Skip to content

Naming names – a meme

March 24, 2009

Klinderas tagged anyone who read his post about the meaning behind your character’s names and Fulguralis had started the initial inquiries.  I had hesitated to partake in this because with Anea, I hadn’t really thoroughly researched a name, put a meaning into it and made sure the meaning matched the character and class as I usually do.  I could give you a whole list of names I put work into but the character that ended up being my main was Anea, priestess of the Nice Sounding Name.

Really, I did choose Anea after it satisfied several criteria, but they were largely subjective: Did it sound pretty?  Was it “Draenei” enough?  Was it a name a priest would have?  Did it make you feel calmed when you said it out loud? (Very important if she was to be a healing priest.)  So, I felt good about the name.  I felt it matched the character.  They meshed and felt like one.  (I’ll elaborate on this in another post.)

When I rolled Anea, I rolled her as a-NAY-a.  I soloed my way to mid-60s before I was guilded, not thinking that the name could possibly be mispronounced.  Then one day I was guilded, so I hop on vent and I’m greeted with a chorus of, “Hey, a-NEE-a!”  Because I was new, I didn’t speak up and never corrected their pronunciation and a-NEE-a I stayed.  Yes, I was sad that I hadn’t said anything.  The name wasn’t as pretty as the one I had picked out.  But it worked.  (Looking back, I think a part of it was that I have an extremely hard name to pronounce IRL, so I’m used to people messing up my name, so that’s probably another reason why I didn’t correct them.)

At any rate, because this is a post about what the names mean too and not how they were bastardized over vent, I decided to see if Anea really did mean anything.  Through links that were linked on a link, I found a page that listed “Aneya” as a Greek version of the Hebrew name Hannah, which means grace.

I am really quite pleased with this and will willingly put the “meant to be” tag on it, since that’s a large part of what I was trying to convey with Anea’s name when I created her.

Anea (grace)

As Klinderas did, I will decline to tag three people since I don’t want anyone to feel left out but I will strongly encourage everyone to participate!

Follow up this post with Naming names: a query.

9 Comments leave one →
  1. Chibikeni permalink
    March 24, 2009 1:35 PM

    A-nee-san~~~ *japanese slang for big-sister XD*

  2. Jack permalink
    March 24, 2009 2:34 PM

    The two characters I’m playing regularly are my Frost Knight tank, Kryonix, and my resto druid, Pssladybug.Personally, I think Kryonix sounds cool and is a fitting name, but is also kinda’ . . . I don’t know what the word is . . . “hit me over the head already, I get it. You’re Undead, a Death Knight and let me guess, frost?” Like something a 15 year old would pick because, “Dude, frost specced Death Knights totally rock!” Or maybe it sounds more like a tired old man picking the name of his WoW character way past his bed time.lol. I just wanted something that sounded like it brought death. I started doing a web search on different types of pharmacological poisons, which morphed into topics related to death, I came across the wikipedia entry for cryonics, thought it sounded cool, it fit, so I bastardized it.Pssladybug is a name I shouldn’t have. I guess there’s a code of conduct rule against titles in name? But no one seems to know or care that “Pss.” is the abbreviation for “Princess”, so I guess it hasn’t much mattered. Heck, I didn’t know until I needed a name for the character.And it had to be the most girlish name I could come up with and fit in 12 characters.It started with a joke. I and a few IRL buddies were forming a group to play online ’cause we don’t get together as often as we’d like. While talking over party roles with one of the guys who never plays MMPORGs, but has lots of table top RPG experience, he began to mock healers based on the stereotype they had in old school D&D. “Good God! Who would want to do that in a video game!” And from there he proceeded into a tirade of mysoginistic derision.So when we divided up the roles and I got to be the healer I figured I’d roll a girly girl and make him call me princess if he wanted any healing. I’m sure it would have gotten old quickly and been dropped . . . but it would have been good for a laugh from time to time. Unfortunately, he decided not to play WoW, so the joke kinda’ dudded. By then, though, I was already nearly 20 levels into the character, I had a start on my professions . . . and playing a “girly” character opened up elements of the game I’d never looked at before. Pets, outfits, giftwrap, novelty items. Picking flowers just to give them away or sell them. I made money! I began to take the AH more seriously, bought nice bags. I found myself really enjoying it.Why “Ladybug” instead of, say, “Moonbeam” or “Butterfly”? Well, Butterfly doesn’t fit the size constraint and Ladybug is the first name that occurred to me which did. I liked it well enough, so Pssladybug it was.

  3. March 24, 2009 2:44 PM

    btw, I always assumed it was pronounced the way you say it should be. I don’t see where people get A-nee-a from, there’s no e at the end to indicate a hard pronounciation. My mom was a grammar teacher, so this stuff bugs me, lol.

  4. March 24, 2009 3:33 PM

    I think I might write about this in the near future! I think, however, that often times, I tend to do what you did. I choose names because of their sound, not their meaning. There are times when that’s not so, as with my new alt, but often it is.Yeah, I’m definitely going to write about this soon. :)

  5. March 24, 2009 6:29 PM

    @ChibikeniHeh. Funny – I wouldn’t have thought about that.@AneaOddly enough, if the pattern of letters fits, I tend to think in Japanese first, regarding pronounciation, and that would lead to one that’s closer to your intended pronounciation – Ah-Neh-Ah, though with no accented syllable. (Japanese words are not accented individually, more the sentence gets inflections overall that give the language tonal pitches. It’s one of the reasons why Japanese speaking English sound so off.)Love the blog! Keep up the good work.My 2 yen,Akiosama

  6. Anea permalink
    March 24, 2009 11:46 PM

    Great, I can’t *wait to hear what you have to say about it! :)

  7. March 25, 2009 4:45 AM

    That’s good that it all turned out! I really like Anea. :DAs for Cadistra’s name, there is a small part of me that’s not happy with it…See, when my friend (Kissless) was like ‘C’mon, try the 14-day trial!’ I was all like ‘FINE.’ So I chose my lady cow, and actually named her ‘Cady’ off of an already existing character. (She was a ‘D&D’-esque character from a freestyle Star Wars campaign I was in).Then…well, then I started liking the game. =/So it came to the point where I didn’t want her to be named ‘Cady.’ My friend knew a guy at work who knew a guy who worked a Blizz – of all things. Long story short, they got me a free name change. I suck at coming up with names, so she suggested ‘Cadistra.’From there, the name and the character just evolved into their own thing. =) I like it now. :3

  8. Chibikeni permalink
    March 25, 2009 9:47 AM

    Wonder how would you name your cow if it was a male? =p

  9. November 4, 2009 1:49 AM

    […] A continuation of Naming names – a meme: […]

Leave a Reply

