Skip to content

Back to your roots

February 10, 2009

Teldrassil
Though I will never forget the Troll shaman that was my very first character ever, after I quit playing her at level 12, I rolled a very long series of Night Elves.  I was a very new newb back then and hardly ever played out of the starting area sometimes and wanted to start one of every single class, so I spent quite a lot of time in Teldrassil, Darkshore and Ashenvale.  I learned how to speak and quest in Teldrassil, I learned what grouping and talent points were in Darkshore and what professions and PvP was in Ashenvale.  I learned how to be a druid in the Night Elf areas after several tries.

Traveling back to the Night Elf areas doesn’t just make me think, “Oh yeah, I remember leveling through here” it really brings me back.  Hearing the music makes me sigh with contentment, my throat might close up a bit and makes me want to be a young elf again.  I think that it’s especially moving because once I grew out of my elf phase, I didn’t step foot there again for months and months, perhaps even a year.  So that area and it’s music was associated solely with my beginnings as a player.

What area or music in game takes you back to when you were just a wee low level?

39 Comments leave one →
  1. February 10, 2009 2:00 PM

    Westfall. God, how I hated that run from Stormwind to Goldshire to Sentinel Hill. I don’t have the wistful rememberances of the low level areas you do. Normally, if I make an alt, they get high enough to get to those areas and I think, “Man, I REALLY don’t wanna do this zone again.” So they sit in the inn, get enough rested XP to get to 80 (if the rested XP went that high) and wallow in loathing that I never play them again.

  2. February 10, 2009 2:04 PM

    Gnomeregan. I was a release day player (although that account is LONG gone), and so I was on the cutting edge of being a Hunter. There WERE no good Hunters, as we were still grasping to how to play the class.Gnomeregan, I think, is where my evolution from a “huntard” to a real Hunter began. It’s where I discovered how to trap, how to jump-shot, how to kite, and how to strategize. It’s where I learned that it’s okay to sacrifice a pet if it’s to save a healer, it’s okay to take charge if your tank is hesitant, and it’s definitely okay to have MORE EXPLOSIVES!Many players loathe Gnomeregan. For me, it’s where a dwarf shed his stone skin and from the ashes of a Huntard arose as a real Hunter.The rest, as they say, is a long and sordid history. :)

  3. February 10, 2009 2:18 PM

    The “dramatic music” that starts playing once you’ve stepped into the courtyard of Shadowfang Keep was always one of my favorites. The next time it appears is deep in Molten Core, after you’ve defeated Baron Geddon and Shaz. I know I felt my heart pump a little faster when I heard it.

  4. willel permalink
    February 10, 2009 2:23 PM

    The music in Ashenvale is probably my favorite music in the game. Though I am also very fond of the music in Howling Fjord.

  5. February 10, 2009 2:31 PM

    Hands-down, the grassy plains of Mulgore. My first character I really learned how to play was a Tauren, and I’ve always had a soft spot for the buggers.

  6. February 10, 2009 2:56 PM

    Durotar, hands down. It magically becomes a year ago and I’m still discovering what this weird game is and how it works.

  7. February 10, 2009 2:56 PM

    Durotar, hands down. It magically becomes a year ago and I’m still discovering what this weird game is and how it works.

  8. February 10, 2009 3:26 PM

    Same with stop – the verdant plains of Mulgore. When all I knew was the name of the game, and hardly even had any ‘wasd’ experience, Mulgore was my training ground. Everything from the ambient rainmaker, to the soft violins…the gentle, almost tribal music…the powerful drums when I first stepped into Bloodhoof Village or Thunder Bluff…when I heard that music, I knew I was safe.Since then, I have played almost exclusively tauren females (save for my belf hunter on my old server), so Mulgore really holds a dear place in my heart.Now, the Barrens….well, that’s another story. =)

  9. Davlin permalink
    February 10, 2009 4:15 PM

    Gnomeregan, Kharanos, and the docks at Auberdine. When I was a freshly made noob, I didn’t know much about MMO’s and whatnot so I mostly just killed and explored as I learned. I was under the impression that levels didn’t matter as much as “Seeing the World.” So as soon as I could do so, I travelled to Auberdine and quested there for a bit. I did a lot of travel my first 20 levels. Just wandering around and around, and my most fun was resetting my hearth, because that was my new home, or base of operations, from which I saved all of Azeroth.Ah, I miss being Naive.

