Skip to content

From paladin to paladin

June 17, 2009

Check out the purple pantsYesterday, I finally got all the mats required for the pally quest The Test of Righteousness, which rewards you with an awesome mace, Verigan’s Fist. In the bank, I had mats waiting to put Crusader on it. I was quite excited – my little pally was growing up.

I advertised in trade for quite a while before someone sent a tell for me to meet them. As I always do, I shift-click to see who/where they are. It was a paladin in Stormwind. I port right over and put my weapon in the window while wondering just how much one tips for something like this. I take a guess and throw gold in the window and he sends a tell. No money.

Well, that’s nice of him! I /thank and /salute him and as I take off, he sends this:

From paladin to paladin, grats on the Fist.

That. Was really. Cool.

It’s not often in WoW anymore that you can expect people to treat you as another person, especially when it concerns trade and the exchange of gold. Usually people are only out to make themselves a pretty copper and couldn’t care less about the person behind any other character. This came right on the heels of a large trade discussion regarding “tips” vs. “demanded fees” in return for portals or items crafted, (but that’s a whole other post) so I appreciated that he didn’t demand a “tip” – or even more gold than I offered him in the first place.

And it’s not just that I didn’t have to tip – I’m more than happy to tip people who help me out. It’s that he recognized the work that I did to get the mace and understood that this was a milestone for a baby pally and voiced it to me.

Thanks, Ekthelion, you really made my night.

6 Comments leave one →
  1. June 17, 2009 11:28 AM

    That was a really nice gesture by the other paladin. And your paladin looks awesome wielding that mace.

  2. Adlib permalink
    June 17, 2009 12:35 PM

    Very Cool! I love it when people are so unexpectedly nice that it blows you away. I actually am currently working on a female dwarf paladin too, but my computer has had issues so once I get those fixed, I’ll be back to leveling her!Grats on the mace too!

  3. Tamarind permalink
    June 17, 2009 12:51 PM

    It’s stories like this that affirm (hmm, affirm implies it was firm to begin with) my faith in WoW and humanity.And, yes, congrats on the Fist (wonderful name for a weapon, by the way).

  4. June 17, 2009 5:03 PM

    Ahh congrats on the weapon, it’s something my 26 pally hasn’t got yet, I don’t know if I will now…It’s awesome when you actually have *good* exchanges with other people in the game isn’t it? :)

  5. June 17, 2009 8:11 PM

    Congrats on your upgrade! As an Enchanter, I never ask for a tip when the person has the mats and is willing to travel to wherever I am.I will advertise my high-end/rare enchants (like Mongoose) for a price, but if someone approaches me when I’m not advertising, I forgo the “fee.”

  6. June 17, 2009 11:35 PM

    grats on the new mace and running into a cool guy. i hope you keep her ret when she’s 80.

Leave a Reply

