Skip to content

Alterations – it’s all the same

May 21, 2009

One of the things that occurred to me as I re-read my Tourney-Conundrum post is whether or not I was taking the proper attitude towards the Tournament and Achievement system.

I wrote that I hadn’t wanted to alter my gameplay because of the achievements (as an example.)  But… why should I not alter my gameplay?

When patches and expansions come out, new elements are added to the game that we all want to do, to work on and complete.  To take this to an almost ridiculous level, when the Burning Crusade was released, I was happy to know that a friend had managed to grab me a Collector’s Edition (thanks, Mal!) and I impatiently awaited it, excitedly opened the box to see all the goodies inside and immediately started installing it.  I embraced this change!

So, if I was sticking to my original premise, which was not to alter my gameplay… shouldn’t I have not wanted anything to do with the Burning Crusade?  All the changes it brought?  An entire other world, zones, poo quests, dungeons and raids?  And especially the new races!  Spacegoats?  Yuck!  Who would want to play something with tentacles on it’s face?  Ten more levels that I had to play through?  Ugh.  All of that would alter my gameplay, which was only the first 60 levels, only Kalimdor and the Eastern Kingdoms and only the original eight races.

Perhaps it’s because it was wrapped up in a fancy package with “Expansion” on it that made it seem “ok” even though it was really no different from the Achievements and the Tournament – it all falls under the category of “content added”.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. May 21, 2009 5:48 PM

    I think you’re on the right track here, and make a very good point about the expansions vs. patch content.Change isn’t always bad! And it’s not like you can’t go back, or be picky about what changes you experience. It’s all about trying new things :) If you can’t bring yourself to do it in a game, how will you ever do it IRL?

  2. May 21, 2009 10:34 PM

    What if disc spec had never changed?!?! Can you imagine?!You like change, you’re just selective about your change. But then we all are. ;)

  3. May 22, 2009 1:37 AM

    Some great points, Anea. :) Although, I think the mechanics of the jousting is much more game play altering than say, new content that allows you to use the same playstyle.But you are right, there are lots of changes that we all deal with patch to patch, expansions, etc. And, there are people that have rerolled, switched specs, or even quit playing because they don’t like what a patch has “done” to their class.

Leave a Reply