  10. Davlin permalink
    February 10, 2009 4:15 PM

    Gnomeregan, Kharanos, and the docks at Auberdine. When I was a freshly made noob, I didn’t know much about MMO’s and whatnot so I mostly just killed and explored as I learned. I was under the impression that levels didn’t matter as much as “Seeing the World.” So as soon as I could do so, I travelled to Auberdine and quested there for a bit. I did a lot of travel my first 20 levels. Just wandering around and around, and my most fun was resetting my hearth, because that was my new home, or base of operations, from which I saved all of Azeroth.Ah, I miss being Naive.

  11. February 10, 2009 6:17 PM

    That’s exactly how I feel whenever I go back to Teldrassil! The Night Elf zones are always my favorite, and I can’t tell if it’s just because it was my first WoW experience, or if they really just suit me so well. I’m always so surprised when I think about how lucky I was to roll the perfect class and race the first time around. I’ve never even considered making one of my alts my main because they just don’t feel the same.

  12. February 10, 2009 7:51 PM

    Added to the reader!Good work here!

  13. Chaninn permalink
    February 10, 2009 7:53 PM

    Northshire Abbey. I love the human starting area and will run my newbie toons from whereever they start to Northshire Abbey. The run from Eastvale Logging Camp to…anywhere is the suck tho. I winced every time I had to run back and forth thru Elwyn Forest for quests.

  14. Adlib permalink
    February 10, 2009 8:00 PM

    The music in Elwynn Forest. It’s such a pretty area too, in my opinion. I remember being a young mage over there. Good times. I did get her to Darkshore and Ashenvale for those quests though so those zones always bring me back. Ashenvale has like 10,000 quests so you spend forever there unless you decide to do STV. Leveling still isn’t my favorite thing though.

  15. February 10, 2009 8:10 PM

    Teldrassil for me. My first ever character was a Night Elf hunter, so that’s where I took my first tentative steps in this game. I also have to give a shout-out to the Wetlands, because that’s where I was when I took my first screenshot ever, and learned how to get rid of my UI, so all of the screenshots I took in the future would look a little more pretty!

  16. February 10, 2009 8:10 PM

    Teldrassil for me. My first ever character was a Night Elf hunter, so that’s where I took my first tentative steps in this game. I also have to give a shout-out to the Wetlands, because that’s where I was when I took my first screenshot ever, and learned how to get rid of my UI, so all of the screenshots I took in the future would look a little more pretty!

  17. Elearin permalink
    February 10, 2009 8:16 PM

    A friend of mine got me into WoW after much pleading. When I finally did get the game, I rolled a night elf druid and he brought his level 70 druid over to Teldrassil to help me out. I was working on the “kill x number of grell” quest and he asked me how many more I needed. I told him and he said “Okay” then used Hurricane to rain down lightning death on a group of them- quest complete in seconds.I had almost forgotten how impressive that was until I recently rolled a new night elf warrior. I hadn’t really been back to the night elf starting area since then, and when I saw that same group of grell sitting there I got a nice warm fuzzy feeling as I remembered how my friend dispatched them.I’ve been planning on taking my druid that I rolled way back when (now a proud level 80) back there just to use Hurricane on those nasty little monsters.

  18. Mark permalink
    February 10, 2009 8:57 PM

    I had my own memory lane flashbacks lately…nothing from starter areas but running around arathi highlands I remembered all the fun times of back and forth pvp between the refuge camp and hammerfall. I really started to miss those days, of course at that point I killed everything in hammerfall with my DK which broke the mood lol.

