Skip to content

In which Anea loses her boots

March 22, 2009

Through a series of unfortunate events, Lus has been left computer-less.  He’s been having issues with his computer for quite a few weeks and yesterday he gave up and decided he had a real problem that needed fixing, not an annoyance that would go away.  Because he has to send his computer away, he is left only with his iPhone for entertainment.  On his phone he has an armory app and he periodically looks at it (for what reason, I don’t know – I don’t understand the need for a portable armory.)  At any rate, he was looking at Anea’s page and he asks me, “Why are you wearing gray boots?”

I don’t even look up from the Etsy page I was looking at.  “I’m not,” I calmly reply.  Why in the world would I be wearing grays?

“Yes, you are.”

And sure enough, I am somehow shown on his phone’s armory as wearing Canvas Shoes.  I quickly log on to see if I really was wearing them.  (After all, it’s “just” an application on a phone, it could be wrong right?  Even though it checks it’s information from the Armory?)  And yes, in my boot slot – Canvas Shoes.  I rack my brain and I can think of no good reason for me to be wearing them.  Why would I have put them on at all?  They’re not a part of an RP outfit – I don’t RP.  And besides, I have hooves – if I did rp, I could get away with hooves no matter what I was wearing.

Then it hits me – I’d gotten on Anea to run Lus’ baby warlock through Deadmines and even though we had equipped the warlock with netherweave bags, multiple trips back to back creates a backlog of items and I helped loot some of the bodies.  And somewhere in the process I must have rightclicked my bags accidentally on that particular item.

My only excuse for somehow vendoring my boots is that they (probably) weren’t epic boots, only blue quality, and therefore I didn’t notice since there are blue drops in Deadmines as well, but I even want to rule that out as unlikely, since I usually give a cursory glance at all important looking items before I right-click to vendor.  I just really don’t know – I hate to think that I would do this to msyelf.

At any rate, I opened a ticket to a GM (having ruled out being hacked – every other item, character and gold coin was intact) and the verdict is that I need to be able to tell them the exact item name for it to be restored to me.

I don’t know that name.

I tried to check my phone’s armory, since I hadn’t updated it in a while, but apparently it updates on it’s own when you launch the application.  Of course the Armory reflected the gray changes.  I couldn’t even tell you what day it might have happened since we’ve been playing alts lately and not raiding on our mains seriously for a while.  To compound it further, I don’t even know if I got the boots in Naxx or if I was still wearing old boots from a dungeon.  (I tried asking the guild’s officers, but there was actually only officer (singular) online and he couldn’t access wherever it is that the upper echelons of the guild keep records of items awarded and DKP.  Have to wait till tomorrow to find out for sure.  (If I even got it from a raid.)

After relaying my situation to Twitter (always helpful, no matter what the situation – get enough people together and you can fix anything, I tell you) everyone asked if I remembered what the boots were – and even after all that peer pressure (not to mention knowing that the GM needs to know as well) I just really couldn’t tell you.  No idea whatsoever.

Which got me thinking – ought I know exactly what I was wearing?  I couldn’t tell you any item that I had on – except my mace and offhand weapon.  At this point, after having gotten things (raiding gear) over quite a long period of time plus having been on a raiding hiatus for about two weeks: couldn’t tell you any other piece of gear or where I got it.  I could guess!  But “almost” only counts in horseshoes and hand-grenades.

I know that there are some players that are so fixated on their gear that they remember the name of every piece of gear they are wearing, where they got it and probably what the run was like too.  There are others that just remember because they’re proud of what they’ve gotten or worked particularly hard for.  There are some that remember a decent amount because… they just do.  Then there are others that don’t remember at all ’cause they just don’t give a good gosh darn.  Now, I usually pride myself on having a good memory, but this is hardly a good example of it.

So, I ask you, gentle readers: do you know what your gear is?  All?  Some?  Why?  Ought I be worried that I don’t know?

