Skip to content

In which Hymn of Hope is lost

February 25, 2009

As the dust is settling from the release of the 3.1 notes (let it settle, please let it settle!) there are three things that came to mind this morning to talk about with you.

The first thing is the removal of Hymn of Hope from the game.  First Blizz giveth, then Blizz shareth, then Blizz taketh away, leaving us an all but useless Hymn. The crazy little voice in my head is hoping against hope that they had a typo in the notes and that really it’s Divine Hymn that will be taken out, since there is a Glyph of Hymn of Hope in the PTR. However, I am not holding my breath in the least. In fact, I am more like exhaling.

I’m also not happy about the redesign of Serendipity.

Serendipity re-designed: When you heal with Binding Heal or Flash Heal, the cast time of your next Greater Heal or Prayer of Healing spell is reduced by 6/12/20%. Stacks up to 3 times. Lasts 20 sec.

However, the one thing that I could not care less about is the removal of “ghetto hearthing”. Is this really a loss? It’s termed “ghetto hearthing” for a reason. This isn’t about the loss of some jerry-rigged mechanic, this is about time management. If your hearth is on cooldown but you really need to go into old world cities for something (a visit to the auction house, for example) then you need to plan for that. Either don’t go; go and wait until your hearth is up; or just make your way back to Northrend the old fashioned way. I know this is radical thinking! But that’s the way it’s supposed to be done. Now, I know there are many (many) of you that are sad this is taken out, so I will direct you to someone who shares your sentiments.

12 Comments leave one →
  1. February 25, 2009 3:04 PM

    I gotta admit though… I did enjoy ghetto hearthing. Now I have no reason to go to Stormwind….well, except for World Events that require me to!

  2. February 25, 2009 3:07 PM

    You are right about the time management aspect of the ghetto-hearthing removal. Having it removed will make me plan better and/or use my bank alt more frequently for trips to the AH.The one aspect that I truly haven’t considered is “what if I need to respec?” I’d have to go to the old world to do this but with dual specs being implemented, that sort of goes away (unless you are respeccing to a 3rd spec).It could be reverted too. The changes are on the PTR and not live at the moment and therefore could be changed. It will be interesting to see how this pans out.

  3. Anea permalink
    February 25, 2009 3:09 PM

    Hm – you are exactly right. Just as HoH may be left in, so may ghetto hearthing.

  4. February 25, 2009 3:41 PM

    With regards to ghetto hearthing – this is why I have a bank alt. Everything auctionable gets mailed to her, and items that can be sold at a later date (such as snowballs or lovely black dresses) are stuck in a guild bank vault. She’s also the keeper of the bulk of the gold – so any ‘big purchases’ are made by her. Keeps me from spending a ton of gold on herbs to level up the babydruids inscription. lol.

  5. February 25, 2009 3:42 PM

    I don’t understand why anyone would get in an uproar. I’ve never gone to a city, hearthed back, then immediately had to go back to the city I was just in. And Alliance have no room to complain because they have a harbor IN their city to get back, and it’s less then a minute flight to get to Dal from there. Horder only have it slightly worse and not even enoough to be upset over. Cry me a river.

  6. February 25, 2009 4:00 PM

    The only time time I wished I could Ghetto Hearth was when I got called in to tank Kel’Thuzad. I was the last one to join the raid, and I hearthed to Dal from Stratholme to do some repairs and buy reagents. We went in and went straight to KT and one shotted him. Apparently the teleporter shuts down in a little less then the time it took to distribute loot. I was left there with no way out and 40 minutes left on my hearth CD. Warlocks get very greedy when they realize that you’ve got no other option.

  7. Jack permalink
    February 25, 2009 4:09 PM

    Is it possible that Hymn of Hope is being replaced? They seem to be making some big changes to mp5 related mechanics. Like with druids . . . I was real excited about the change to Tenacity (upping casting mp5 from 30% to 50% non-casting) until I read the generic change to mp5. That is, non-casting mp5 is being reduced to about 60% what it was. Net effect being that my casting mp5 remained the same while non-casting drops significantly.So it wouldn’t surprise me if priest mana reneration was re-tooled too.

  8. February 25, 2009 4:17 PM

    Wow, “ghetto-hearthing” is a new one to me…no matter how much of a noob you think you aren’t, there is always something out there that you did not know…Never did it, so I really can’t miss it.I always thought of my hearth cooldown as a “layover” when took care of something quick, then needed to get back…so, you have 45 minutes out in…wherever, I am sure there are some critters to /love, bags to sort out, and ice stone to melt (oh no, I didn’t…).

  9. February 25, 2009 4:45 PM

    There are two places I’ve used ghetto hearth with any frequency: The Isle of Quel’Danas and The Caverns of Time.Most often this is because of the following sequence of events:Guildie: “Hey, want to do an instance?”Me: “Sure.”Me: Can I have a summon?Guildie: I’m the only one here right now.Me: Allright, I’ll be there in a sec.Me: That was fast. Hey, my hearth is still on cooldown.

  10. February 25, 2009 4:48 PM

    Curse my use of brackets. Between the last two lines in my comment imagine there is another line that says “Hearths, takes portal(s), summons groupies, smashes instance.”

  11. February 25, 2009 5:46 PM

    I’m certainly not getting upset about it. My post was kind of a “hey, guess what else was changed with 3.1”. I know that some people do get overly excited (positively or negatively) about this game over some issues that some people find trivial and inconsequential.

  12. March 3, 2009 1:45 PM

    […] In Which Hymn of Hope is Lost from Holy Discipline […]

Leave a Reply

