Skip to content

Monday Random

June 15, 2009

First Random: For some reason, this weekend I had a bout of indecision resulting in the loss of much gold. I don’t know WHY, but I got it in my head I didn’t like Anea’s hair/horn combo. So I changed it. Then I changed it in the morning. I changed it a few more times Saturday. Then I changed it twice again yesterday. It was a ridiculous waste of gold, I know. This barbershop thing is evil when in the hands of indecisive people who change their mind a lot. (I will also forever wish that I had given Anea some sort of skin color instead of Powder-white.)

Second Random: I don’t know how many of you Alliance players have really taken time to explore Dwarven houses and inns (or even how many of you Hordies with alts Alliance-side have paid attention to them.) They’re really quite well appointed. Rooms available for rent in inns have a quite spacious bed, shelf space, a table and chairs with plenty of bread and ale – even a fireplace! Tell me how many other races’ inns offer this amenity? There are also paintings adorning the walls of some rooms as well as a variety of taxidermy.

Even though that bed looks like it’s all made of stone, I bet they have super-soft feather beds under the coverlet. Dwarves are excellent hunters, surely they’ve downed several thousand geese to stuff feather beds with.

In addition to comfy rooms, they also offer a warm hearth and a fully stocked larder.
kitchen

After you’re done with your meal, the dishes will be stacked by the sink. A sink! Again, who else has a sink to do their dishes? The only other means I can think of is for the Blood Elves to enchant rags and sponges to do their dishes for them, just like they’ve enchanted brooms.

Dishes are done. Perhaps you’d like to sit a while and digest? This sitting area features a big bear rug and art of a scantily clad woman. (Who I am disappointed to see is not a dwarf.)

Maybe while you’re digesting you’d like to read a book that they have on this shelf. Or perhaps play with some dynamite. Whichever.

Who needs darts when you can throw axes at a target indoors?

Third Random: I don’t know if they have some sort of equivalent book in the Horde inn, but in the Alliance inn, in the room above the Beer Garden, there is a Common/Orcish Dictionary:

Fourth Random: I’ve run into Ironforge I don’t know how many times in my WoW career. Sure, I’ve noticed the humongous Dwarf standing at the entrance. I haven’t, however, ever really registered the cool design on his beard. Wouldn’t it be an interesting option to add to the barbershop? Some sort of beard design/tattoo/painting service. Perhaps you could have different designs airbrushed on? Maybe I’m off my rocker, but I think that it adds a nice flair to him.

Fifth Random:

21 Comments leave one →
  1. June 15, 2009 2:26 PM

    i wish there are more hair styles available!i want something ‘holy’ for my priest. i’m just not happy with whatever style / color she ends up with. :/

  2. June 15, 2009 2:48 PM

    Poor Tinypwner, cut down in his youth. It’s sad, really.*wipes away single tear*

  3. June 15, 2009 2:58 PM

    Have you SEEN the inn in Undercity? We have all those plush coffins to sleep in! Granted, there’s not much room for privacy unless you put the lid on, but seriously: We’re all bones and bits of rotted flesh anyways. What amount of privacy could we possibly ask for that would do any good?

  4. June 15, 2009 3:03 PM

    I love seeing the names of corpses. Especially when it’s names like “cantbekilled” or “nonstoppable” or some such. People should really think through some of these names. :D

  5. June 15, 2009 3:03 PM

    I actually think the whtie skin offers flexibilty in your choice of hair colors. My blue draenei just doesn’t have the options that my white one does. And Lyr is doomed to having black hair forever.

  6. June 15, 2009 3:04 PM

    I am embarrassed to say I have yet to peek into the inn in Undercity. I must do that on my next visit.

  7. June 15, 2009 3:06 PM

    @EcgricThe “I’m unstoppable” aspect of the name is inversely proportionate to the skill of the player. Therefore if you’re ever in PvP against someone named “Ohpleasedontkillme” … run.

