Skip to content

The other night, on Vent…

February 17, 2009

Lus and I had both signed up for 25man Naxx.  He got to go but I was on the bench.  Since we play right next to each other, I can see his screen and hear his Vent, even though I wasn’t actually logged in to Vent myself.  However, since we’re very new to this guild, only the guild leader knew that.

Guild Leader in Vent: A healer has to leave.  We have Anea on standby, she’s a holy/disc priest.

Some Guild Guy in Vent: Isn’t she like a balance priest?  Doesn’t that only count as half priest?  We need the heals for Sapph.”

Anea gasps in indignation.

Anea in /gchat: I am ALL priest.

SGG in Vent: omg how did she know I said that???

Hilarity ensues.

11 Comments leave one →
  1. jedimax permalink
    February 17, 2009 11:24 AM

    Seems, that you are now known as “The Elder and omniscient Anea” ^^But i googled your armory and i looks really a little bit strange. You picked all the good talents, but i think the combination is wrong. I would ask you, what your role in raid would be. Are you a single-target-healer without penace? Or are you a raid-healer without CoH ?I dont wont to convince you to something you don’t like, but what’s about chosing one site: the disc or the holy? just give it a try and write a blog post, how you felt doing this, and if you think that this improves you.

  2. Anea permalink
    February 17, 2009 12:57 PM

    @ jedimax – If you get right down to it, I never thought of whether not I would be either/or (single target or raid healer) I just specced what felt comfortable to me. I know that it’s odd I have neither cornerstone talent of either of the trees, but the short version is: I never used CoH. The long version is: I never specced into it during BC, so even when I specced CoH in Wrath to try it out, I never used it anyway, so I figured I could put the point elsewhere.I wouldn’t mind speccing deep Discipline for the hell of it (and yummy penance, omg) but that would require regearing and regemming and while possible at this point, I think I will wait for it. I would have no problems speccing into CoH to try it out and see how things go, so I will take that in to consideration – and will also think about writing a post, but as you can tell from my “On Tone and Class” post, I’m no expert and it might not be the evaluation you are looking for.

  3. jedimax permalink
    February 17, 2009 1:27 PM

    No, no, i don’t what an expert. The expert would respec and tell me how many FPS he gets, what his proper enchants are, spellrotation, best gear in game. he will give a lots of maths, formulars, and stuff like this.but you will give an personal impression of how this new spec feels like. it’s important to know the experience of an unexperience player (because i have to deal a lot with them).I still hate CoH, thats the reason why i specced to discipline. but i have to admit, that CoH can be a very powerful tool. There are fights, where you don’t use it, but also fights, where they are a big help.And regearing can be really hard if you change to disc, but ive done it and have the yummy penace (its really yummy). So, if you get the chance to, try it ;)

  4. jedimax permalink
    February 17, 2009 1:27 PM

    No, no, i don’t what an expert. The expert would respec and tell me how many FPS he gets, what his proper enchants are, spellrotation, best gear in game. he will give a lots of maths, formulars, and stuff like this.but you will give an personal impression of how this new spec feels like. it’s important to know the experience of an unexperience player (because i have to deal a lot with them).I still hate CoH, thats the reason why i specced to discipline. but i have to admit, that CoH can be a very powerful tool. There are fights, where you don’t use it, but also fights, where they are a big help.And regearing can be really hard if you change to disc, but ive done it and have the yummy penace (its really yummy). So, if you get the chance to, try it ;)

  5. jedimax permalink
    February 17, 2009 1:27 PM

    No, no, i don’t what an expert. The expert would respec and tell me how many FPS he gets, what his proper enchants are, spellrotation, best gear in game. he will give a lots of maths, formulars, and stuff like this.but you will give an personal impression of how this new spec feels like. it’s important to know the experience of an unexperience player (because i have to deal a lot with them).I still hate CoH, thats the reason why i specced to discipline. but i have to admit, that CoH can be a very powerful tool. There are fights, where you don’t use it, but also fights, where they are a big help.And regearing can be really hard if you change to disc, but ive done it and have the yummy penace (its really yummy). So, if you get the chance to, try it ;)

  6. February 17, 2009 3:00 PM

    A balance priest? Like you’re some filthy cow hooter (aka boomkin)! Well, I took a little peek at your talent tree too and it’s all good. I leveled with a somewhat similar build but I was a little more heavy on the disc side.The only recommendtion I would make is to really try to ascertain how much you use prayer of healing and if it’s viable, disperse the two points you have in Healing Prayers to CoH and Inner Focus. Though Inner Focus might seem situational, the fact that it ups you to a 25% crit chance which then has a chance to proc Holy Concetration makes it worthwhile.Also, CoH is a pretty awesome spell as far as I’m concerned, but it forces you to become a little more aware of who’s standing where in your raid. If you know melee is taking a beating, you don’t want to throw CoH on the ranged or vice versa. It’ll take a little getting used to, but after a few raids you can really see the potential in the spell. Plus it’s due for a buff in 3.1 so that’s always nice.Comes down to the fact that everyone’s game experience is unique. We can make suggestions, but it’s all about how you want to play. So if you enjoy that spec, do it to it is what I say.

  7. Jack permalink
    February 17, 2009 4:25 PM

    lol. Way funny. Especially being all Priesty-talking-to-God-ish, I imagine.I play a resto druid, so always see healing through that lens. I recently started a holy priest so I could get to know healing from what’s considered the “standard”, but haven’t got very far with it yet. So there’s still plenty between the two healer types that I miss.Like the similarity between the Holy Priest tier 9 Circle of Healing and the Resto Druid tier 11 Wild Growth. Both instants, same cooldown, very similar mana cost and healing amount. Primarly differences being that the Druid version is a HoT (surprise, right?) and the Priest version is a direct heal with ranks available 10 levels earlier.I love my Wild Growth. I mostly use it on the tank. Refreshing it whenever other melee dps are taking damage from AoEs or should they pull aggro for a hit or two. It’s a great way to throw healing at the other players without diverting attention from the tank. Also convenient after the battle to quickly top off health for the whole party.

  8. Jack permalink
    February 17, 2009 4:25 PM

    lol. Way funny. Especially being all Priesty-talking-to-God-ish, I imagine.I play a resto druid, so always see healing through that lens. I recently started a holy priest so I could get to know healing from what’s considered the “standard”, but haven’t got very far with it yet. So there’s still plenty between the two healer types that I miss.Like the similarity between the Holy Priest tier 9 Circle of Healing and the Resto Druid tier 11 Wild Growth. Both instants, same cooldown, very similar mana cost and healing amount. Primarly differences being that the Druid version is a HoT (surprise, right?) and the Priest version is a direct heal with ranks available 10 levels earlier.I love my Wild Growth. I mostly use it on the tank. Refreshing it whenever other melee dps are taking damage from AoEs or should they pull aggro for a hit or two. It’s a great way to throw healing at the other players without diverting attention from the tank. Also convenient after the battle to quickly top off health for the whole party.

  9. February 17, 2009 5:46 PM

    “Balance Priest” – A holy priest who can single-target heal as well as or better than a Healadin, and can raid-heal as well as or better than a Tree.I like!

  10. February 17, 2009 5:46 PM

    “Balance Priest” – A holy priest who can single-target heal as well as or better than a Healadin, and can raid-heal as well as or better than a Tree.I like!

  11. Anea permalink
    February 17, 2009 9:44 PM

    There we go, people – that’s what I want to hear. @ Kestrel, you make my heart soar.

Leave a Reply