26 Comments leave one →
  1. March 22, 2009 11:23 AM

    Quite a bit of it, yes, because most of it has some intrinsic story behind it. :PGosh, that almost gives me an idea for a post…

  2. parsi permalink
    March 22, 2009 11:37 AM

    Only if it looks specific. Like, I could tell you what shoulders, helm, and robes I was wearing on Parsi without looking. I can tell you my trinkets because they have visual procs (Sparkly!), but not my rings.I constantly have to check to see if I have gems in everything, and couldn’t tell you at all what gems I put in or where I obtained them.I could not however tell you say, what his boots, belt, or anything else was. Even though he’s wearing about half-Naxx/Sarth gear. I could tell you however, pretty much everything he has in his *bags*, go figure…

  3. March 22, 2009 1:24 PM

    I wouldn’t be able to remember the names of half the items I wear.. I just look at the stats: if it’s an upgrade I put it on.However, there are a few pieces that I do know, either because they were ‘significant’ drops, or because they have funny/interesting names.Oh, and I also know the name “Cowl of Innocent Delight”, because I have such delight in hiding it and looking all innocent, because it looks abso-frickin’-lutely terrible on a Tauren.

  4. Willel permalink
    March 22, 2009 1:48 PM

    Now that I think about it, I don’t think I could tell you any of my items. I know generally what I have on. But not specific items in specific slots.And as I said on Twitter, I did something similar on my DK. I had just gotten to Howling Fjord and I was doing the quest where you put on a diving helm, which automatically removed my own helm. I didn’t realize I was running around without one because I always hide my helm. Later, when I was selling stuff, I must have thought it was just a drop and I sold it as well.

  5. Chibikeni permalink
    March 22, 2009 2:06 PM

    Which is lucky, I once got barred out of my own account ingame and took hours to get my account back in control to only see my main and another alt’s wallet+bank emptied =<You could contact the GM and let them know of the last accessed login you’ve made, they might be able to restore the item if they check the logs.

  6. March 22, 2009 3:09 PM

    The only way I’d know is because I made a huuuuuuuuuuuuge list of upgrades from LootRank when I started raiding in WotLK. As I upgraded, I pared the list (an Excel spreadsheet); however, current items are there and highlighted. So by looking at that list, I should be able to correctly identify most of my gear.From memory? HELL no! (Except I know my headgear is blue, not purple. *cry*)

  7. March 22, 2009 4:17 PM

    I did that, too, about a month ago. :( Vendor’d my bracers and didn’t even realize it until a couple days later. I hope ya get your boots back.I do know now what my gear is, but didn’t until recently. Most of what I have now though required a lot of research and effort to get. :)-Fri

  8. March 22, 2009 5:43 PM

    Couldn’t list you gear off the top of my head, but if I saw the item name, I’d recognize it as being something I owned.

  9. March 22, 2009 5:58 PM

    I have “the damned H Nexus mace”, “that shield off Maexxna that’s like blue and gold”, “DK flavored chest off Anub10”, “Fucking ugly 7.5 gloves”, “Boots from Naxx10 that totally don’t match”, “some trinkets that do some stuff-one is purple, one is blue”, “DK flavored pants from Naxx”, “DK flavored shoulders from Sapph25 that look just like the ones I had from Naxx10”, “bracers from NAxx10 somewhere”, “hat off Maex10”, “Badge neck?”, etc etc. Names? Hell if I remember those!

  10. March 22, 2009 6:38 PM

    The only things I really remember are whatever two-handed weapon I have, and…hmm…I’ve got an oddly uncanny ability to remember my trinkets.I’m so sorry to hear about what happened…I guess this is a good warning to remember what we’ve got on us. =(/cow hugs

  11. March 22, 2009 6:48 PM

    I tend to remember in terms of “They’re T7” or “dropped from heroic Faerlina.”Then again, I’ve got a weird memory that allows me to hang on to the most random stuff for the longest times; if I could actually use my powers for good (or evil, depending on my mood, really), I’d be truly impressive.Besides, Draenei don’t really wear boots. They’re more like leg-warmers. ^_^

  12. March 22, 2009 7:15 PM

    I can tell you the specific names of some of my gear, but not all. Mostly I can name off items crafted (either by me or for me), a drop I was excited about, or a rep reward that I focused on grinding for.Thankfully I take a lot of unnecessary screenshots, so sometimes those help me figure out a piece of gear if I can’t remember, or.. if I haven’t refreshed my blog page since I changed a piece of gear (since I usually keep it open in a window, I’m just like that) then I can glance quick at what armory info it had there before I update it.

