Skip to content

Melee priest

March 28, 2009

So, I’m on my baby pally questing away in Westfall and as I’m killing gnolls, I see a priest attacking a gnoll… with his staff.  I could see his health was low, so I threw him some heals and helped him kill the gnoll.  I thought it was weird, but thought, “Well, maybe he ran out of mana” and didn’t worry any more about it.  But I kept seeing him, always near death, and always meleeing (or, when things looked particularly dire, he would wand.)  After a while, I just couldn’t help myself and asked:

meleepriest

Then he didn’t want to talk anymore, but I think that this bit of conversation will be good enough for a laugh.

16 Comments leave one →
  1. March 28, 2009 2:56 AM

    -cringe-hunters can mellee now…Most importantly: It’s melee. You just said melee to him! Lern2spellnub! D:Actually most importantly: No. No we cannot. Silly priest is silly!

  2. March 28, 2009 3:51 AM

    Silly Priest? I’d say Fail Priest. XD

  3. Willel permalink
    March 28, 2009 4:28 AM

    I’ve seen melee hunters, but never melee priests. This is new to me.

  4. March 28, 2009 4:36 AM

    We used to joke about massive staff crits on Lurker while sobering up at IHOP. That, and spirit warriors….And thus was born the +800 green spirit set that my gnome carried around for a year….

  5. March 28, 2009 10:28 AM

    Big Red Kitty is doing a series of hunter guide movies designed to help new hunters avoid “huntardism”. One of the things he focuses on is avoiding melee combat whenever possible. He was running around Dun Morogh on his baby hunter while filming this, and came across two leveling hunters. They’re both meleeing away with their little axes, and you can almost see a single tear slide down BRK’s cheek.

  6. March 28, 2009 10:49 AM

    “well im a head crackin big stick carryin priest then”Great. Now I’m picturing <a href="http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Walking_Tall“ rel=”nofollow”>Sheriff Buford Pusser walking around in glowy priest robes and beating the crap out of bad guys with a Benediction.

  7. Lan'dorien permalink
    March 28, 2009 1:38 PM

    I have a frayed-robe-wearing, staff-wielding warrior on an RP realm for just such occasions :)

  8. March 28, 2009 3:52 PM

    Hehe thanks for the giggle! ;)

  9. March 28, 2009 7:59 PM

    “Next time, I’m cracking skulls.”

  10. Willel permalink
    March 29, 2009 1:54 AM

    Somebody should level a warrior as a healer. Just bring lots of bandages.

  11. March 29, 2009 3:03 AM

    One of these days, I WILL skill up Osprey’s Unarmed to 400. Go into Crytstalsong, find a big tree, and whale away. HUGE fun. (Works with any other weapon too.)

  12. March 30, 2009 4:00 PM

    I lol’d. No lie.I now impart to you the knowledge that Majesty have 4 weapons skills at 400. Of course, she was level 80 and I was going for some achievements. ;)Bad melee, priest, bad!

  13. Fain permalink
    March 30, 2009 4:13 PM

    I melee on my priest.But only because I want those last 18 points to get my daggers to 400. Getting Knuckle Sandwich and Master of Arms -as a priest- before some of our tanks/melee DPS got those achievements? Hilarious. The sense of satisfaction when I open my skills tab and all of my weapon bubbles are maxed? Priceless.(Granted, I got Knuckle Sandwich smacking Herod in SM…and do not suggest using bare hands as weapons @ level unless your target has < 1k HP left…)

  14. March 30, 2009 5:22 PM

    I admit I’ve done this trying for the unarmed skill acievement, but never, NEVER on a mob that would get me low in health repeatedly.I found some weak caster mobs, PW:Shield myself, and start the smackdown. Got a few WTF comments from passers-by also, but once I explained I was after the achievement, they joined the fun and helped punch things with me for a few minutes just to break from the rind of questing. It was a ton of fun!

  15. April 2, 2009 2:51 AM

    […] Melee Priest from Holy Discipline, by Anea […]

  16. April 3, 2009 1:08 AM

    I know I’m late to this, but: I have a feeling that this priest spells the word “mellee” because he pronounces it to rhyme with “jelly”, not to rhyme with “waylay” as it ought to be.I’ve decided that in 4.0, Discipline should be the melee combat tree.

Leave a Reply

