Skip to content

A Tourney-Conundrum

May 19, 2009

Tournament

The Argent Tournament has been here for… I don’t know, however long it’s been here.

Everyone was so excited when it was here!  Must go work on Tourney dailies!  Mounted combat!  Squire!  WHOO!

And I was over in my corner and the emotion surrounding me and the tourney could be summed up in three letters: meh.

However, after I saw that you could obtain titles, one of which is “of the Exodar” – I was tempted to care a little bit.  This would certainly be a title that Anea would want to obtain, since she is a Draenei and proud of who she is and where she came from.  The little seed was planted.

But not enough for me to care enough to start doing the dailies!

Lus did drag me over there once to try out the dailies, since he’s very interested in this.  The mounted combat did not sit well with me at all.  When I originally heard about it, I was just skimming an article and figured it would be like our normal combat, just mounted.  That I would be casting spells while mounted – it made sense to me!  As I’m sure all of you reading this know, that is not the case.

To compound things further, there are little pets to buy too.  I am merely two pets away from getting my little stinker so… perfect opportunity, non?

My conundrum is whether or not that is “enough reason” to do these dailies and jump through all the hoops.  I am norotiously horrible at doing dailies and getting rep.  Sad, but true.  Many of us have written articles about how the Achievement system has changed the way we play and made us care about things we normally wouldn’t have.  Since coming to terms with this, I have been trying to play my “newer” characters as if the achievements don’t exist – trying not to let it alter my gameplay.  (Example: I would try to resist the urge to run across a zone to an area of it which I haven’t yet discovered just to get the achievement.  Before achievements, I didn’t care about discovering every bit of areas, so I’m trying to keep it that way.  Aemma also isn’t going to /love all the creatures either.  [However, that’s for an RP purpose in addition to the achievement thing.])

At any rate… I’m wondering if I am “allowed” to care (by my own system) about all this Tournament junk.  I’d like the title, sure – but I don’t need it.  The pets are nice – two would help me, but they’re not necessary.  And in the big scope of things, no part of this game is needed or necessary, so I’m ruling that argument out.

In the end it all feels stupid, as I’m sure those of you that made it this far in the post are thinking – am I the only one who gets caught up in stuff like this?

4 Comments leave one →
  1. Andrej permalink
    May 19, 2009 11:23 PM

    I don’t see much in the tournament either. It just seems like something they added in to lure me away from boredom, which is nice, but I tried it out and just don’t feel it. Maybe it’s because I hate snow or some subconscious thing like that. I am not really sure, but either way I completely agree.

  2. Skarlarth permalink
    May 20, 2009 12:49 AM

    Well being an pet fiend and semi-achievement wh*re, I am stuck doing it just for the possible pets to get me closer to 75.And the Gnomer tabard, that is weet. Luckily I am already exalted with all alliance cities. Now it is jsut grinding out 250 marks for all the pets and the one tabard (sigh) but at least the gold is good!Skarlarth and Co.Medivh

  3. May 20, 2009 12:08 PM

    I enjoy the Tournament dailies. It’s good gold, it gives great rep and rewards, and I have fun doing the dueling. That being said, I don’t do them every day. If I’ve got some spare time, I’ll head out there and knock a few out. If I don’t feel like it, I have no problem skipping it for a few days. It’s not a race.My problem is how people see dailies – either you do them EVERY DAY or you don’t do them at all. It doesn’t have to be like that! Give them a try, see how they hold up for you. Hop on up there if you’re bored. Maybe even just do the “Kill 10 Scourge” one if you want, it’s easy and gives decent rewards.The point is to do what you feel like doing, do what you enjoy. Don’t feel like you’re not allowed to enjoy something because of some arbitrary principle you’ve established, but also don’t feel obligated to try to enjoy something that just isn’t for you. It’s your game! Play how you will. :)

  4. May 20, 2009 11:00 PM

    If it makes you feel any better, I’m horrible at the mounted combat. I am trying to do the Tourney on Trout to get money for his epic flyer and to gain the rep (as a bonus), but I am the suck with a lance. Of course, I swear it’s built in that hunters are the suck with melee weapons weather on a saber or not. But it’s a fun and friendly change of pace to be out there with my lance, even if I stink at it.But as Brajana mentioned, doing some of the quick dailies are easy enough, I usually pick them up and while I’m out and about diong other cooking/fishing/skinning, I can knock out those in areas I’m normally running past anyways.

Leave a comment