Skip to content

Smelting herbs

March 13, 2009

lichbloom

I’ve had herbalism on my characters since I remember.  I always liked picking flowers.  I’ve had mining on an alt here or there, but flowers are my thing mostly.  However, I remember being happy that Blizz changed things so that you could level your mining from smelting ore into bars as well as leveling from actually mining the ore.  How convenient!  It would help eradicate the rage at having to pass up the truesilver node because I am only a few (or a lot) of points away.  And for some reason it only occurred to me a few days ago that it’s really very unfortunate that there isn’t a similar mechanism for herbalists to level their herbalism skill.  (Mostly because Lus’ lock is struggling to keep his herbalism up at the same level his inscription is.)  Yes, I know you will say that there are more herb nodes than ore nodes but I think that what’s sauce for the goose is sauce for the gander.  I don’t exactly know what the equivalent would be, perhaps something to do with drying herbs properly before making potions.  (I actually would have said milling or grinding in some way, because surely we must break down most herbs before we make them into things, but inscription has stolen them and made them it’s very own, so we cannot have that for herbalism in the first place.)

So I ask, clever reader, what think you?  Ought this be added?  What might it be called, since the sensible names were so thoughtlessly stolen?

12 Comments leave one →
  1. March 13, 2009 12:23 PM

    Well, smelting gives you points to mining only up to skill level 75, after which it doesn’t anymore. If there was to be something like smelting in Herbalism, it could be Preparation: to prepare the herbs for further use. Otherwise they could spoil… losing their effectivity etc.I think, however, that it’s quite unnecessary: the initial levelling of Herbalism is so fast and the herbs so abundant that it’s quite viable to level it via picking the herbs from early on. Same with mining, though, so the few points from smelting are pretty unnecessary.Copra

  2. Anea permalink
    March 13, 2009 12:47 PM

    Hm, I had been of the impression that it would scale with your level range. I haven’t done mining/smelting in quite a while on my Horde pally (who as I check right now is at level 283 mining) and I was sure I remembered buying ore to smelt to get a few skillpoints, but perhaps I am remembering incorrectly.

  3. March 13, 2009 12:50 PM

    You can definitely ride Smelting from 1-450 if you wanted too, but there would be loooong blocks of time where suddenly Smelting Iron would go gray, so you’d have to Smelt Gold to continue, until you could finally Smelt Mithril. It’s definitely possible, just very expensive because of all the green-quality ores you have to use.

  4. March 13, 2009 1:05 PM

    I’m wrong, you’re right. Yes, you can level your smelting at all levels, it’s just depending on the skill level and ore smelted.My bad, I’ll go and hide my head in shame.Copra

  5. Anea permalink
    March 13, 2009 1:20 PM

    /comfort

  6. March 13, 2009 2:14 PM

    IMO the equivalent is herbing lower level zones and selling the products for fat sacks of cash money.

  7. Jack permalink
    March 13, 2009 2:47 PM

    Smelting can help skill up mining 1-450, but the window of points which it helps is pretty small at each type of ore. It is pretty easy to skill up while mining to the point that smelting the ore is already gray before you can get back to a town with a forge. Especially if you’re actively farming. Or just questing through an ore rich zone.The the only difficulty I’ve ever had skilling up herbalism is when I reach a point where the next types of herbs that I want to pick are only found in zones that are too high a level for my character. Miners run into that same problem. As nice as smelting can be, it’s not enough to really get around that.And I don’t think it should. I think it’s approriate to have a game mechanic that limits the crafting materials which are easily available at levels that shouldn’t have access to the items which can be crafted from them.

  8. March 13, 2009 4:26 PM

    In my mind, not being able to skill up Herbalism from processing herbs is balanced out by being able to make potions without having to find a [Drying Rack]. ;) But then, I do have both Herbalism and Alchemy, so my perspective is skewed.

  9. March 13, 2009 4:48 PM

    Wanted: Flower Press

  10. Anea permalink
    March 13, 2009 5:32 PM

    Aha, clever point!

  11. March 13, 2009 9:15 PM

    I think the big problem it would create would be a massive wave of QQ from Alchemists who now suddenly either have to take herbalism to be able to refine the raw mats, or have to pay jacked up prices for the refined materials. As someone who recently switched to two crafting professions for min/maxing purposes, I’ve felt that pinch, looking at the disparity in cost between saronite ore and saronite bars.If you’re ok with unleashing that upon the world, it actually isn’t a bad idea.

  12. March 15, 2009 7:39 PM

    I wish I knew more about herbalism and alchemy overall. I had alchemy for a while on Majesty during BC, but Loveth kept me in herbs, so I never had the pleasure of experiencing that.They’ve been making so many changes to the professions overall, well, to everything overall, I’ve been finding myself a little lost in it all.I suppose it took me all these words to say, I have no idea. lol. :D

Leave a Reply

