Skip to content

Sweet Spot Fail

June 10, 2009

The first time I read the quest description for the Terrorfish fishing daily, I almost didn’t do it.  That is how much I really dislike PvP.  However, after some quick research on Wowhead, I read that there is a sweet spot at the top of the waterfall if you fly up from Dragonblight.  The first time I did the quest, I flew up looking at my map every few milliseconds to make sure I was “on target” and wouldn’t be flagged.  It worked well, I got my fish and was out of there without being flagged.  I was pleased to have such an easy solution to my PvP/fishing “problem”.

However, it seems that all the subsequent times that this particular daily has come up, I’ve become lazy.  I guess I was spoiled by that huge run of Jewel Of The Sewers dailies, I don’t know.  But now when I fly up, I aim for the general area of the waterfall… I ease in to what I think was the place I was at last time… and then I’m flagged.

And of course, right after I’m flagged, I fly backwards like that would somehow undo it.

/facepalm

8 Comments leave one →
  1. June 10, 2009 2:08 PM

    “a fish both lethal and delicious” LOL!

  2. June 10, 2009 3:31 PM

    i thought about finding that sweet spot after you told me about it. but i’m so lazy! afterall, i’ve done the achievement for that.i like jewel of the sewers, since i can try my luck to get the giant rat.

  3. June 10, 2009 4:38 PM

    “right after I’m flagged, I fly backwards like that would somehow undo it.” :DI don’t mind the terrorfish quest. My least favorite is the frozen sea quest. it’s too far!

  4. June 10, 2009 4:44 PM

    I tried that daily once (without the waterfall trick – thanks for that little tid-bit BTW) and ended up getting ganked like a level 29 trying to turn in a Nestingway quest on a PVP server……I think that was when I tried out the Argent Tourney……and I guess flying backwards to get rid of a PVP flag is about as good as my message – check to see if I am PVP enabled from my character portrait…as though cycling PVP somehow turn off the flag…

  5. June 10, 2009 5:37 PM

    I generally use the flight path into Wintersgrasp, catch my fish, and then fly out. I’ve had little trouble. The nice thing about flying back out is that using a flight master removes your PvP status.I love that you tried to fly backwards to remove it, that’s the best part!! :D

  6. June 10, 2009 7:24 PM

    I just fly into the Alliance flightpoint. There’s a lake about 5 seconds away. If anyone ganks me, I wait about a minute for them to leave, then res and resume fishing. Hearth out when done.

  7. Anea permalink
    June 10, 2009 9:30 PM

    Lus does just what you do – fly into Wintergrasp and fish then just leave. He’s barely had any trouble while doing it, but he also doesn’t mind some PvP now and then either. I didn’t know that using a flight master to fly out removes your flag though! Useful.

  8. Trijem permalink
    June 12, 2009 11:14 AM

    When this quest is up there are at least 20 people fishing close to the flight-master in wg at any time. So far noone was stupid enough to gank one of those 20…I find this to be the most rewarding quest because you get all the mats for fishfeast and some gold on top of it.

Leave a Reply

