Skip to content

WoW: shameful?

June 25, 2009

Unrelated to today’s subject:

purpleThe baby pally is working her way ever closer to 40.  In preparation for this event, I have stockpiled a new weapon and some plate armor for her to put on the minute she turns 40 (and thus avoid the mail to plate transition that took 10 levels on my other pally.)  While I am happy that she’ll be able to wear plate and bash slice things harder, I’m sad that I will have to get rid of her purple outfit.

I first learned about the Dreamsinger Legguards way back when I had my very first pally.  My human pally.  She was friends with a Night Elf hunter who spent all his playing time running battlegrounds to get the Grand Marshal title and playing the AH.  That’s all he ever did – all day, every day.  He linked these to me as a joke initially (“Who would want to wear purple pants?”) but that was a split second after I had typed “I look so awesome in these!!!” so they were bought and the pally wore them.  Probably for entirely too long.)  Every pally I have played since has managed to snag those and wear them.  My dorf is the only one to have a matching shirt though.

Today’s subject:

Are you ashamed that you play WoW?

This thought randomly came to me (as all my thoughts do) out of nowhere, but of course have roots elsewhere.  (Proving that there is a method to my madness, you non-believers!)  I have a pretty small social circle IRL, and that social circle knows I play WoW.  They don’t all play (none of them do, in fact) but they know I play.  So, while we were up in Colorado at my parent’s house, I felt comfortable asking Lus a question about the game while we were all in the same room – thought nothing of it.  If we’re in the store and some question comes to me about how2pally, I’ll ask him.

Are you comfortable talking about Warcraft in a social setting? And more in particular, where people are within earshot?  I don’t mean shout it from the rooftops but overhearing other people’s conversations can’t be helped when you’re at the store or even at a restaurant.  Restaurants in particular make me aware that I’m talking about something that others would consider… well, stupid and a waste of time, not to mention juvenile.  It doesn’t stop me from talking about it, of course – when will I ever see these people again?  But I do wonder what they think when they hear Lus telling me a story about how a “lock ganked the hunter and then camped his corpse.”  How would that sound to the uninitiated?

But furthermore, odd-sounding subject matter out of context happens all the time – what I’m getting at is more that people would know you play.  Are you ok with that? Do you wear a Horde hoodie proudly or do you keep any and all evidence that you play secret?  Or are you not hyper-aware of it and if you do happen to wear a Draenei shirt out of the house, you think nothing of it?

To bring it to more of a point: if directly asked if you play the game, will you say yes? If you have any socially accepted hobbies, people will talk to you about them and ask your opinion on something, check your progress or gear, depending on what you do.  Cycling, golfing, archery, quilting, rockclimbing, pottery, writing poetry, building models, sitting on your ass and watching TV…  no one thinks twice about these.  Gaming, on the other hand?  Stigma.

Now, I personally haven’t been asked by a random person if I played the game.  But if I did, I wouldn’t have a problem saying that I did.  Chances will be that it’s some truly random person from who-knows-where that I will never see again, so if they are the sort of person to mock me for it, meh.  However, it’s far more likely that the person asking me if I played the game would know about the game because of a positive connection to WoW and would probably follow up their “Do you play?” question with “Really?  What class/server?”

21 Comments leave one →
  1. June 25, 2009 1:31 PM

    No shame, whatsoever. I love WoW, I’ve been playing it for so long it’s a part of my life. My best friend and her husband play, too, or at least they use to. We would sit for hours in a restaurant or wherever and talk about raiding or characters. I don’t have an issue with it. We don’t so much anymore, as they’ve quit for the most part, but we still talk about it some.My family and friends all know I play. I’ve been asked and told people that I do. I write a blog about it, which is linked to my personal blog. I enjoy it, no shame in that.Of course, I’m also a table-top, pen and paper gamer. I play D&D and a whole host of other role playing games. I’ve been a “gamer” for years… and years… lol.This is a great question! I simply can’t imagine anyone being ashamed about it.

  2. June 25, 2009 2:05 PM

    If asked about it, I won’t lie. There’s simply no sense in it. But that’s not to say I go out of my way to profess my love for all things Blizzard to any Tom, Dick & Harry walking down the street. This isn’t due to me being ashamed about it, but rather for the same reasons I don’t go spouting off to those same people what my actual job is: It doesn’t add anything to anyone’s well-being. *grin*

  3. June 25, 2009 2:13 PM

    I talk about WoW all the time at work. Makes for some great stories at lunch!(It also helps that most of my RL friends play.)

