Skip to content

By default: an update

April 23, 2009

Perhaps you remember my last “By default” post, challenging my readers to go addon-less. Or modless, if you will.

Even though the alt that I am using isn’t the dwarf that is pictured in the last post, I am still holding true to my challenge… almost. After a day or two of constantly reorganizing my bags as I picked up items that didn’t go “in their place”, I went a little batty and caved and installed my beloved Baggins. I figured you all would understand… and then the slope got a little slippery as I figured, “Well, if I can have Baggins, then I can have Postal and AutoMaton. (The bank alt is giving a trial run of AuctionLite.) I hope I have not disappointed you all.

So, while I have failed the initial challenge by using addons at all, I believe I am within the spirit of the challenge by using only three addons on the character (plus one on bank) and they aren’t major UI altering addons and run very much in the background. It feels good to know what I only have four addons in my folder as opposed to the tons that I had before.

By playing with the default, I will say there are a few features that I rather like. I don’t know when Blizz decided to implement them (it’s been so long since I’ve run almost “naked” mod-wise) but they’re still helpful.

defaultquest

The first thing I noticed was that the default quest tracker for Blizz will have a little button pop up next to the quest if it has an item to be used in the completion of the quest – very convenient. I used to either have my bags open (therefore taking up screen space) to use a quest item or replace an ability button on one of my two bars to have it easily accessible. So, I’m very happy with this feature.

Secondly, look how many quests it lets me track! My old tracker would only let me have four up at one time.

Third, when hovering over an item (or mob, though it’s not pictured) the tooltip will tell me which quest it’s for and if it’s a kill quest, how many kills I have/how many left.

(And though it’s not pictured either, I noticed that the tracking dots in the mini-map have shrunk a bit. While not overly bothersome, I’ve decided I liked the old size better. But that is neither here nor there.)

8 Comments leave one →
  1. April 23, 2009 12:34 PM

    They just added the new quest tracker stuff in 3.1 :) I really like how they added the buttons on the tracker for quest items! You can also go in through the options and it will let you adjust the size and location of the tracker.I have found a few little bugs with it already, like one where it’s been showing my Hunter pet as one of the Scourge that needs to be killed for the Argent Tournament daily… and also, sometimes they tooltips aren’t showing that I need to kill certain mobs (when I know I have to) or the quest item isn’t showing up next to the quest.But they did JUST implement it, and I think it’s a vast improvement! :)

  2. willel permalink
    April 23, 2009 1:09 PM

    I like the new tracking stuff, but I’m finding that there’s not as much room for the tracking text as there used to be. So some of the longer objective names are now getting cut off and it’s really the thing at the end (the count) that I really care about.But in general the new tracking features are very welcome.

  3. Anea permalink
    April 23, 2009 1:20 PM

    Yes, that is a drawback that I don’t like :/ However, the large number of quests able to be tracked makes up for it, imo. Plus the buttons <3

  4. Anea permalink
    April 23, 2009 1:21 PM

    Hm – haven’t run into any problems with it on my end (all 12 levels I’ve been using it, haha) but hopefully they’ll get those errors fixed soon!

  5. Anea permalink
    April 23, 2009 1:21 PM

    Hm – haven’t run into any problems with it on my end (all 12 levels I’ve been using it, haha) but hopefully they’ll get those errors fixed soon!

  6. willel permalink
    April 23, 2009 2:15 PM

    The buttons are very cool. I’m still dragging quest items into available action bar slots before I remember I don’t have to do that anymore.

  7. willel permalink
    April 23, 2009 2:15 PM

    The buttons are very cool. I’m still dragging quest items into available action bar slots before I remember I don’t have to do that anymore.

  8. Jack permalink
    April 23, 2009 5:28 PM

    Kinda’ funny . . . I look at your screenshot there and all the upgrades are great, but the one I still like best is how easy Stormwind Harbor makes the trip between Ironforge and Exodar.

Leave a Reply

