Skip to content

Lysel & the Big Bad RP

October 28, 2009

I had my first big “RP experience” last night.  The only bit of RP that my little rogue had come upon thus far was a Gnome asking for help on a quest way back in the starting area – other than that, it was just leveling as usual.  Arrens had tipped me off to a bit of a party that was going to be held last night, so I was pretty excited, since I was going to see RPers in their natural environment.  I was actually a little late so I had to run to the Harbor then RP-walked[1. Is THAT the correct use of that term?] down to the party.  I actually was so nervous I stealthed in (which of course worked very well in a group that was largely about 70 levels higher than I was) but it gave me a chance to check everyone out and listen for a bit.

The first thing that I thought was, “I am the only newb with a character history in their MyRP!”  *deletes history*  Apparently none of the cool kids reveal such personal information where just any schmuck rogue can access it.  I was also one of the few who didn’t have a personal description.  I guess I just haven’t reached that point though – I think I need to get more acquainted with Lysel before that comes.  I know I could write one for Anea, but we’ve known each other for a long time.

The second thing that occurred to me a split second after the first realization was that I needed a chat mod.  Badly.  If I have intentions of playing more on Feathermoon (and I do) then I’ll need to get out of Bare Minimum Mod Mode.  In the fruitless pursuit of better framerates, I have eliminated all but three mods for use with Lysel, but if there is going to be such a prodigious amount of conversation going on around me, I need to be able to expand the chat window to a much larger size and color channels for ease of tracking.  Prat, I had never missed you more.

(I also learned that layering can look good!  One elf there had on a dress/shirt/pants combo that, at first glance, looked like a dress I had never seen before until I inspected her.  New clothing options opened up!)

All things considered, it was a very awesome night and I heard great stories from several characters – Anna’s story of The Longest Night in particular was a moving story of the horrible zombie invasion of last year that sent Anea into hiding.  Hearing all the stories made the zombie infestation much more than a headache in Goldshire – I got to see what it was like through the eyes of people who had lived through it.

However, the shadow that fell over the event (purely of my making) was that I was so uncomfortable and unsure of myself.  I would have been content to just sit over by a tree all night then leave quietly, but Aely came over to say hi and make sure I knew there were drinks and cupcakes to be had.[2. I was too nervous to ask for any, which is too bad – Lysel loves sweets!]  As I saw her walking up to me, all I could say was, “Oh no, oh no, oh no, oh no, oh no!” but at least I responded.  Awkwardly.  Arrens and I conversed for a minute, then he introduced me to a few people and I was asked questions I didn’t know the answer to and stood in silence after answering (which silence lasted approximately half a lifetime, as all silences do when you are uncomfortable.)  I did my sad little emotes: Lysel smoothes down her dress nervously. How much more exciting can you get?!

Bottom line: I didn’t give myself a chance to enjoy it.  I was so worried about living up to the awesome-osity of Naithin‘s first Feathermoon encounter with Anna, Arrens & Crew that any tips for being the beginning RPer that I’d read over the last few months just flew right out of my head.  I couldn’t think of a thing to say, not only because this was my first time, but because the big names around me were quite daunting.  As if Anna and Arrens weren’t enough, Bricu was there and so was Beltar, even though the name didn’t click until this morning, so I didn’t say hi.  (It was probably best for my nerves.)  I made a foray with one character about something they did earlier in the evening, but it felt more like prying than conversation.  I have a suspicion that my discomfort was also because I wasn’t really speaking as Lysel most of the time so much as I was speaking as I might if I were at a party with people I didn’t know – very conscious of being polite and saying the right thing and uncomfortable.  That’s what it felt like.

Having come to that realization, it made me think that perhaps Lysel isn’t as nice as I may have thought (throughout the night I had seen references to people’s class and certain classes acting a certain way) and wondered how I might work that in to Lysel’s story as a rogue.  She’s a rogue!  I don’t need to be a stereotype, but Lysel’s not the brewer’s sweet daughter serving you cheese with your beer, either.  So, I thought of a bit of story to go along with what happened last night and perhaps I will post it, if it will not offend The Readership.


14 Comments leave one →
  1. October 28, 2009 2:51 PM

    /wavesThat’s an awfully big event to have as your introduction to Feathermoon RP! (This is Threnn, by the way. She’s on Lysel’s left in your screenshot :) )Most RP nights aren’t quite so busy, even though they can get chatspammy on occasion, too, when there are a lot of people in the Pig. But I’d say you did just fine.Hope you come back for more!

