Skip to content

Uther’s Tomb

August 14, 2009

Way back when I was playing my first pally ever, a human, I had a warrior friend named Malandorn.  It was so long ago the details are a little fuzzy to me, but I believe that we just randomly started talking to each other in Stormwind – we had run into each other and saw the guild tags were the same.  I believe I was in my 40s, but he was near to 60 (an unobtainable level, in my mind – I had only been playing less than a year at that point) and after chats off and on for several days (weeks?) he decided to give me a tour of Azeroth.

We went many places, but I remember two in particular.  One was the pretty waterfall off The Forgotten Coast in Feralas and the other was Uther’s Tomb.

As we approached the tomb, he mentioned that he thought I would like to see it, since I was a paladin.  My noobness was such that I didn’t even know what lore was or why this Uther person would be important to me.  I’m sure that the loremaster in him was quite offended, but Malandorn patiently explained to me who Uther the Lightbringer was.  I was quite touched that he would take me to this out-of-the-way place, knowing it would have significance for my character.  We both kneeled in front of the statue and he took a screenshot (which I cannot find for the life of me, which saddens me quite a bit) but ever since, whenever I first enter the Plaguelands on any character, I go and find Uther and kneel.

Uther's Tomb
Aisiel made her way there a few days ago and not only did I feel Uther’s presence there, I felt Malandorn’s as well.

I re-wrote this paragraph many times and wasn’t able to write what I wanted eloquently.  Malandorn, if you do read this, I remember your friendship and I hope things are well with you.

6 Comments leave one →
  1. August 14, 2009 9:07 PM

    The loremaster in me has always made sure to stop and pray at Uther’s Tomb (whether on an RP server or not). I’m glad I’m not the only one. :)I think, though, that when Leyl (my new Draenei paladin) stops to pray, I’ll have to make sure to say a prayer for those no longer in the game with us as well. Thanks for adding something new to an old ritual. :)

  2. August 14, 2009 9:23 PM

    I’ve lurked here for a bit, catching an update every once in a while. Today, I happened to catch this update.I must say, it touched a bit of my heart I haven’t accessed in a long time… the nostalgic part of playing the game.That’s a beautiful thing you do, and you made me cry remembering all the wonderful people and the wonderful memories I’ve made with those folks through my time prancing around Azeroth. :)Thank you. :)

  3. August 14, 2009 10:30 PM

    This is a beautiful post. I was really moved by it.Here’s to friends who’ve moved on from Azeroth, but not from our hearts.

  4. A priest permalink
    August 19, 2009 7:01 AM

    I understand this post so well… i was new on a server with my priest and i meet this warrior… the best tank i have ever see, in the top guild there and the best guy ever :P… ideea is that he had the patience to lvl up with me entire way till 80 (from 70). We never did a quest solo… everyting was done in 2 and even dinged exacly in same second 80. He did a print screen to it… i was to “happy face” to remember doing that. Now he is not playing this game anymore but… if he read this by any chance, i know he will know who i am and about what i am talking about.

  5. Railena permalink
    August 20, 2009 2:06 PM

    A very touching post that I’m sure will have many who can relate to it, as even I do myself. It is a great thing that we can make such wonderful connections with people through this game, connections that we charish and are carried with us as we continue in our endevors even after that person or even group of people have gone down a seperate path.I find the lore of the World of Warcraft deeply enthralling and love to take the time to read through it and even take part in it, given the chance. Uther the Lightbringer was always one of my favor heros as he was completely devout to his duty. I played through the orginal Warcraft games and remember how heartbreaking it was when his prime student turned against him, causing Uther to give his life in the attempt to save the people from the mad man Arthas had become. I also remember the first time I saw the Tomb in the Plaguelands and feeling amazed that something of its nature had been placed here, that the creators of WOW had taken a moment to design something to honor the fallen hero that those who knew the lore could SEE. While I’ve not had my toons kneel before the statue, I have stood there many a time and smiled, feeling that tingle of excitement I get everytime I get to run into the old lore of the game.

  6. August 25, 2009 9:28 PM

    I had to smile, for i also visit the tomb often when i am around there and i also kneel. I play in a pvp realm, and i am not a rp-er, still, i do it…Ethorin of Stormwind (Dalvengyr US)

Leave a Reply

