Skip to content

Terrestrial Watchtower

February 22, 2009

About a week ago, I joined a party with some guildies to get a few achievements in Halls of Lightning.  I had never been there before (it originally being the setting of a “hurry hurry hurry get there, I’m in a hurry!  Summon me!  AFK lunch” pug-leader-asshattery) so this was completely new to me.  I wasn’t quite sure what to do, and was told to “just heal me, we’ll be fine.”

I did manage to kill myself on some boss (some guy that chases you with lightning?  We were going too fast for me to notice!) and I got to run back at my own pace and enjoy the scenery.  I was so happy to see the room with all the planets and stars – the room was so full of grandeur.

Notice the constellations in the sky in the second & third pictures and the curtain of stars in this last one.

HoL1
HoL2
HoL3
HoL4

7 Comments leave one →
  1. February 22, 2009 10:56 PM

    Yeah, it’s one of the most spectacular things I’ve seen in WoW – it’s just a shame that it’s inside HoL, and instance which I really dislike.I’ve been inside once and oooh’d and aaah’d at them, but the horror that was Loken has prevented me from ever wanting to visit again.

  2. February 23, 2009 6:20 AM

    Supposedly the Ulduar raid’s gonna have some similar rooms. I also heard there was something weird about that Azeroth globe, like it shows a new landmass or something. Haven’t seen it for myself though.Even though this is one of the coolest new sceneries in the game, I still think that Mauradon wins hands down for best looking dungeon in the game.

  3. Anea permalink
    February 23, 2009 7:02 AM

    @ Holy Dueg – I’m glad to hear that there will be (supposedly) similar rooms in Ulduar! I love amazing raids. Makes it feel even more epic. :>

  4. February 23, 2009 4:32 PM

    The stolen moments, where you can just stop and gawk, are some of my fondest game memories…gald you caught that one!

  5. February 23, 2009 8:30 PM

    There has been a pretty good video circulating: obviously came from someone messing around on a private server.

    You can see the similarities pretty early on, but the whole thing is good to watch.

  6. February 24, 2009 11:30 PM

    Actually, The thing I found cool about the globe of Azeroth in HoL is what happens to it. Once you kill Loken, he says “My death heralds the end of this world” Watch the globe right then, and you can see a wave of fire spreading across it.

  7. Anea permalink
    February 25, 2009 1:05 AM

    Interesting, I didn’t know that! I will have to check it out the next time I’m there – thanks for the tip!

Leave a Reply

