Skip to content

Why can’t goldspammers run?

June 6, 2009

No, really.

Several times in my “I wanna be a troll!” moods, I’ll roll a character and I’ll run them to Orgrimmar to play around with hairstyles and colors. Usually these moods are very late at night (or extremely early in the morning, depending on how you think about it) so it’s awfully deserted in the starting area and on the road up. A few of these times, I’ve seen a gold spammer running up to Orgrimmar.  (Who you can tell by the names, of course – the latest trend is to have a name that starts with a woman’s name with random crap after it.)

A part of me reflexively went to report them for spam, but since they won’t bother saying anything in General, I can’t do anything. So, I just stew about it for a while, but I have to run with/behind them for the whole way, whether I like it or not. Because of that, I noticed: they can’t run.

It’s not that they’re walking, either. They “run” in fits and starts. And it’s not just once or twice (like perhaps the spammer took his hand off his keyboard to grab a soda or something) but… I don’t know, as if maybe their keyboard is broken? Perhaps they don’t understand that you can hold the key down and you will keep running? Or that they don’t know what auto-run is? (One of my most favorite things ever.)

orc1

And it’s the entire way, too! As you can see here on an Orc experiment, I am quite a ways behind the goldspammer guy – and this is after I’d run for quite a while, before it even occurred to me to take a screenshot. And he would start and stop. Start and stop. Not in any sort of rhythm or set time between the stops.  Random.  SO much that I passed him up before we got out of the canyon.

orc2

Now, surely this isn’t the same exact guy I happened to run into during these random times I decide to run up to Orgrimmar.  That would be a one in a trillion chance.  I can’t say that every goldspammer does it, but of the sampling I’ve had, on multiple servers at different times on different dates… couldn’t that be counted as a decent sampling?  Assuming this is so, this means that it’s prevalent among the goldspammer community – what could it be that would affect them in such a way (or that they would all be doing while running) that they couldn’t run correctly?

Besides karma crippling them, of course.  That’s the only thing I can think of.  Selling and buying gold is bad, kids – don’t do it.  If you do and bad things happen to your account, well… you got what was coming to you.

11 Comments leave one →
  1. June 5, 2009 10:41 PM

    Depends on what kind of 3rd party program they’re running in order to make their characters move. A lot of goldsellers like this are set up as bots (yes, even despite the new security features that Blizz has set up), and only have a human at the keyboard to handle logging in and out, and changing the character periodically.

  2. June 5, 2009 11:06 PM

    I would also add that it very likely could be latency. Many (not all, but many) gold selling companies are based over seas.

  3. BethE permalink
    June 5, 2009 11:09 PM

    If it’s a single person handling multiple bots across multiple servers, they may be moving X number of characters all at the same time all to and from the same place. Log on 20 orc spammers, run orc 1 this far. Run orc 2 this far, etc. Go back to orc 1 and repeat till all are in that server’s Org.

  4. Anea permalink
    June 5, 2009 11:16 PM

    Hm. Also a good point – makes perfect sense.

  5. June 6, 2009 12:02 AM

    One of my favorite WoW moments happened in the middle of Stormwind around Christmas (when all of us had a healthy supply of snowballs).A gold spammer started talking in trade and a good number of us started pounding him with snowballs. He tried to run (in the start and stop way you mentioned), but couldn’t get away.Hilarity

  6. June 6, 2009 1:45 AM

    This seems most likely to me, especially if they’re also farming bots. Those stops are probably them looking for nodes to mine/herb and mobs to kill.

  7. Anea permalink
    June 6, 2009 2:36 AM

    That DOES sound hilarious!

  8. June 8, 2009 2:23 PM

    Since I’m still primarily a keyboard runner (I admit it), I can’t type while running. I’ve had people on auto follow to me before and they are all, why do you keep stopping?!? Usually I’m trying to type something and needed the “w” key. He he. So I immediately thought, oh, he’s just typing instead of running. But perhaps not. :)

  9. Chaark permalink
    June 8, 2009 4:46 PM

    They might be Point & Clicking to run, with a low res screen setting (IE a huge UI & a low room to zoom out) this could explain the jerky running, :0)

  10. Anea permalink
    June 8, 2009 5:58 PM

    I’m a keyboard runner too – that’s why I love autorun so much. I don’t know when exactly I “figured it out” but I was so happy I did, because like you, I had to stop to type whatever I wanted to say.Now, my method of setting autorun and typing DOES have it’s hazards (if I make a typo, I have to delete back to fix it, which takes longer and potentially could kill me by running off cliffs or into mobs) but luckily I’m usually an accurate typist and type quickly enough that the text entry box is gone and I can “steer” before anything horrific happens :>

  11. June 9, 2009 5:05 PM

    That’s exactly the hazard of autorun – cliffs and mobs. Though sometimes, that adds to the fun.

Leave a Reply

