Skip to content

Aemma

February 24, 2009

Aemma, the little warrior that I wrote about here, has reached her 20th season this morning, so I feel that I can truly write about her as an alt.  This is my second time through the low levels as a warrior, so I’m getting back into the routine.  (And I’m hoping like hell I’m doing it right.)

Fierce

However, I’m not sure how much time I should devote to her professions at this point.  I like to have a “fully rounded” character, with two primary professions and three secondary professions leveled up at the correct rate per character level.  I chose to make her a jewelcrafter (I’ve always wanted one of my characters to have jewelcrafting) and she’s a miner.  I grab ore as I run through an area, of course, but I would have to invest more effort (or more gold) if I were to level jewelcrafting up at the same rate as mining.  And I’m not sure of the effort to put in here.

Achievements are now another facet entirely.  Used to be (back in the day [can I say that here?]) that you only needed to level and get professions up.  Rep was the optional high level “game”.  Now that achievements are in our life, I find myself looking for things that I can get on the way, since I feel the “need” to get achievements, where before I just didn’t care in the least.  I’ve already /love’d several critters, killed a rat and made sure to fully explore both of the areas that I’ve been through.  I will continue to search out the critters to /love or kill and will also try to explore fully any and every area I step hoof into.

So, when you add all that in to the mix, if I want to level “completely” and be “fully developed” when I hit 80, I need to get all this done.  Plus!  If I really wanted to be thorough (which is my wont) I ought to try to get the Loremaster achievement since I am starting at the bottom and could just work my way to the top.  And thinking about all that just makes my head want to explode.

When you level an alt, do you take it slow and level everything at once – especially now that there are achievements to obtain?  Or is it more important to get to a high level, and then you go back and get all the “other stuff”?

23 Comments leave one →
  1. February 24, 2009 11:54 AM

    I know how you feel, i rolled a Tauren DK to play on a server with a work mate and now 58 cant be bothered going back for proffessions but i know i will need to for gold.

  2. February 24, 2009 11:54 AM

    For going through “Old Azeroth”, I do my best just to get through it as quickly as possible, with the occasional stop for PvP, and in Ellaria’s case, to farm up some mats to level Engineering.When I reach Outlands though, I slow down on the questing, and try and get into instances as often as possible, and this continues into Northrend. The reasons for this are twofold; 1. I learn my class, 2. Teh lewts!I can’t really say I care much about achievements on anyone but my main character – it was such a huge hassle exploring everywhere and getting exalted with everyone once, why do it again?Also, I slack on my alts (and even Faulsey) in terms of secondary professions – I keep First Aid up to date, and that’s it. Faulsey has cooking, and if I need food, I just farm up the mats on him, and send it to my alts. No one has fishing, because I can’t bear the thought of leveling it!

  3. February 24, 2009 12:31 PM

    The way I have kept my sanity in the “Alt Achievement” sense was to keep one overachiever (my main, basically) and not worry about it on the alts. Sure, you will get some achievements on you way up, but if getting Loremaster ends up being that important down the road, you can head back and blast through the other starting areas and lowbie zones with zero difficulty.Level now, achieve later…Now, that was just achievements…I would level gathering professions as you go up (not really the first one to say) as you may get into the 125 area on a crafting profession when it fizzles (speaking from personal experience).Even more important, KEEP UP WITH FISHING AND COOKING. Going back at a high level to grind those professions is a real time sink, and boring as all get out. It only takes a little time at each quest hub, and being well fed is never a bad thing.**this message was brought to you by the Azeroth alliance of marine gathering and culinary arts professionals***

  4. February 24, 2009 2:00 PM

    When leveling and alt I’m really carefully to keep the professions current with the character’s level, but only the primary professions. Secondary professions can wait for grinding if I get REALLY bored and need something to do.And I don’t think I have the patience to redo achievements on a new character–like grinding out certain reps to exalted all over again–no thanks. And if I never set foot in BRD again to kill Thaurassian, it’ll be too soon.

  5. February 24, 2009 2:41 PM

    My general approach to leveling is just to go out and do it. With the changes to questing and experience, leveling goes surprisingly fast. That said, I do try to hit each every instance at least once on the way up. Partly for the loot and partly out of habit.As for professions though, I salute your selection of jewel- crafting (if your wee warrior is going to be a tank, you’ll be able to completely bypass the trinket roulette). I will say though, you’ll level way faster than your professions can keep up, especially as far as contributing to your gear goes. I wouldn’t worry over much about leveling any profession until you hit Northrend in all seriousness when your leveling finally slows to the point that what you make can actually benefit you.A special note on Fishing: No matter what you do, it takes the same number of successful casts to level no matter where you are. If you can score the recipe for Savory Deviate Delight, to level I advise just sitting in Waling Caverns at level 70 and fishing until you max out fishing (breaking to do the damn fishing quest). You’ll not find a better resale value on any fish prior to the stuff you can make with Northrend cooking.

