Skip to content

Points

March 12, 2009

Reader point: It’s really great how reading other WoW blogger’s posts can really bring you up.  I’ve been slacking on my reader for the last two days, so I haven’t been up on the latest happenings.  I was a day late reading Slow Wolf’s The Details of the Dastardly Dueg and how can you not laugh at a post like that?  Fun Twitter inside jokes are fun.

Sign point: Then, after a day of further neglecting my reader, I pop on over to see what Panzercow’s up to, hoping to be given a sign.  You see, I had doubted my ability to play and mesh with a warrior.  I’m weak.  I’ve been back and forth more times than I can tell you.  I even went so far as to delete all her belongings, bags and armor… but I didn’t delete her.  She’s sitting nearly naked on my login screen and I needed a sign as to what to do.  I already know that Panzercow thinks that the world needs a little more clanky of the warrior variety, but I am a doubter, you see.  I needed something more.  I am desperately looking for a sign to slog through the warrior ’cause I’m at the point where if I don’t pick something at least remotely enjoyable and just do it, I will become even more unhappy with the game.  So, Panzercow’s So you want to be a prot warrior: Character creation seemed to be just what I needed. Now, I’m reading this with a little apprehension and a lot of hope, looking for something (anything!) to tell me it gets better. And I totally got it. No, this wasn’t “Leveling a Warrior: How Not to Nub it Up” (though I could probably use a post like that, I have questions on my rotation) it provided the humor to lighten my mood:

Yes, that’s right, a 30-armor cloth robe will give you burqa-like coverage; a 600-armor piece of platemail is two steel pasties and a piece of piano wire to hold them together.

Plus, little undisputed truths.

(As always, there’s one exception to the rule. Humans have what I believe to be the single best racial in the game…Diplomacy. Does it make you hit harder? No. Does it give you more health? No. Does it make every stinking ridiculous rep grind in the entire game 10% shorter? Hell yes.)

I am eagerly awaiting the next promised part: Starting out, and leveling as Prot instead of DPS.

Edit: I had a further sign tonight in the form of shortness.  That’s all I will say for now, because I am afraid of jinxing it.  (Yes, I am.)

Screenshot point: As a priest who once died because of him, I still get pleasure out of killing Smite where he stands.

smite

(I also like my sparkly Holy Nova, but that is neither here nor there.)

6 Comments leave one →
  1. March 12, 2009 12:38 PM

    …sparkles…/drool… Who am I kidding? I make people dead! That is sparkles enough!

  2. March 12, 2009 1:47 PM

    I would just like to note that Slow Wolf’s post is full of lies. I would be a benevolent tyrant with only minimal dastardly deeds.

  3. Jack permalink
    March 12, 2009 2:34 PM

    For a while, some guys I work with and I had planned to group up in the World of Warcraft. They wanted to be dps & healer so I took tank and rolled a Tauren prot warrior (Urrat – Frostmane). That fell apart pretty quickly when we figured out just how fast they levelled together thanks to recruit-a-friend and I was left behind to level up the hard way.So then WotLK was released and everyone wanted a DK, including my sons, but there was that “one DK per server” rule and you had to have a level 55 on that server. Two of my sons were already covered on Dentarg and Frostmourne, but the third wanted his DK on Frostmane. He’s 10, plays for fun and really doesn’t level very fast. My Urrat was almost level 30. Time for Dad to go to bat for the kid, right? So I levelled my prot warrior over 25 levels faster than I’d levelled any character before.It was a blast.The most difficult part for me was that, sure enough, prot warriors kill things more slowly than other classes. It’s true. Classes designed to tank just don’t dps as well. *gasp* The key to enjoying it (again, from my perspective) was figuring out how to pull multiple mobs simultaneously when you’re questing/grinding. And a lot of that is just finding where to go that has the most tightly packed mobs.The Barrens were awful. Thousand Needles was okay outside the Shimmering Flats. Arathi Highlands were good for big raptor pulls . . . with the added benefit of levelling cooking very, very easily. The pirate cove in Tanaris was fun. Hinterlands was, like, heaven. Then you get the Warbringer talent at level 50 and creating an AoE pull becomes easymode no matter where you are.I haven’t tried an alliance prot warrior, but I’d guess Darkshore is good for pulling bears + cats + maybe longstriders simultaneously. The timbermaw villages and satyr sub-zones in Ashenvale are probably good.The bigger fights were more of a challenge and it’s possible for them to get too large, or to get too many ranged attackers so I ended up with just a series of 1v1 fights instead of a 1vMany . . . and then I’d die. Which bites. But the challenge is part of what makes them fun. It was good, if imperfect, practice for the whole AoE tanking thing. And because I was not fighting one target at a time, the grind moved a lot faster.PuG tanking was a good way to set up those fights, but was also a real mixed bag of fun when it went well and misery when it didn’t. It’s tough to understate the value of a healer in the party.I’ll enthusiastically second panzercows advice about first aid & cooking. Stam buffs are tasty. Even if they’re made out of spider. And you need band aids. I am so accustomed to my high-spirit resto druid (1) healing by spell and (2) even without spells, just plain regaining health quickly that it was a shock to see how slowly health regenerates for warriors. And they have so freakin’ much of it to regain! That would be a lot of downtime between fights without bandaids.One thing that helped out with healing was herbalism and its healing ability. Though I actually dropped it for engineering once I saw how goldang cool mechano-hogs are. lol.

  4. March 12, 2009 10:03 PM

    Though I actually dropped it for engineering once I saw how goldang cool mechano-hogs are. lol.

    Which was dumb, because most Engineers have so little cash that they can hardly afford to make their own. Most of them are being ridden by Jewelcrafters, not Engineers.

  5. March 13, 2009 1:23 PM

    My first character was a warrior, and I was afraid of leveling a priest! That said, now the priest is my main, and I’m not looking forward to the 70-80 push my warrior will eventually need.Bandages, food, and potions all indispensable, in my opinion. I like to level as fury, but I did toy with protection from 70-72, and it is fun, because everything feels different! Lots more AoE than before, and she already had the defense cap, so downtime was less than before.Maybe I should stop worrying and try again? But I’m having too much fun with my other 8 alts. Is altitis contagious?

  6. Jack permalink
    March 13, 2009 4:13 PM

    lol. Aw c’mon, man . . . it wasn’t dumb. A bit fanatical, maybe . . . but where there’s a will, right?Plus engineers get to blow sh** up. And mount rocket launchers in their fists. That’s pretty goldanged cool, too.

Leave a Reply