  13. Chibikeni permalink
    March 23, 2009 1:41 AM

    ‘Besides, Draenei don’t really wear boots. They’re more like leg-warmers. ^_^’ quoted by Pixalated Executioner…True so true XD.On a side note, I want to try out that iArmory on my iPod Touch, did Lus signed up to be a beta tester for it? O.o

  14. Anea permalink
    March 23, 2009 1:54 AM

    Actually, turns out the app that we use is called “Warcraft Characters”. (I had to look it up.) It’s free too.Although, since you want it, perhaps you can tell me why you and Lus need a portable Armory :P

  15. Anea permalink
    March 23, 2009 1:54 AM

    They really are. We should be able to chop them off at bootie length, wear the leg warmers and vendor what’s left of them./nodnod

  16. Anea permalink
    March 23, 2009 1:55 AM

    /goathugThanks. And yes, now I’m tempted to keep it all written down somewhere and log upgrades >.>

  17. Anea permalink
    March 23, 2009 1:55 AM

    Hah!That’s really good way of putting it. (And so true!) :D

  18. March 23, 2009 1:56 AM

    Heey! I have that app on my iPod touch! XDIt’s good…mostly fun and silly, but still not sure why Lus needs one at all times… :3

  19. Anea permalink
    March 23, 2009 1:57 AM

    Almost?Take it all the way, I’d like to know what it inspired you to write!

  20. Anea permalink
    March 23, 2009 1:59 AM

    @CadychanBoys./shrug

  21. Chibikeni permalink
    March 23, 2009 2:24 AM

    We boys like our toys =3Usually makes a good tool to teach people on gear and specs when we’re having coffee in a free-WiFi area. Not to mention I have WoW Chest and the WoW Talent applications on my iPod ;D

  22. March 23, 2009 7:36 AM

    I remember the names, quality, where acquired, enchants, and sometimes even the stats of all my gear, but that has less to do with being fixated on gear and more to do with my general mindset. When setting out to become raid or heroic geared, or just to have something upgraded, I become filled with single-minded determination, and analyze how to get, how fast I can get, and what to do with whatever item it is I have in mind.I also catalogue in my head what pieces need to be upgraded to various degrees, and when a piece of gear drops I quickly quantify how much of an upgrade it is versus an upgrade that drops later on for another item slot, and judge my chances of receiving said second item. The only thing this DOESN’T apply to is my paladin, because I refuse to roll on ANY upgrades on the offchance a 2hander might drop for him….if I avoided this mindset I’d likely be one of the best geared retadins on the server, albeit while still using Titansteel Destroyer.I have sometimes lost items for offsets, however, and not remembered what I did with them, but outfitter has somewhat eliminated that problem (tells me its in the bank, inventory, etc).Just my two cents, sorry for the rant lol.

  23. Jack permalink
    March 23, 2009 3:22 PM

    I only know roughly what my gear is. I could do generic Armory gear searches (e.g. level 57-62 cloaks) and probably recognize the gear my characters are using, but off the top of my head I couldn’t name any pieces.My son once misplaced his hearthstone (banked it to make bag space while transporting items between bank and AH). Then he went to Northrend for the first time, at level 20, to try and get to Dalaran and check out the pet store. Of course he died. That was part of the plan. He’d just ghostwalk to a gy close enough to reach the city (hadn’t figured out that you couldn’t get there that way yet). Then he got lost in the unmapped expanses. Found a gy and rezzed before noticing his hearthstone was still missing. Found a friendly mage willing to come to him and port him out . . . and couldn’t hook up due to the neat-o timeline overmapping that occurs in Northrend.I ended up taking about 45 minutes to find his way from the middle of Northrend back to a Horde zeppelin tower and rode back to Orgrimmar in ghost form for him.

  24. Skar and Co. permalink
    March 23, 2009 6:41 PM

    Ohhh, been there done that! /patI did that on my Priest back in BC, pugging a group quest and was asked why I was wearing grey boots :PLuckily: 1) they were onyl greens at the time, and 2) I had not zoned so I was able to buy them back after the quest was complete.As for remembering gear, with 7 Alts… ummmm no. Since LK I have been playing Skar much more than the other 6, so yeah I remember most of his gear but it is generic:Epic Engineering Goggles25 man hunter chest out of vaultNaxx 25 leggings… failed escape or somethingBadge trinket… mirror thingieas you can see, I am very precise :PSkarlarth and Co.Medivh

  25. March 23, 2009 9:20 PM

    I’ll be the exception rather than the rule here, and that’s exclusively because of just insane my memory is. I can tell you what items Mal and Grim are wearing, and even probably most of what Azok is wearing.

  26. March 25, 2009 5:34 PM

    […] Dueg! So recently my good friend Lyrandre hit 80 and some malcontent absconded with my friend Anea’s boots (honestly, hell in a hand basket).  Both of these got me thinking about that most […]

Leave a Reply