  6. February 24, 2009 3:26 PM

    When I level an alt, the intent is to usually have them pay their own way. So they have to have their professions up to par in order to have some gold rolling in. I do give all my alts 16 slot bags for free, and send them mats that my main has picked up that are relevant. My main is a miner and herbalist so she can gather mats faster if my jc or bs needs some help. All my alts also send profession mats to each other as well. As for the secondary profs, first aid is about the only that I really keep up with.As for the achievements, I only worry about those on my main for the time being. I can always go back and do them, if I feel the need.

  7. Jack permalink
    February 24, 2009 3:53 PM

    First of all, that is an awesome picture. I’ve tried to catch “action shots” before and man . . . that should be its own achievement. *Whoosh-inga* Aemma has achieved “Picture This!” Or something like that.I’m not even trying to max out achievements. There are just so dang many of them that it’s overwhelming. I have selected certain achievements I want my characters to get based on some nebulous RP thing, I guess. I’ve got a feral druid going for Explorer and holiday party boy, a resto druid for Ambassador and cuddlies collection, and the badass death knight is gonna’ get hisself a bike. Even so, I’m not going all out gung-ho to get the achievements. They’re just fun side-quests I’m slowly working towards between quests & instance runs.I have become a believer in letting high level characters gather low level resources. Swift mount, get to the appropriate resource nodes without aggroing mobs and one shot what you need to. Like you say, even as you’re levelling your character, the gathering professions are easy to level up just by skinning/picking/mining everything . . . but the production professions generally need resources, or a quantity of specific resources, that are either in the “next zone up” for level appropriate development or just time consuming/expensive to gather.I’m also relatively new to the game so this is a recent “discovery” for me. I started the game with the vision of levelling up both gathering and crafting professions together. I gave up on it with my main because the potions I could make were always not quite as good as what I could buy in the AH. So I dropped alchemy and picked up skinning. However, now that I have some level 60ish characters, I can send them on gathering runs for whatever low level alts I make.Maybe it doesn’t work on an RP server. At least, not without an appropriate backstory (“Death Knight, for your misdeeds you are sentenced to labor . . .”) and it would probably still be transparently contrived. But my RP standards are pretty loose. I get into the whole character thing . . . but not at the expense of turning the “game” into “work”.

  8. February 24, 2009 3:54 PM

    I hardly have the patience to grind stuff out on my main, forget about my alts. I don’t even have my epic flyer yet! It’s because of my aversion to going back and doing grinding that I generally try to accomplish things as I level. My one problem is fishing, I think pretty much all of my alts and Dueg have a fishing of 1 and various fishing poles in the bank for when I get around to leveling them… in like 30 years prolly.

  9. Ceolwulf permalink
    February 24, 2009 4:29 PM

    If you try to get Loremaster on your way up, you’ll outlevel the quest zones very fast.Of course I pay absolutely no attention to achievements :)

  10. Anea permalink
    February 24, 2009 4:30 PM

    I wonder how much they paid you to insert that free advertising at the bottom of the comment ;)

  11. February 24, 2009 4:45 PM

    I’m one of the more rare players…that hates…professions. Ok, I don’t HATE them…but I would rather play the game and level up via quests than worry about an additional aspect such as Inscription or what have you.I do, on the other hand, enjoy leveling skinning and herbing as those come very naturally and level up very quickly. They’re great money makers on an alt as well.Usually my pace on an alt was focus on leveling up, then I choose one day per week to spend on the professions (like my forsaken Blacksmithing that I finally got to 350+). Generally speaking, you can assume that the time you would spend “farming” through the week could be rolled into a one day time period. If you can devote one day per week to your professions, I think you’ll level them accordingly and not miss out on things you can make that are your level.Depends what you want to do though :) Jewelcrafting has a lot of perks! =D

  12. Anea permalink
    February 24, 2009 4:47 PM

    I have to say that already my level surpasses what she can make to be useful for herself and I may just go this route. While I may be slightly sad that I will have to wear another jewelcrafter’s work, the satisfaction of *BAM!* leveling jewelcrafting up to a high level all at once will be extremely satisfying.Also: I hope that I can get the recipe for Savory Deviate Delight! I can never manage to get that sucker, but of course the pally has it (/sulk) – it would be a great way to finance her without draining the life away from Anea. Thanks for the suggestion!

