Skip to content

Am I just coming full circle?

June 3, 2009

For the past several many lots of posts, I’ve written about various alts that happened to have my attention at the time. I switched races, classes, factions and servers. I started from scratch. I picked up lost mains. I started a Death Knight. I dropped professions, picked others up, leveled others still. I did the whole song and dance that comes along with new alts.

Over and over and over again.

Just as you were probably asking yourself, late one night as I was trying to sleep, I thought, “Why do I do this?” Not only does it take up lots of time and playing hours, it’s exhausting to run around getting things started “the right way” just to delete the alt several levels later. I’ve talked before about how I really need to commit and sink into a character.

I’ve done it all before

As I was laying in bed mulling all this over (including the idea of yet another alt) it occurred to me that I’ve done this before. What I am trying to do right now is have a new main. This is the same thing that happened when I rolled Anea and Sin (my old main). And every time before I settled into a main, there was lots of jumping around, faction- and class-wise. There was rolling of characters, playing to somewhere under the 10th level to as high as the 30th level, then deleting. Eventually, after the deaths of many potential mains, I found one I liked, settled down and leveled her up properly. But now that this would be the third time around, I can see the pattern.

Screw around on tons of alts > Finally find a main > Get bored of main > Screw around on tons of alts > Finally find a main > Get bored of main >

It just goes on ad nauseum.

Why can’t you just have several alts?

I know several people who (ok, most people I know) have many alts that they work on as the mood strikes, a few levels here, a couple of decades there, perhaps only to hop on once every few weeks and fish a bit then log out. I hate to think about it, but if I had just KEPT all the alts I’ve rolled and played them little by little I would have several 80s. No question about it. But I can’t do that. I don’t know why, but having some low level just sitting around somewhere not being played regularly just irritates me. I don’t know why I can’t have small side projects – I only can have one main project. It must be a sickness.  Even knowing that Lus has tons of lowbie alts laying around annoys me – this is how horrible I am.  I have both “Old” and “Retired” subfolders in my screenshots folder.  Further evidence.

Just pick one already, then!

Sadly, my process of creating a character is not that simple.  Referring yet again to the “commit and sink into” part of my character necessity, I need to be happy with the race/class combo, their appearance and even come up with a little (albeit vague) backstory for the character.  If I don’t like “who they are” then I can’t keep them.  I’ve deleted and rerolled many a character because some part of them “wasn’t right” – this can be for anything from skin color to their class to renaming because they didn’t seem like they would be called Ladli.  If I can’t see a character “fitting” their projected professions, they’re gone.  Not able to see them in Outlands or Northrend?  Adios.

There’s a guy who used to be a guildee that I’ve kept in touch with – he has a male Dwarf priest.  He hates the character.  He doesn’t like the animations, he hates the way he looks, complains about it every now and then.  Yet he still played the priest all the way to 80 and even has two crafting professions on him.  Now, to several of you, it makes sense that he finishes what he started.  But to me, it’s ridiculous that he should invest so much time, effort and gold into a character he so clearly dislikes.

Crossing faction lines

I even see a back and forth pattern over periods of months/years where I played Alliance, then Horde, then Alliance… now I’m due for Horde, it seems.  I find this interesting, because it seems that the circle of people that I tend to converse with are pretty diehard Alliance or diehard Horde.  They may have baby alts in the opposite faction, surely, but their mains are firmly entrenched in their faction of choice.  I guess since I am rather on the fence, faction-wise, I can just cross over whenever I choose and it won’t bother me.

“I was all by myself”

SinSleepHearth

In past posts I’ve asked about odd little habits regarding character creation or views of certain facets of your character, but this I think I might be alone in.  Do you see patterns in your WoW play?  Are you also only able to work on one “main” at a time and kill off alts if they aren’t right?

