Skip to content

On tone and class

February 15, 2009

Conspiracy wrote a post titled “The Flow of Things” over at his blog examining which direction he wanted to take his blog and as I was commenting, my comment turned itself into much longer than a comment was meant to be, so I figured I’d post it here.  Not only because it was long enough to be posted here, but because perhaps it needs to be said here.

One mistake that I think I might have made is choosing a name that could easily convey to a first time reader that the blog is a more serious sort of blog, full of theorycrafting, guides and bleeding edge news for the class.  Even though the name is technically correct (I am specced holy/disc) this blog is mostly general ramblings and thoughts and hardly class specific at all.  Because if you compared a name like HolyDiscipline or, say… SpaceGoats R Us,  which of those do you think would be more serious and class oriented and which would you think would be general randomness?

It’s been something I’ve been thinking about for the last week or so – I have a very marked lack of priest-relevant posts on this blog.  I don’t even post patch notes.  (I hardly see the point, they’re already up on countless other sites.)    I don’t feel as if I can only post theorycrafting/guides/class analysis in order to be a successful blog, but I feel like something priestly ought to be here.  Otherwise it would just be Anea, general (may-as-well-be-classless) blogger, right?

Basically, I am worried about misleading my readers and not living up to what my name implies.  Should I change my name?  I don’t know – I’m halfway contemplating it.

So, if you came here for up to the minute information on priests, spec critique and healing strategy – sorry.  None of that here.  But I would send you over to World of Snarkcraft, Jov and Seri have all sorts of priesty goodness like that (plus some snark thrown in – bonus!)

19 Comments leave one →
  1. February 15, 2009 1:28 AM

    I like your name the way it is. While the title isn’t ridiculous and goofy like “SpaceGoats R Us” I still like yours better. I wouldn’t be able to take a blog called “SpaceGoats R Us” seriously and while you don’t post serious content I still take your blog seriously. You don’t want people thinking your writing is all a big joke. That may degrade the value of your space.Besides… guides and theorycrafting are great but it always seems like someone got there first. :P We’ll just write what makes us happy instead.

  2. February 15, 2009 1:31 AM

    If you took my blog name to be a measure of what you’d find in it… you’d expect it to be nearly useless.Which I hope isn’t the case!I’ve told you before I’m bad at comments, so I’m going to simply say I think your blog name is fine. I don’t make any expectations from blog names beyond the bloggers class. Then again, I don’t do theorycraft myself, and thus don’t immediately expect others to do so.Yep, bad at comments.

  3. February 15, 2009 2:02 AM

    First of all, from what I’ve learned about ‘branding’ and all that fancy blogger talk, I would not change your name. Your name, your avatar…they are all YOU. They are who YOU are, and no one else. Not too long ago, you left a comment on my latest ‘comic,’ and I instantly recognized you as ‘Holy Discipline.’ Your blog is your baby; it’s your creation. Kagrra was right – write what makes you happy.I can understand you getting concerned that you may be ‘misleading’ to a casual surfer, but really, I wouldn’t worry about it at all. Holy Discipline is yours – your thoughts, your feelings, your opinions, and your style of writing. Don’t change your face just to make others like you more. We all think you’re perfect! =D

  4. February 15, 2009 2:48 AM

    It’s definitely about making something as your own and not feeling like you have to live up to some standard. When I first saw your blog in a link section, I immediately knew it was what I was looking for (priest healing blog) and was curious even before I scrolled over and clicked it. Besides, it’s the content of your posts that matter, not what’s written on the banner and from what I’ve seen, this is a pretty rockin’ blog.

  5. willel permalink
    February 15, 2009 3:49 AM

    I like the name of your blog. I agree with the above comments that you shouldn’t worry it and should simply write exactly what you want to write.

  6. February 15, 2009 4:32 AM

    I personally love the name of your site. SpaceGoats R Us might reflect the blog tone well, but Holydiscipline sounds cooler, and for me personally, that would be more important. The point is, those who come looking for theorycraft and don’t find it won’t be horribly turned off; they’ll just keep looking. Those of us who come to read knowing what content to expect, well, it just gives me an easy to remember url to type in.As for the class issue, I think including priest stuff is relevant only if it gives you the urge to blog it. I know I only write pally-specific posts when I have an issue to talk about, and otherwise, general posts suffice.Like you told me, it’s YOUR blog. Do with it what makes you happy. :D