  19. February 10, 2009 8:58 PM

    Ahh thinking back to my first toon….oh wait I still have him :) and my second…but there have been a series since that have been deleted…Highets NE I ever had was a 5 I think… :(

  20. February 10, 2009 9:19 PM

    Omigosh! I was just like that. My favorite lore is of the Night Elf & their emerald dream. Close second favorite is the Foresaken.Weirdest thing, my VERY first toon on my boyfriend’s account was a night elf druid. Then I roled a gnome lock, Shrinnkette, as my main on my first account. Then I gave the account away to his kids, cuz I wasn’t playing much & I had let them create a butt load of toons on it! hehe! Then, silly me, my next main was also a gnome & her name is Shrinnpoof. She is firey magey goodness! lolBut my new druid, Elysse, is my favorite now & I may just make her my main when I can get back to playing alot again! :)Cool blog :)

  21. February 10, 2009 10:51 PM

    Got to be Stranglethorn Vale for me.Not for the leveling grind that most people do there, but something I did on my first Trial account that was hilariously noobish.My first character was a Night Elf Hunter (woo, stereotype!), and I got a really good two handed sword drop in Darkshore… but the two handed sword trainer was in Stormwind!Now, what most people would do would be take the boat to Menethil (pre-SW boat times!), and make the gruelling Wetlands run to IF, and hop on the tram.Pshh, lightweights.I didn’t know this boat existed… so I went down to Ratchet, took the boat to Booty Bay, and as a level 18 Hunter, broke all my gear by running and dying about a million times through Stranglethorn Vale and Darkshore.Whenever I’m in STV now, I always laugh at myself for going on that epic journey for no reason, and trying to corpse run from STV and Rez in Elwynn… which didn’t work.

  22. February 10, 2009 10:54 PM

    Err, second instance of Darkshore should be Duskwood.See, Anea, this is what happens when I do a quick fire comment! :D

  23. John permalink
    February 10, 2009 10:56 PM

    I will always love Kharanos and that general area. I spent sooo long levelling up my first char (dwarf pally) and that music and snowy calm combined with the sudden bear growl or coyote bite always reminds me of my first weeks playing.Even more, it reminds me of my real life when I just started playing, had just gotten married, had a good job, no kids – always makes me sad for the simpler life, kinda like the simpler days of wow, when you didn’t try to min/max and everything was new and full of opportunity and fun.*sigh*

  24. John permalink
    February 10, 2009 10:56 PM

    I will always love Kharanos and that general area. I spent sooo long levelling up my first char (dwarf pally) and that music and snowy calm combined with the sudden bear growl or coyote bite always reminds me of my first weeks playing.Even more, it reminds me of my real life when I just started playing, had just gotten married, had a good job, no kids – always makes me sad for the simpler life, kinda like the simpler days of wow, when you didn’t try to min/max and everything was new and full of opportunity and fun.*sigh*

  25. Chapooke permalink
    February 11, 2009 7:14 AM

    The northeastern corner of Ashenvale – where a very surprised young NE rogue discovered some extremely large green dragons. In a “What just happened? I’m dead” followed by a very cautious run back to my corpse once I looked at the combat log…Also, while not quite as young, the corpserun from Thorium point to Blackrock Mountain always takes me back to those heady Vanilla raiding days.

  26. Splurf permalink
    February 11, 2009 10:34 AM

    I actually find the Barrens to be the most atmospheric zone in the game. The music evokes the feeling of vast spaces, wind on the plains and all that. Add to that the actual (virtual) vast spaces, the variations in landscape from deciduous forests at the northern tip to the subtropical merchant coast, lush oases and plenty of *climbable* mountains and you’ve got something special. /tear Brings me back.

  27. February 11, 2009 11:14 AM

    Most of my chars are dwarfs, the three i play just now priest, pally and DK are all dwarfs and my rogue, mage are gnomes so i live going back to kharanos its like MY HOME not my characters hahaha.

