Skip to content

Stalling

March 9, 2009

The last post I made about my warrior was back on the 24th of February and today is the 8th of March.  I have been 20 the entire time.  I haven’t lost my enthusiasm for her!  I blazed through the first 20 levels (pretty much, anyway) and loved it, but then hit a block once I was 20 and it was time to venture out into the world and find someplace to level up to 28 before hitting Stranglethorn Vale (my light at the end of the tunnel; I love that place.)

But I have to get to 28.  At this point, my options seem to be Ashenvale, Duskwood, Stonetalon or the Wetlands.  And I don’t like any of those zones.  Yes, a while ago I wrote about how I was nostalgic for Night Elf zones and their music, but that doesn’t mean it isn’t a pain to run back and forth across Ashenvale, pretty as it is.  So, I’m stalling.  I’ve taken to helping Lus with his baby warlock through Westfall.  I excuse it by saying that it will help me get a good base of quests done for Loremaster, but let’s face it – that’s never going to happen as I level.  I would be aged 80 before I hit level 80 if I tried for Loremaster as I work my way through the continents.

So I decided to run get flight paths today.  Useful in the long run, but basically just putting off the inevitable choice of area to quest in.  While I was running through Darkshore, I saw a gleaming something, so I stopped off the road to see what it was.  I haven’t been through Darkshore questing since way back when I was a wee elf (and that’s way back).  I saw this.

The Master's Glaive

It looks like a stone serpent stabbed with a sword.  I don’t remember seeing this when I quested through here – I only remembered a whole bunch of people to kill.  I had never really paid attention to bigger pictures when I was younger and first playing.  Perhaps it was not knowing how far out I could zoom or perhaps being so focused on the mobs I had to kill before they killed me – perhaps both.

Sometimes you just have to zoom out and smell the roses.

15 Comments leave one →
  1. March 9, 2009 12:59 AM

    Love… Stranglethorn… Vale?I have never seen those words before!Everyone, myself included, seems to hate the place. To be honest, the 30-40 range is probably the worst in the game. Desolace is bleak, Arathi seems to have little in the way of quests, and STV is hell. Thousand Needles isn’t so bad, but it’s only good till 35ish.I believe that thing in Darkshore is an old god – well, it’s remains, at least. Nearby quests and presence of cultists suggest that’s what it is.

  2. Anea permalink
    March 9, 2009 1:20 AM

    I like Stranglethorn Vale since there are SO many quests to do and they are fun (to me, anyway.) That’s not to say that it doesn’t ever drag, but compared to other places like Desolace (amgkillmenow) and Arathi (bore me to death) it’s great.Perhaps my name should be Anea the Odd ;)

  3. March 9, 2009 1:58 AM

    Yeah, that’s a pretty landmark in an otherwise bleak land-scape.My favourite thing I saw while questing in the Old world was the World dragon boss in Azshara. Level 40-something, it was the most beautiful thing I saw, and it freaked the HELL outta me!

  4. March 9, 2009 2:00 AM

    Also, STV taught me something VERY important for a PvP server:Gank them before they gank you. ALWAYS.

  5. Demodus permalink
    March 9, 2009 4:12 AM

    It’s definitely an old god. I remembered seeing a pic similar to it on the WoWWiki site, but wasn’t sure the sword was there before. Guess its been there since 2005.http://www.wowwiki.com/Image:Oldgod.jpg

  6. March 9, 2009 8:29 AM

    It’s pretty much accepted that thats the corpse of an Old God. Here’s an interesting theory. Start out in Ulduar, where we know Yogg-Sauron rests, draw a line to AQ40, home of C’thun, then draw a line to Light’s Hope Cathedral, where “something” is hidden underneath. From there, draw a line to the Master’s Glaive in Darkshore. Last, connect the line to Zul’Gurub, home of Hakkar, supposedly a son of an Old God.You get a pentagram, centered upon the Maelstrom, which is the remains of the Well of Eternity, which the Old Gods attempted to use to break free during the War of the Ancients. The Maelstrom is also the current home of the naga, who are the Highborne who were transformed by the Old Gods.Coincidence? Most Likely. But in case it isn’t, I just want to say, “I saw it coming.”

  7. Anea permalink
    March 9, 2009 11:31 AM

    Ahhh – very interesting to see it from another angle besides my quick one. I feel a little silly not knowing it’s an old god, since everyone that’s replied seems to have known that.

  8. Anea permalink
    March 9, 2009 11:34 AM

    Wow – didn’t know that either. Any of it – the locations of the points, what the pentagram is centered upon (I wasn’t even really aware the Naga are Highborne who were transformed by the Old Gods.)The things we learn from good comments on silly entries :)

  9. March 9, 2009 11:49 AM

    Really?Darkshore has always been one of my favorite areas of the game…not so much for the zone itself, but after a mess of tightly-packed (and often interesting) quests, I had zoomed from 27 to 31 (or something like that).Then the call comes in, time to head to STV, which is my own personal purgatory in the game…Maybe the bugs are just too bad in there…always been more of a city Pally, myself…

  10. March 9, 2009 2:24 PM

    Have you tried STV recently? The inclusion of a flight point at the Rebel Camp to the north really helps make the zone less painful for Alliance characters, and since BC started, most of the griefers have had other things to do. (That’s not to say that you should expect to get through unscathed on a PVP server or if you’re flagged, but it’s certainly not as bad as it used to be.)

  11. March 9, 2009 2:32 PM

    The problem that a lot of people have with the 10-40 zones is that they balloon rapidly in size and quest distribution compared to the 1-10 zones, and it’s especially jarring when you’re leveling an alt and have a main with a mount. Lowering the level required for mounts was a good start; it certainly makes Desolace seem smaller. It doesn’t help with having to run from Ameth’Aran to Bashal’Aran and back about four times, though. ;)

  12. March 9, 2009 2:42 PM

    As a thought on the 20-28 repgrind: It’s about a good a time as any to work on building reputations for mounts from other allied factions. You can do the lower level areas – with expedited leveling it actually takes you a ways toward getting out of the 20s.

  13. March 9, 2009 7:00 PM

    I love STV too, the jungle feel, the abundance of quests in a rather small area, but even though I have levelled 6 chars to 70 and more I didn’t get to see much of it cause I hate world pvp and I played on a pvp server…Thankfully I saw the light eventually and moved them all to a pve server where I took my newest alt to STV and did all the quests I could find there. Ah, the joy! :-)Maybe you could try dungeon-lvling if you dont like any of the zones til you can get to STV? If you are rested the xp is quite good when doing dungeons :-)

  14. Granis permalink
    March 9, 2009 9:34 PM

    Hi! Ohh i dont know. Stranglethorn Vale is now and then abit boring after endless killing of panthers, raptors etc. But still i like the jungle-like tema. Makes the survivor come up in you ;-)

  15. Skar and Co. permalink
    March 11, 2009 5:06 PM

    I too love STV, Back in vanilla I would Run Skar’s Stanglethorn tours for guildies leveling alts or lowbies./Aspect of Pack”We’re running, we’re running. Oh look! Thethis.”Wait for toons to gather quest items…”We’re running, we’re running.”Heh heh, good times, good times…Skarlarth and CompanyMedivh

Leave a Reply