  7. February 15, 2009 4:32 AM

    I personally love the name of your site. SpaceGoats R Us might reflect the blog tone well, but Holydiscipline sounds cooler, and for me personally, that would be more important. The point is, those who come looking for theorycraft and don’t find it won’t be horribly turned off; they’ll just keep looking. Those of us who come to read knowing what content to expect, well, it just gives me an easy to remember url to type in.As for the class issue, I think including priest stuff is relevant only if it gives you the urge to blog it. I know I only write pally-specific posts when I have an issue to talk about, and otherwise, general posts suffice.Like you told me, it’s YOUR blog. Do with it what makes you happy. :D

  8. February 15, 2009 7:47 AM

    I think the name of your blog suits you/Anea perfectly, and you have certainly created an “identity” – I saw your logo while looking for something on livejournal and knew instantly it was you.Conversely, I can’t help but wonder if I have the reverse problem with my blog – if my name isn’t too cutesy/silly and not serious enough to garner a passing glance.

  9. Anea permalink
    February 15, 2009 7:55 AM

    @ Grimtorn – on the contrary, your name is what made me stop and look. (I really don’t read DK blogs – yours is the only one I read, actually, so a “regular” name might have turned me off.) It catches interest, but leaves you room to write however you wait – could go either way. Plus, you went outside of the box with a not-taken-from-the-game term for a name. (Unlike some certain priests I may or may not know…) >.>@ everyone – thank you for your kind words and thoughts. I am glad to know I have not let you down by not being a priest blog version of the EJ priest forums.

  10. Anea permalink
    February 15, 2009 7:55 AM

    @ Grimtorn – on the contrary, your name is what made me stop and look. (I really don’t read DK blogs – yours is the only one I read, actually, so a “regular” name might have turned me off.) It catches interest, but leaves you room to write however you wait – could go either way. Plus, you went outside of the box with a not-taken-from-the-game term for a name. (Unlike some certain priests I may or may not know…) >.>@ everyone – thank you for your kind words and thoughts. I am glad to know I have not let you down by not being a priest blog version of the EJ priest forums.

  11. jedimax permalink
    February 15, 2009 1:34 PM

    i have enought sources of guides, tactics and whatever i need to play my priest. i like this blog (and dont care about the name), because the thoughts are more about the mentality of a priest.there are two different components of beeing a priest. knowing all the math-formulars is just a part. the other is the the reason, why to play.keep on going your business :)

  12. February 15, 2009 1:53 PM

    I agree with the above comment on branding. Changing your name will just mess with people who think of YOU as being “Holy Discipline”And don’t forget the awesome thing about Snarkcraft: It’s the two-priest blog by a Priest and a Rogue. ;)

  13. February 15, 2009 6:41 PM

    Keep your name, and send all those looking for pearls of priestly wisdom to the Aerie. (Matt? Matticus WHO?) :D

  14. Jack permalink
    February 16, 2009 2:59 PM

    The name of your blog is great. If anyone shows up, sees that header and still expects something other than a nice, friendly casual blog . . . well, they’ll figure out they’re in the wrong place after reading an entry or two.I mean, I love the header. The entries are great fun to read. It’s the type of thing I’m looking for in a WoW blog. And you do it well enough that people looking for elitistjerk type wall-of-text analysis will move along.

  15. Jack permalink
    February 16, 2009 2:59 PM

    The name of your blog is great. If anyone shows up, sees that header and still expects something other than a nice, friendly casual blog . . . well, they’ll figure out they’re in the wrong place after reading an entry or two.I mean, I love the header. The entries are great fun to read. It’s the type of thing I’m looking for in a WoW blog. And you do it well enough that people looking for elitistjerk type wall-of-text analysis will move along.

  16. February 16, 2009 3:28 PM

    Just leave the “Space Goats R Us” to me. :P

  17. February 18, 2009 9:42 PM

    […] other day, Anea at Holy Discipline wrote about the tone of her blog (referencing another post at on Mana Spring). They both bring up points that I’ve been […]

  18. February 18, 2009 9:42 PM

    […] other day, Anea at Holy Discipline wrote about the tone of her blog (referencing another post at on Mana Spring). They both bring up points that I’ve been […]

  19. February 19, 2009 7:33 PM

    I’d say keep the name of the site the way it is.

  20. February 24, 2009 8:19 AM

    I like the name. Its sort of like “Holy Banana!” or other expressions like that, indicating a sort of wide-eyed wonder and happy surprise at the world, which I think describes your blog very well :-)

Leave a Reply