15 Comments leave one →
  1. June 3, 2009 1:47 PM

    I’m glad to see someone else who doesn’t have an Alliance or Horde preference. I could never really quite understand it, actually… being so die-hard one faction or the other x_x

  2. June 3, 2009 3:06 PM

    Kill …. alts? Unthinkable! As a confirmed and dedicated altoholic, I can honestly say that I have only ever deleted one toon that was at least level 10. What will I do when I reach the 50 character per account limit? Uhh….I still have like 20 toons to go, I’m not worried about that .. yet. :p

  3. June 3, 2009 3:15 PM

    Hmmm, this provokes many thoughts and made me think about my own pattern with alts. Though I am more an alt-o-holic and play many alts and find that my mains will cap out, get decent gear to where I feel capable in all heroics, maxxed professions, and then they tend to be the ones that rot while I snag an alt and start working on their grind to the same fate. Maybe my problem is that none of my characters truly reach their full potential. If you don’t mind I might piggyback off this post for my own. Since I don’t want to fill your comment box with my ramblings.

  4. Jolie permalink
    June 3, 2009 8:41 PM

    I’ve been reading your blog for a while now, and must admit that i feel exactly the way you do. I’ve stopped playing so many alts, because there was a tiny thing wrong with them. I have a kind of “zen” attitude towards my wow account, so if i don’t use a char, that char gets deleted. Right now I’m also trying to settle with a new main, and I’m wasting so much time with low lvl alts because i need to find the right server, battlegroup, race, name, appearence. Since I’m playing with irl friends on different servers, i have to have some alts around, but otherwise i’d prefer to just have one main and stick to it… Until i get tired of it.

  5. June 3, 2009 11:16 PM

    […] in a Toon? Spurred by a post over at Holy Discipline, I got to thinking about my own habits in WoW, my patterns, and simply…how I WoW.  She asks […]

  6. June 3, 2009 11:16 PM

    […] in a Toon? Spurred by a post over at Holy Discipline, I got to thinking about my own habits in WoW, my patterns, and simply…how I WoW.  She asks […]

  7. June 3, 2009 11:16 PM

    […] in a Toon? Spurred by a post over at Holy Discipline, I got to thinking about my own habits in WoW, my patterns, and simply…how I WoW.  She asks […]

  8. June 3, 2009 11:16 PM

    […] in a Toon? Spurred by a post over at Holy Discipline, I got to thinking about my own habits in WoW, my patterns, and simply…how I WoW.  She asks […]

  9. Oink permalink
    June 4, 2009 2:10 PM

    I am almost the same way. I will get a main I am half-way comfortable with, level him / her up, then either push it to 80 or get bored at 75 and make new alts, to whom I send money and gear to max out their professions at the earliest levels, then delete them at some later time in a proccess where I decide I have too many characters and delete all below 50-ish.

  10. Skar and Co. permalink
    June 4, 2009 3:50 PM

    Well when I started way back a month or two after launch, I was pulled in by a co-worker who had been in beta so I had my Faction (Alliance) and Server chosen for me since I was to be in the guild he had made.Class and professions were decided by me ahead before I even bought the game: I knew I wanted guns, I knew I wanted to be an engineer and I knew I wated to be a dwarf.Started with two toons (technically Skar is older as he was created first) and alternated between the two depending on who had rest state built up.I also started making alts for the only reason of the idea of being “My own Economy” So the babies sprung up and were leveled on days I wanted achange of pace in the hopes that one day I would supply my own mats, pots, etcAs I got further along (lvl 45 or so) I got into a friendly race with a guildee on who would be the fisrt “guild-grown” lvl 60 hunter (leadership imported a lvl 60 when Maur and I were both around lvl 55) I let Tolecnal (the other co-main) and the rest of the alts sit by the wayside ans I drove hard on Skar every night. Maur beat me by about 10 hours by the way… Stupid work! Should have called in sick!Being a new father of one (then 18 months later two) kids restricted my play time so the alts began to grow up. Most on Medivh to help the “My own ecnonmy” plan. Some on other servers to try out the other faction or to try an RP server, etc. Very few were deleted; my original NElf priest was zapped at level 18 to make way for a dwarf priest because they were the only ones (at the time) who had fear ward (Yes I am that old!). The next time I deleted an alt was when LK was released, I deleted my lvl 19 twink warrior to make way for a DK, who retained the same race, gender, and name (so I can RP the cause to myself :P)So now I have 2 80’s, a 77, and 4 others between 74-70, a lvl 58 DK all Alliance, all on Medivh, various other across other severs, some for me, some that are “my son’s toon” or “my eldest daughter’s toon” (up to 3 kids now) probably none above level 25. I guess I may have to delete some if I ever hit the alt cap.So I guess I definitely have alt-itis but I tried to channel it and keep it on one server to maximize the opportunities for me, and thanks to BoA items now (heh-heh) I could not be happier with my decision. Plus it is nice to help out the guild when someone needs a crafting item, basic enchant, or some items DE’ed, I can step up 90% of the time.Skar and Co.Medivh