  8. June 15, 2009 3:19 PM

    If you’ve been to the mailbox in UC, you’ve seen the inn. It’s that alcove behind the mailbox, the one with the coffins. That’s IT. Likewise the only inn in Orgrimmar is roughly the size of a walk-in closet, with no furniture, and six NPCs already in there, including one that’s killed on a regular basis for a quest.If you want a good inn for the Horde, you have to go to either Silvermoon (where the snotty belves won’t let you put your hooves up on their kicky throw pillows) or Brill (which smells…interesting).

  9. Tamarind permalink
    June 15, 2009 3:29 PM

    This is delightfully random and has made me very amused.As a confirmed hordie I scorn the decadent luxuries of your dorfish hostelries. Such ease of living will make you, um, short and hirstute.Besides, Silvermoon has manacrack dens. That’s real luxury.

  10. Tamarind permalink
    June 15, 2009 3:29 PM

    This is delightfully random and has made me very amused.As a confirmed hordie I scorn the decadent luxuries of your dorfish hostelries. Such ease of living will make you, um, short and hirstute.Besides, Silvermoon has manacrack dens. That’s real luxury.

  11. Anea permalink
    June 15, 2009 3:31 PM

    It really does offer more flexibility – they all look great, but they don’t look “Anea” – she’s always had black hair. I’ve tried to get used to other colors, but they just seem wrong. And actually, I think that white hair with the dark skin on Draenei looks quite fetching.

  12. June 15, 2009 4:01 PM

    Back when I was playing on Proto Dueg, I had my own little house in Ironforge near the temple. If I logged out in the city, I always made sure to go into that house, lie down on the bed and then exit out of the game from there. If I ever found someone else in my house, I would simply stand there and stare at them uncomfortably until they left.People need to respect my virtual property!

  13. June 15, 2009 4:05 PM

    @Linedan Aha. Then I have seen the inn. I need to inspect it more careful next time I’m there. :D

  14. June 15, 2009 4:06 PM

    LOL! I’ll be sure to do that.

  15. June 15, 2009 4:49 PM

    First Random: I have yet to get the achievement for a shave and haircut. I’m perfectly happy with what I have and I’d end up changing it back just for the achievement anyway.Fifth Random: I LMAO!!! :D

  16. June 15, 2009 4:49 PM

    First Random: I have yet to get the achievement for a shave and haircut. I’m perfectly happy with what I have and I’d end up changing it back just for the achievement anyway.Fifth Random: I LMAO!!! :D

  17. Skar and Co. permalink
    June 15, 2009 5:41 PM

    Random 1: I did change Skar’s haircolor strictly for the achievment (Went from red to blond-ish) everything else was too drastic and I could NOT change his cut as the flopping pony tail combined with the engineering goggles have been his trademark since he was a lvl whatever nublet wearing cloth +Stam, +Spi goggles, lol. Took me a while to change his hair back to red because I am so cheap, I could see how you could rack up quite the bill, but eventually I knoew i needed to get back to his “iconic” hair color.Random 2: I love the detail Blizz puts in, and this goes back to your what race you like best thread; and, in turn, my comments about architecture and its influence. It’s details like that make me WANT to play a certain race so I can be around those types of buildings ;)Skar and Co.Medivh

  18. June 15, 2009 7:34 PM

    That’s pretty much what I did for the achievement. Rilgon doesn’t need hair, he has enough bravado without it. :P

  19. Adlib permalink
    June 15, 2009 8:32 PM

    @Holy Dueg Omg, so did I! My house was just past where the barbershop currently is on the way to the mage area (I forget what it’s called). I would do the same thing during TBC on my mage. That is too funny.

  20. Anea permalink
    June 16, 2009 1:16 AM

    My Blood Elf rogue will never change her hair. I’m not even sure if she changed it for the achievement or if she’s never gotten it. There’s no way she’d be the same person to me if I changed it.

  21. June 17, 2009 3:28 PM

    I am not where I can get to the game right now, but there is a dictionary in the Filthy Animal Inn, that has some amusing translations. Of course, I can’t remember right now, what was said, only that it is funny.

Leave a Reply