  4. June 25, 2009 2:18 PM

    I squirm about it.I’m like this with all geekish things – back when I was at High School (not all that long ago), my friends would be talking loudly on the way into town at lunch, about things even -I- found to be stupid and geeky, and I’d just roll my eyes and be embarrassed about the whole thing.I don’t like to talk about it within earshot of strangers – people who I’ll probably never see again in my life, because of a feeling that they’ll judge me on that, which is totally stupid.Only a relatively small amount of people know that I play, because I don’t want people to know I do, given the (totally illogical) response I’ve had from others.Example – though it wasn’t directed at me, it was at a friend who does play, when we were on a night out for a friends birthday, and she was told by another one of the girls there that “Oh, so you play WoW? No offence or anything, but that’s just sad – do you even have a social life?” which, given we were on a night out at the pub, was a patently ridiculous thing to say – obviously she has a social life!So, people can be really nasty about the whole thing, forming these ridiculous stereotypes that most certainly don’t fit everyone who plays. So I don’t tell people I play – in part, yes, I am ashamed, but it’s mostly because I don’t want to be treated like some sort of lesser being just because my hobby isn’t “socially acceptable”, like, oh, watching TV is. >.>

  5. June 25, 2009 2:28 PM

    I’ve no shame in telling people I play, though I do think I find myself in the role of the apologist. (Yes, it can be addictive, butit’snotasbadasyou’veheardDON’TJUDGEMEEEEE!)Worst is when I’m in the same room with one other person that plays and several people who aren’t, since all their eyes glaze over. But then, I can manage that by talking about art aesthetics or technology/curriculum integration so I guess I should be used to it by now.

  6. Adlib permalink
    June 25, 2009 2:42 PM

    Oh I gladly talk about it. My husband & I play, and we constantly talk about it when we are at restaurants. We laugh at how funny we must sound to people at other tables. Oh, and most of my husband’s casual/non-work wardrobe is WoW shirts.Just last night I was talking to my best friend about it since we saw the Mountain Dew/WoW commercial, but she said me and my husband are the only ones who she knows that play it (I think she knows more but isn’t aware of it).A lot of times, when I get my computer fixed at a repair shop, the repair guys will see WoW-related stuff on the desktop and ask what class/server I play. Once, when I was stopping to pick up my veil for my wedding, one guy stopped my then-fiance (who was wearing his hunter shirt) and asked about where he played and if I played too. (Sadly, his fiance did not.)My coworkers like to ask me about it sometimes, and they think the gamespeak I use is funny, but they laugh about it in a nice way. It’s a hobby of mine, so that’s exactly how I talk about it since I enjoy it!@Faulsey – What a terrible thing for that girl to say! She started out with “no offense” and specifically leveled an insult at the other girl. Sad!

  7. MartyrdHavok permalink
    June 25, 2009 3:13 PM

    You know, that reminds me of being in WallyWorld. My husband works nightshift there, so we get a lot of our stuff through there. Me and two of the Electronics salesmen (boys to me, I’m old enough to be looked at strange that *I’m* the gamer and have a teenage son) talked for about 30 minutes about WoW when I came in to buy my new card. They checked out other people, my husband and son walked off, but still we chatted animatedly. I don’t care if I get weird looks about my gaming. I might not have the RL gear, but I’ll chat loud and proud about it. I even bore my husband with details and he gamely listens on *chuckles* so does my ‘sister’ Kitty.

  8. Skar and Co. permalink
    June 25, 2009 3:42 PM

    SWMBO (She Who Must Be Obeyed) tolerates my stories when in public shopping, eating out, et cetera. I have been still unsuccessful in getting her to play :(A couple co workers also play, they were in fact the reason I started, and we work for a large, corporate entity currently going through Chapter 11 bankrputcy (the one NOT being sold to Fiat).So imagine the looks we get riding in an elevator for 7 floors with topics such as:”I’m still grinding jousting to get to the 75 pet achievement, I should do a cost – benefit analysis of just spending the gold on the AH or the gold I will end up with grinding the seals””I totally re-gemmed to hit cap myself and re-specced out of Careful Aim and into Improved Hunter’s Mark after they bummped it to 500 AP.””I know, I know you hate my wasp. Fine since you are tanking I’ll bring my wolf.””I cannot believe I have to grind all factions to exalted again. why did I make my Jewel Crafter an alt and not my main.””These stupid achievements are killing my alts, it’s like I have a main, Blizz is killing me!”In addition I proudly own and wear in public:1) Molten Core shirt from Jinx featuring the classic Motley Crue font.2) A “Carpe DM” shirt a friend bought me at convention.3) My most recent Father’s day present, a shirt from PvPonline webcomic:http://www.pvpstuff.com/binwintee.htmlAll. Pure. Win.Letting my geek flag proudly fly even as I approach 40,Skarlarth and Co.Medivh

  9. Jack permalink
    June 25, 2009 4:23 PM

    I’m totally with Skar. My wife tolerates my gaming. Mostly because out kids love it and it provides a connection point for us to bond over. But in public, at home, at work, wherever . . . if I’m with people who play, we talk WoW, D&D, Magic whatever game we happen to all play.I bet there are people who overhear us and think we’re dorks. I have yet to run into a situation where their opinions matters. At all.

