Skip to content

The Brighter Side of “The Deal”

March 18, 2009

Continued from yesterday’s post The S.O., the WoW & the Deal comes the brighter side of The Deal.

Part II – How to Get Them to Play

You think you can handle the Do Nots?  If you do want to get your S.O. to play, take what you know about them and use that to your advantage.  If you know that they like pretty things (like me) then show them some of the races that you think they would like (Elves of both varieties and Humans are an obvious choice and if they are into “cute” show them Gnomes, too.)  If your S.O. is more into beating things up, then perhaps Tauren, Orcs, Draenei or Dwarves are more up their alley.  If they seem like they’d be a certain class, point that out. (Example: I thought my brother seemed like a  Tauren warrior.  He chose a Tauren hunter.  I was close.) And if they’re not sure, give an overview of what the classes do and what types of play there are.  Keep it simple though – don’t overwhelm them.

I would also say that you should emphasize that they are only trying it for now.  If they’re iffy about it in the first place, they probably won’t want to make any obligations that they can’t keep.  To further pique their interest, don’t make them roll your own faction – let them choose.  If they’re interested and invested in a character they choose, then they’ll probably play.  And that’s what you want, right?  I’m sure you would rather they play something than play nothing at all.

On the chance that they do decide to play (whether because they were coerced like me or because they have a genuine interest) point a few things out to them, such as how to move, what keys show the quest log, map and spell book, what their beginning skills do & which situations they might be useful in… then let them go.  It will be hard to keep quiet sometimes, but letting them learn and experience the game on their own will make it their experience and will mean more to them than having you shove them out of the way five minutes into Elwynn Forest saying, “Here, let me do it!” and making them feel stupid.

Regarding PvP – to avoid frustrations, perhaps starting on a PvE server would be best.  I know if I had started on a PvP server, once I got to about Stranglethorn I would have had the “screw this” mentality and logged right off.  But that’s just me.  Gauge your S.O. accordingly.  And for goodness’ sake, explain what it means when the names are yellow!

Do buy them bags and donate a little gold to the cause.  We all know that lack of bag space on a baby character is one of the worst things about having a low level and we won’t want them to suffer that frustration, do we?  Ditto on the gold.  They won’t need a lot, but it’s better that they have 10g to their name than only have 5c and have to choose which skill to learn and which to save for when they have more gold.

Know the line between helpful and controlling.  Also show them where Wowhead and WoWwiki are.  (Teach them to fish, don’t just give them a fish.)

Bonus Part III – Brownie Points

The game can also provide a unique opportunity for romantic gestures, both large and small.  A surprise bouquet in the mail can bring a smile and a kiss to you.  Mini pets can be found or bought and given as a gift.  You can donate gold or mats to a cause, such as a mount or an item.  Cook them some stacks of buff food and mail it.  Even something as simple as running their alt through an instance or helping them through a hard quest line.  Got drawing skills?  A portrait of their character is sure to be appreciated.  Think outside the box and those extra brownie points are yours.

Moonbeam love

The end is in sight

I hope I haven’t scared any of you away with what I’ve had to say in the first post.  Playing with your significant other is a great thing!  I’m really happy that I can do that with Lus.  Not to get all mushy or anything, but just being close to the person you care for feels really good.  It’s really helpful when you can talk to them – general chitchat is nice, but it’s also convenient when they can hear you say, “Uh-oh” when something’s wrong, gasp when something attacks you out of nowhere, notify them that Player X died and to be prepared to lack that player’s abilities for the rest of the fight or to remind you to stop watching TV when you should be healing.  (Sometimes those reminders can be spoken a little sharply, but it’s only because they love you.  And they want to live.)

It’s great to always have a person to quest with and generally be your buddy and the inside jokes are always hilarious, especially when you’re around people that will never understand.  (Be sure not to alienate those people, though!)  If some random thought occurs to you about the game, they’re always there to listen.  (Or at least pretend to.  I really wonder if Lus hears all the things I say sometimes…)  Need something enchanted?  Your S.O. will always be there to do it.  You’ll send them extra potions that you make that you know they can use.  Have some extra gold?  Donate it to their mount fund.  I could go on and on with examples, but I know you all see where I’m going with it.  Playing with your S.O. is pretty darn awesome.

Part I – What to Do After They Do Play
Part II – How to Get Them to Play

8 Comments leave one →
  1. March 18, 2009 1:05 PM

    It’s great having my wife playing WoW in the same room. When we raid together, we can snark at the rest of the raid behind their backs at the speed of thought. :) We’ve also put it to practical use–I was the naga-gathering tank on Vashj, so my wife (feral druid) kept Track Humanoids up and could instantly tell me where the naga were spawning so I could get over there and grab them. We help each others’ alts out constantly with crafting and blender runs, and instance together when we can.I’m actually quite amazed at the number of married or practically-married couples that play WoW. There are three active just in our 25-man raid right now, and at least three or four more in our extended circle of friends.

  2. Jack permalink
    March 18, 2009 1:52 PM

    Excellent advice.“take what you know about them and use that to your advantage”I’ll have to start talking about WoW as a social network more.

  3. March 18, 2009 2:41 PM

    i gave a short version how i got into the game at bob’s blog. then thought about writing a more detailed post about it. then realized it’s already mentioned in my about page. lol!

  4. catryalini permalink
    March 18, 2009 2:50 PM

    Love this post Anea. My significant other “thinks” he hates the game. Hates the time I want to play and says it takes me away from him and I become consumed with it.Well, duh! And that’s why I want him to play with me hehehe.He wouldn’t be jealous of the time I spend playing WoW if we were doing it together. It’s a balancing act and a fine line to walk. Thanks for the tips and advice. I’m going to be using them.

  5. Chibikeni permalink
    March 19, 2009 6:05 AM

    “If your S.O. is more into beating things up, then perhaps [Tauren], Orcs, Draenei or Dwarves are more up their alley.” O.o”I’d have you know we Taurens are pacifists. D=

  6. March 20, 2009 6:47 AM

    Draenei like to beat things up?Well, I mean, glossing over me because I’m prone to bouts of Blueberry Rage, but I mean other than that.

  7. March 20, 2009 9:21 PM

    I was actually drawn into the game several years ago (4 to be exact) when I saw a friend playing. She was running through Darnassus. It’s a pretty city, it appealed to me. I went right to Wal-Mart and bought a copy! I’ve been playing ever since, though I do go through my ups and downs.When I rolled, I rolled on Sargeras, a PvP server. That’s where my real-life friends were, so that’s where I went. I rolled a human lock, she got to level 8 before I decided to play something different. My friend helped me out, she taught me how to do all the game mechanic type things, where the bank was, how to fix, etc. This was back when the only Ally bank was in IF and there were no linked flight paths. The game has come such a long way.I actually got my spouse into it, though it took me a year. He was totally into Star Wars Galaxies and didn’t want to play anything else. He’s been playing WoW nearly 3 years and he’s never looked back. A funny side note, he was still asking me where the bank was a month after he started playing. I finally had to tell him to find it himself or ask a guard. lol.

  8. October 24, 2009 9:38 PM

    […] I – What Not to Do After They Do Play Part II – How to Get Them to Play AKPC_IDS += […]

Leave a Reply

