered it wasn’t a level 1 toon and needed it’s talents allocated… too hard, haven’t been back since.Yes I will go back, but I need to read and think about it before slopping about with a toon “old” enough to know better.As for recruit a friend… well, at least you have “some” of the levels (the ones not granted) to learn the toon… but these days there are still plenty of levels to work out which 3 buttons to press and when.

  14. Luiniel permalink
    February 11, 2009 4:52 PM

    Whilst lots of DKs do seem to deserve that reputation bear in mind that they’re only the most recent class to have it — look at “Huntard”s for instance, a class reputedly so easy to play that you can get to level 70 without any concept of how you did it. If you’re the kind of person who likes playing their class well you’ll do so however you got there; because that’s who you are.

  15. Luiniel permalink
    February 11, 2009 4:52 PM

    Whilst lots of DKs do seem to deserve that reputation bear in mind that they’re only the most recent class to have it — look at “Huntard”s for instance, a class reputedly so easy to play that you can get to level 70 without any concept of how you did it. If you’re the kind of person who likes playing their class well you’ll do so however you got there; because that’s who you are.

  16. February 20, 2009 7:24 AM

    […] for an alt that I will play as part of the trio that I will level using Recruit-a-Friend. (Yes, I did decide to do it!) However, as I created her, I was copying her physical image from a screenshot I had seen of […]

  17. October 25, 2009 4:25 PM

    […] […]

Leave a Reply