  10. June 25, 2009 4:27 PM

    I’ve never had a problem talking about the game, and I’ve certainly never been ashamed to be a gamer.I basically look at it this way; in the terms of my hobbies, “the people who mind don’t matter, and the people who matter don’t mind.” If someone has a problem with the way I spend my free time, then they have a problem with liking me for who I am. I won’t waste my time on them.

  11. Rose permalink
    June 25, 2009 5:06 PM

    No, not ashamed at all. I’ve always hated, however, the way other people (on SOMEONE’S forums -.-) always commented that wow is so horrible because it’s so addicting and they’re literally trying to make you feel bad for it. Get over yourself is what I’ve always wanted to tell them. To each their own. I freaking love wow.

  12. Kayeri permalink
    June 25, 2009 5:24 PM

    Yes, I would say I play, I have one of the custom guild t-shirts with my character on it, too. :) It doesnt bother me in the least to talk about it, but I dont dwell on it if there is no interest from the person I’m speaking with, either. :) If it’s someone who plays… oh, you can go on forever! :)

  13. June 25, 2009 6:25 PM

    No, I’m not ashamed about playing WoW, mostly because I do not care what other people think about me. In fact one day last year all of my friends who played (and me) got Horde sweatshirts and wore them to school just because we could.

  14. June 26, 2009 1:00 AM

    I was formulating my comment then realized… I’m better off answering in a post! … at least now I know what I’ll write tonight ;P

  15. June 26, 2009 1:00 AM

    I was formulating my comment then realized… I’m better off answering in a post! … at least now I know what I’ll write tonight ;P

  16. Noelle permalink
    June 26, 2009 2:40 AM

    I’m not ashamed at all. It has never really occured to me to feel ashamed. I have thought that other people might think I’m odd. But I also know that the people I work with don’t play computer games. They’re the type that go home and continue working on the day’s work from home. Seeing as how I think THEY should be ASHAMED about THAT…well, there you go. It’s all perspective.I’ve played computer games of various types since I was about 8. That’s over 25 years. My whole family plays. My mom will sit for hours building a house on Sims 3. I have a sister, brother, uncle, and cousins who play PC games of some sort. It’s what we do. I figure my hubby is lucky he found a girl gamer to share his interests.I look at it this way. It’s my hobby. It’s not my only hobby. I work out, cook, shop, spend time with family, scrapbook, blog, podcast, etc. I’m entitled to my interests. So if someone else thinks they’re weird, that’s their problem not mine. And I will sit in the middle of a restaurant and ask Hubby what happened in his raid the night before, and be oblivious for any odd looks we might get as we discuss. :)

  17. June 26, 2009 12:02 PM

    […] by Syrana on Jun.26, 2009, under World of Warcraft Anea of Holy Discipline poses the question: […]

  18. June 26, 2009 1:06 PM

    It’s funny. I’m not ashamed of it, but my other social group practically ostracizes you for being a WoW gamer. This, coming from LARP geeks! Some of my IRL friends play, some don’t, but I remember going to a Vamp larp and just mentioning something to the husband (who also plays) about game and I got some of the WEIRDEST looks from people, like “OMG YOU PLAY WOW WHY WOULD YOU WASTE THE TIME?!?!?!”I had to just look back and laugh at them. Here we are, LARPING for god’s sake, and they came at me with the ‘tude that WoW was bad? Especially when most of them LARP excessively.So, in short, you’ll be surprised where the Anti-WoW feelings can come from, but I don’t care. It’s fun to find another player in the mix of the crowd, because there’s so MANY you can just start chatting shop with. Within a few questions you can gauge just what kind of player they are (raider, PvP’r, uber casual, etc). My co-worker at the library plays! And he’s horde so we butt heads a lot. But it’s fun to confuse the normals. XD

  19. June 28, 2009 4:12 PM

    Of course there is no shame. But then again most of my RL friends play. Occasionally we hear some people in the cafeteria at work talking about it too. I’m pretty sure people walking by are really confused, or horrified, especially if we’re talking about anything that sounds like killing some people.I think one person did ask me directly once. I mentioned that I liked video games and he asked me. Of course he played too, so it was all good.

  20. Moopocalypse permalink
    June 30, 2009 7:02 PM

    I personally do keep i a secret that I play. I don’t know why I am ashamed of it, I just am. My friends where I live do not play, but where I moved here from, all of them play, so I can’t really relate to anybody here about my socially “wrong” hobby.

Leave a Reply

