Skip to content

Mini-pet collecting: is it wrong?

April 3, 2009

One thing that I did different on my baby pally than I did on my baby warrior was that I didn’t grab a few mini-pets while I was running through areas to get flight paths and while in capital cities.  On my warrior I had wanted to get all the pets I could, almost by reflex, I think, because of the achievements.

For some reason on my paladin, I didn’t think that it would fit her.  I didn’t think that she would drag a ton of pets around or have a whole mini-stable of flashy pets.  I decided on only the Baby Blizzard Bear for a pet.  I will say that I did learn the Netherwhelp and Frosty, since I got them in the mail, but I didn’t grab a Snowshoe Rabbit as I ran by, I didn’t buy a cat and I overlooked the moths in Exodar.

Part of that reason is I can hardly remember to have them out anyway.  If for some reason it occurs to me, I’ll get a pet out. Or if I’m in a raid and I see someone with one then sometimes I’ll be a follower and get a pet out too.  But by and large, I won’t.  Maybe I’m in the minority – I know there are some people that will have pets out all the time and have fancy macros that will rotate pets whenever it’s clicked.  But even if you do have that fancy macro, if you have a large number of pets (and I think that most of us are at least hovering near 40 on the low end of the scale, many have their skunk and some even have their fawn)then even if you’re rotating them out on a regular basis, how much face time is each pet really getting?

Probably not enough to satisfy the needs of a real pet.  Maybe Speedy doesn’t need a metric ton of love and attention but your White Kitten is surely going to need you to play with him, roll a ball of yarn, shoot a hair tie to chase, make sure his water is fresh, top off his food, pet him, let him in and out on his whims… it takes a lot.  But we don’t do that.  We shove our pets into some crazy little nook or cranny in our bags and summon them forth whenever the mood strikes us and often make them run at high speeds next to our mounts, even through dangerous territory.  Some people even giggle at such behavior.  (These are undoubtedly the same people that take pleasure in killing the cats of Silvermoon.  You are depraved cretins.) Please also read this comic for other non-minipet approved activities.  If you neglect your mini-pets, they may feel similar to the last panel here.

Some of you naysayers might point out that of course we don’t need to treat the mini-pets as a real pet, they’re not real. They’re digital and they’re not hunter pets. But if that was so, then would Dalaran have a vendor selling Fetch Balls, Happy Pet Snacks, Pet Grooming Kits or Rope Pet Leashes? No. We care enough about our mini-pets to want them to play fetch, be happy and love us, be so clean they sparkle and be tethered to us whether they like it or not have leashes so they don’t get lost. So shouldn’t we also worry about whether or not we’re spending enough time with them?

companionship

Companionship, thy name is Lus and Buzzy.

12 Comments leave one →
  1. Chibikeni permalink
    April 3, 2009 6:19 AM

    Need a Lus/Buzz Lolcatz moments =p

  2. Anea permalink
    April 3, 2009 6:25 AM

    I have two hilarious pictures with Lus and Buzzy that I would LOVE to see lolcaptions for. Lus would kill me if he knew that I posted those images for the general readership’s viewing though :D

  3. April 3, 2009 10:26 AM

    My main has a minipet addiction that is only reinforced by a loving wife who frequently scans the neutral auction house for good deals. For some reason I like showing them all off when waiting outside an instance.On the rest of my toons though … I think I equipped one pet the achievement on some of them.

  4. April 3, 2009 12:18 PM

    Cute. :)In my mind, my character does spend time taking care of her pets! She does it in her down time though, when I’m not online. Just like sleeping and using the outhouse! I never see it happen… just like on TV right? :)

  5. April 3, 2009 1:13 PM

    I think of the mini-pets much more like a fashion statement than an actual companion. Perhaps that is why I prefer the pets that aren’t strictly alive (e.g. the spirit of summer).

  6. April 3, 2009 4:21 PM

    I agree with Tarsus. My favorite mini-pets are either ones that match my Hunter pets exactly (in which case the justification is that they live in the stables with their larger kin) or ones that aren’t alive like my Pet Bombling or Kirin Tor Familiar.

  7. Anea permalink
    April 3, 2009 7:05 PM

    Hm – that’s a good way to think of it! Get some things done while we’re not there watching – that’s just good time management, after all…. I also can’t help but wonder what else they do while we’re not logged in? /curious

  8. parsi permalink
    April 3, 2009 7:35 PM

    Aww now I feel bad ;_;

  9. parsi permalink
    April 3, 2009 7:35 PM

    Aww now I feel bad ;_;

  10. April 4, 2009 12:01 AM

    There is nothing wrong with collecting mini pets! I should have mine out more often to be honest. We often joke about all getting them out when we raid, but we usually get told it would cause too much lag. Pffft. =) I have the most pets on my main, and I will probably collect them on my mage because she’s a gnome and too cute not to be running around with another little mini-friend, but I haven’t bothered on the rest of my alts… they each have a few and they all have the Polar Bear, I think that’s my favorite pet anyway. =)

  11. April 6, 2009 8:49 PM

    I collect the pets on my main for the achievements, but haven’t worked at it really hard yet. In other words, I refuse to shell out the dough.However, I really only like showing off the rarer pets like Magical Crawdad, Muckbreath, Kirin Tor Familiar, etc.

  12. April 9, 2009 12:21 AM

    […] Mini-pet collecting: is it wrong? from Holy Discipline, by Anea […]

Leave a Reply