  28. February 11, 2009 12:15 PM

    Reading your post and the comments, the first thing that sprang to mind is that to me Thunderbluff is home.It’s not necessarily the music, I couldn’t humm it if my life depended on it, but if I heard it, it would bring me there immediately. Same as the smell of oranges reminds me a really scary tv show I saw when I was little :)

  29. February 11, 2009 12:15 PM

    Reading your post and the comments, the first thing that sprang to mind is that to me Thunderbluff is home.It’s not necessarily the music, I couldn’t humm it if my life depended on it, but if I heard it, it would bring me there immediately. Same as the smell of oranges reminds me a really scary tv show I saw when I was little :)

  30. February 11, 2009 2:25 PM

    The Barrens. It reminds me of my first character, a Troll Hunter, way back in the day. Just something about the emptiness, the long flat plains, and the music. Total nostalgia overload.I think mine was the first Belf every to rush through Ghostlands just so I could proceed to leveling in the Barrens.

  31. Jack permalink
    February 11, 2009 5:51 PM

    Teldrassil for me too. Just the sense of awe I felt that first month I had the game, sitting on a branch at the top of the world, watching the sun set off its edge. The thrill the first time I flew. Taking off from Rut’theran Village to Auberdine while the ship set sail below me. The unfolding lore of the ancient Night Elf empire as I wandered its ruins.My gaming buddies complain about how big Teldrassil, Darkshore and Ashenvale are . . . how much running is required to quest in them. I always feel like I’m returning home the closer I get to Teldrassil. And in Shadowglen I’m there. I’ve got a friend named Denalan near the dock on Lake Al’Ameth, Saelienne runs the hostel where I hang my hat in Darnassus and the Temple of the Moon is my peaceful place.In fact, I was on my Tauren Warrior alt last night and cried a little inside when a few of my guildies got the Immortal no More achievement. Didn’t bother me at all when the got Storming Stormwind or Death to the King . . . but Tyrande Whisperwind? Who would wish her harm?

  32. February 12, 2009 4:18 PM

    I have to gravitate to the obvious – Ellwyn Forest.I started the game Pre-BC, and I wanted to play a human (really inspired choice) and leveled way too many of them over the years…but there is something about that area that say “this is what we are fighting for.” Sure there are a few Kobolds, and the Delias continue to be a nuissance, but Ellwyn seems a thousand miles away from the front lines that are a major part of other zones.Something about Ellwyn just says “home.”Truth be told, I have that song as my ringtone for my own home…is that art imitating life, or the reverse???

  33. Plastic Rat permalink
    February 13, 2009 10:50 AM

    Dwarven starting area. The crunch of snow. The ‘Get 5 tough wolf meats’ quest.Gah, that was the very first part of the game I ever saw, and I fell completely in love with it. The first time that pass opened up in front of me and then I found Kharanos and then… Ironforge.. and god, the Deeprun Tram was the most awesome thing ever!Sometimes when the server is down, I’ll just go start a L1 dwarf on another server and just walk around. It really does feel like home and I blame that zone for never being able to feel content in any other MMO.

  34. Plastic Rat permalink
    February 13, 2009 10:50 AM

    Dwarven starting area. The crunch of snow. The ‘Get 5 tough wolf meats’ quest.Gah, that was the very first part of the game I ever saw, and I fell completely in love with it. The first time that pass opened up in front of me and then I found Kharanos and then… Ironforge.. and god, the Deeprun Tram was the most awesome thing ever!Sometimes when the server is down, I’ll just go start a L1 dwarf on another server and just walk around. It really does feel like home and I blame that zone for never being able to feel content in any other MMO.

  35. Holy dude permalink
    February 16, 2009 9:29 PM

    Well it might make me seem weird… but my faveorite place is the Undead areas, OMG how i love the storyline it really takes me back to my roots! my first toon was an Undead Warlock(double the evil, MUAHAHAHAHAHAAHAHAHAHAAAAA!) P.S. Tell me if you think im weird for this!

  36. March 9, 2009 2:42 AM

    […] or the Wetlands. And I don’t like any of those zones. Yes, a while ago I wrote about how I was nostalgic for Night Elf zones and their music, but that doesn’t mean it isn’t a pain to run back and forth across […]

  37. October 25, 2009 4:56 PM

    […] […]

  38. November 4, 2009 8:36 PM

    […] […]

  39. November 4, 2009 8:36 PM

    […] […]

Leave a Reply