  13. Skar and Co. permalink
    February 24, 2009 4:52 PM

    My 2 cents from an admitted alt-aholic.Well, I did most of my alting back in the old days I had 7, 70s at the end of TBC. But here is what I went with:1) Alts have 2 gathering professions. until 58 or so.1a) One of those gathering professions should be realted to eventual crafting profession.1b) Stockpile required mats to eventually level crafting as you go.1c) Sell the rest. Profit!2) Level cooking as you go, it is harder now as I level alts on other servers as quick XP means you do not kill as many mobs and get the meats you need just from questing / grinding.3) Fishing can be relgated until the end. I only have one max fisher that is Skar. although in TBC I was leveling all my 70s in fishing whenever the Daily was “Crocolisks in the City” Can fish in SW with a 1. So 1+ skill points AND get gold? Yes please! Wish there was a fishing daily in Dalaran now :(4) Level 1st aid as you go. Especially for a warrior ;)5) Acheivements:I have admitted defeat on Achievements. Skar will be my Achievement whore and the rest will all go to rot and jsut get what they get. Otherwise I would have to quit my job, divorce SWMBO and abandon my kids; and that is not goign to happen. Except for my pally he will get “Argent Champion” it just fits, but A 70 pally can solo Strat Dead easy so exalted with Argent Dawn was no sweat.I guess do the Old World exploration as you go (you are there anyways) but leave BC and NR until you got a flyer, or better yet an epic!Sorry so long winded!Skar and Co.MedivhSkarlarthTolecnalValenkyrieYragonXploeradoraMalficentKatixia

  14. Anea permalink
    February 24, 2009 5:14 PM

    My goal for this warrior is to be leveled pretty much self-sufficiently. I did give her bags though (of course!) and a bit of gold, but other than that, she needs to subsist on what she makes and can make from the auction house. Otherwise I would spend all sorts of gold completely spoiling her every few levels.

  15. Anea permalink
    February 24, 2009 5:19 PM

    Thank you! I really hoped that people might click it to get a better look. The expression on her face and “just swung” posture makes it pretty darn awesome. I had initially considered cropping the image, but the screenshot in it’s entirety has a harmony that I didn’t want to take away from.That’s probably very smart of you, to divide up the achievements between characters. If I tried to get them all on Anea, let alone the warrior as well (at the same time, nonetheless!) just… would be goat brains everywhere, I tell you.It’s also interesting to see how this is/may be handled on an RP server! I didn’t even think about how this would be affected by RP reasons/stories.

  16. Anea permalink
    February 24, 2009 5:21 PM

    Anea was the first character that I made a solid effort to level up fishing. All my other characters were about the same as you – keeping poles in the bank for “when I fish” but they just take up space.

  17. Anea permalink
    February 24, 2009 5:23 PM

    Hm. One day a week doesn’t sound too bad. Of course, I can also picture it as “farm herbs for one entire day” and it’s scary. D:

  18. February 24, 2009 5:45 PM

    Another thing I totally forgot about mentioning – warrior specific.Your gear level has a pretty major impact on your overall effectiveness – particularly with weapons. Try to avoid letting them get too out of date. This is really noticeable with warriors.

  19. Anea permalink
    February 24, 2009 5:51 PM

    Thank you for that tip, I will be sure to stay on top of that.

  20. February 24, 2009 6:21 PM

    I’ve managed to keep my achievement hunting to the warrior and paladin so far, so with my alts, all I focus on is leveling and professions. Particularly the trade skills – another chef or fisherman would be okay, but all of my characters have to be able to contribute something (that and I’m a sucker for crafting stuff in games).Oh, and just so you know, jewelcrafting gets a little rough from 200 to 300. It’s better now that you can’t prospect an entire stack of ore and get no gems (that got real aggravating with Thorium), but there’s still a bunch of recipes in that range that require three or four gems apiece. It’s definitely worth the effort in the end, but just don’t be surprised if you have to do donuts around Silithus for a while.

  21. February 24, 2009 11:23 PM

    It’s always worth it to level your proffesions as you go. Stop like every ten levels or so and up your JC skill. I made my main initially mining/skinning to maximize earnings, but I just switched to JC/BS to maximize my combat effectiveness. Powerleveling JC is painful. Avoid it if you can.

  22. willel permalink
    February 25, 2009 4:23 AM

    The Paladin I’m currently leveling is also a Jewelcrafter and I found that I just couldn’t keep it current (if current is approximately levelx5). The main problem, until you get to Outland at least, is that the only trainer is in Exodar. So getting back to her is kind of a pain. I usually only went every couple of levels and eventually my JC lagged behind.But I kept plugging away at it and my JC is now 385. In fact, today I actually crafted something I could use myself, which made me pretty happy.To be honest, though, I really intend JC to help my in end-game stuff. Anything I get before that is basically just for fun.

  23. February 25, 2009 4:46 PM

    I’m in the midst of dual-box leveling a Priest/Hunter team. They’ll hit 70 within an hour of the next time I log them in. Only 10 more to go :DI am usually the type to keep up with *all* of a character’s professions as they level. Even if it means stopping for a couple hours here and there to farm the auction house, guild mates or alt banks for the mats I need.However, as has been mentioned above, leveling is just way too fast for all that now. Aside from gathering professions, my team has quickly surpassed any benefit of keeping their tradeskills up to date.I have also been totally ignoring achievements. These alts are meant for fun/farming so I see no need to put in the same amount of effort to do all of this stuff as I have with my Druid.

Leave a Reply