  11. Dahras permalink
    June 5, 2009 7:44 PM

    I have a similar method as you, just slightly different. I am a total character monogamist and I can only think about maxing out one character at a time.Usually what happens with me is that I will play a main for a long time (4-8 months) and get as far as I can go with that character, min-maxing all the way, and then I get bored. Usually, because I am so invested in the character that dullness leads to me taking a break from the game.Then, after reading something, I get really fascinated with a certain mechanic (eclipse for my boomkin), style (melee dps for my retadin) or look (the awesome T5 shoulders for my holy priest) and so I grind a new character to max in a ridiculously short time, starting the cycle over again.I’m not really sure if this is a “healthy” way to play the game… its kind of like the bulimia of WoW. I binge play, and then “purge” the old character by not playing and eventually deserting it. Its actually funny because I have a character in raid gear for each xpac stuck at that level… a mage in BWL gear at 60, a priest in SSC gear at 70, a paladin in Naxx gear at 80, and a boomkin who will presumably be in Ulduar gear. Its actually encouraging to hear that other people go through similarly weird WoW character transitions

  12. Rose permalink
    June 10, 2009 2:23 PM

    Hmm.. I don’t think I have a pattern. I have just about one of everything and they all slowly get leveled. The highest level character I deleted was 30 and that’s because everyone I was playing with on that server stopped. I don’t have a preference of factions either. It’d be really nice to play both and I’m trying, especially now that I chose a server for all the Hordies to play on. My main is always going to be my priest but I don’t mind being stuck with my other 80s just doing heroics and a raid here or there. I’m perfectly content with that.

  13. Poetry permalink
    June 13, 2009 12:21 AM

    I have my level 80 main, whom I love to death. I have a level 80 alt. On top of this, I have *six* level 60 alts. I’m in the process of picking one of them to designate as my “new main”. I don’t think I even need to explain further, because I’m in precisely the same situation as you, and quite comfortable with it. I’ve switched factions, classes, races, etc. I’ve settled with having one of each class (sans warrior, for now) and moving around as I see fit.

  14. Poetry permalink
    June 13, 2009 12:21 AM

    I have my level 80 main, whom I love to death. I have a level 80 alt. On top of this, I have *six* level 60 alts. I’m in the process of picking one of them to designate as my “new main”. I don’t think I even need to explain further, because I’m in precisely the same situation as you, and quite comfortable with it. I’ve switched factions, classes, races, etc. I’ve settled with having one of each class (sans warrior, for now) and moving around as I see fit.

  15. Noelle permalink
    June 21, 2009 8:19 PM

    I just found your blog, and since this sounds a bit like me, I had to comment.My main is a lvl 80 night elf holy priest. And she has been holy since day 1. I love her. I never spec’d shadow because I hate change. But, I have had many periods where I get bored with her. Let’s face it, holy priests can’t kill worth crap. I had to pick my quests carefully. Many a time I’d find myself stuck with a questlog full of quests that I just could not complete by myself as holy. So I’d leave her for a few months, while working on my hubby to get him to commit to a Saturday afternoon spent helping me clear those quests.In the meantime, I would roll something else and play for a bit. I’d go Horde, I’d go Alliance. I really liked creating new toons with new “stories”, new looks, etc. I feel guilty deleting them, like I owe them life or something. Though I occasionally do delete them. I do have an alt I’ve gotten to lvl 61. But even now, I’m sitting home alone on a Sunday, and thinking, maybe I should try someone else.I find 2 issues with all this. 1: when you roll a new alt, there is no one around to play with. You rarely see other toons run past. I actually miss that. But the game is aging, and that’s what you get.2: A long time ago, the guild I was in made a statement in their recruiting, that they didn’t want people who only wanted to play “dress the doll.” I suppose they meant people only looking to grab epic gear and gquit. But I was an officer at the time. And I liked getting new gear purely based on how it looked on my toon. If it was ugly, I wouldn’t use it.Just my 2 cents. Love the blog. :)

Leave a Reply