  2. October 28, 2009 2:51 PM

    1.) Yes, that’s the correct term. Or RP stroll. Whichever.2.) Nervousness is to be expected. This was a BIG event and probably not the ideal place to cut one’s RP chops. However! You did just fine. I loved conversing with you and Fallah about the school, explaining the courses and what have you. You really, truly did an excellent job. And I hope there’s many, many more fun times to be had. :D

  3. October 28, 2009 3:06 PM

    A few things! Yes, that is the correct use of “RP Walk”! Aely has about 40 cupcakes left over. If Lysel would like a less stressful interaction with her looking less like Imposing Argent Dawn Paladin and more like Scruffy Redhead in Jeans, I’m happy to deliver a box of cupcakes :DAnd third – introducing yourself for the first time at a big event like we had last night is /hard/. Really super hard – because there are SO many people and they’re all doing their own thing… but not really and they’re mingling ’cause they know each other and everyone’s chat logs are so overflowing we miss stuff. Naithin’s example was an easier one – there were maaaaaybe 10 people in the Pig? – and just that. An example. I thought you did fine last night. You chatted with a few people, and just kinda hung with the crowd – something that is /totally OK/ with a big group.And I was very glad you were there :) I hope you give RP another shot in a less overwhelming situation!

  4. October 28, 2009 3:07 PM

    You were fine! It’s perfectly OK and natural to feel overwhelmed in a situation like that, be it in roleplay or real life. Don’t worry about accents, don’t worry about “big names,” don’t worry about whether you think you’re going to embarass yourself, because you won’t. Just roll with it, keep it simple, and relax!.-= Linedan´s last blog ..<a href="http://panzercow.wordpress.com/2009/10/27/the-zombiepocalypse-one-year-on/“ rel=”nofollow”>The Zombiepocalypse, One Year On =-.

  5. Adlib permalink
    October 28, 2009 3:33 PM

    Yes, please do share the story you came up with! (I play on a PvE server, but I’m really interested in RP. Even posted in the RP forums at the official site once!)

  6. October 29, 2009 1:26 AM

    I’m sorry I missed it :( But as everyone else said, attending a large gathering is a bit nerve wracking for your first time… just like it can be in real life.One thing I used to (and sometimes still) worry about is not responding fast enough, especially since there can be a lot to keep track of between emotes and conversation. But, if you want to have more time to think about responses while you are familiarizing yourself with Lysel… you know where the forum is! ;)

  7. October 29, 2009 5:07 AM

    Heya! Just wanted to say for next time? Shaurria the kitty druid is totally safe, and loves ear rubs. >.>About the RSP thing, some mods don’t let you put in a history, only the description. FlagRSP is one of those, iirc. I use MyRolePlay, which does let you add a history, but I don’t usually put one in ’cause not everyone can read it. /shrugAnd go ahead and post your story! It’s your blog after all..-= Sarai´s last blog ..<a href="http://spiritbond.blogspot.com/2009/10/shaurria-is-happy-again.html“ rel=”nofollow”>Shaurria is happy again… =-.

  8. October 29, 2009 5:07 AM

    Heya! Just wanted to say for next time? Shaurria the kitty druid is totally safe, and loves ear rubs. >.>About the RSP thing, some mods don’t let you put in a history, only the description. FlagRSP is one of those, iirc. I use MyRolePlay, which does let you add a history, but I don’t usually put one in ’cause not everyone can read it. /shrugAnd go ahead and post your story! It’s your blog after all..-= Sarai´s last blog ..<a href="http://spiritbond.blogspot.com/2009/10/shaurria-is-happy-again.html“ rel=”nofollow”>Shaurria is happy again… =-.

  9. October 29, 2009 7:41 AM

    @Sarai: Hey! Next time I’ll know that ear rubs are ok – I wasn’t quite sure of the etiquette for druids in cat form >.> Glad to connect bloggers with faces I saw there :)

  10. October 30, 2009 2:19 AM

    As far as etiquette, if you’re not sure you can always ask the druid. >.>Shaur is a bit… special. Just think of her as a very large, intelligent housecat..-= Sarai´s last blog ..<a href="http://spiritbond.blogspot.com/2009/10/shaurria-is-happy-again.html“ rel=”nofollow”>Shaurria is happy again… =-.

  11. October 30, 2009 2:19 AM

    As far as etiquette, if you’re not sure you can always ask the druid. >.>Shaur is a bit… special. Just think of her as a very large, intelligent housecat..-= Sarai´s last blog ..<a href="http://spiritbond.blogspot.com/2009/10/shaurria-is-happy-again.html“ rel=”nofollow”>Shaurria is happy again… =-.

  12. November 7, 2009 5:27 PM

    I’m in your same boat, a complete RP noob. I still haven’t officially had an RP experience. I feel like I need a toon that I feel comfortable with first, still trying to figure that out. But I’ll figure something out soon, I hope..-= Aoirselvar´s last blog ..<a href="http://www.casualhuntering.com/?p=372“ rel=”nofollow”>Not Dead Yet =-.

  13. November 7, 2009 5:27 PM

    I’m in your same boat, a complete RP noob. I still haven’t officially had an RP experience. I feel like I need a toon that I feel comfortable with first, still trying to figure that out. But I’ll figure something out soon, I hope..-= Aoirselvar´s last blog ..<a href="http://www.casualhuntering.com/?p=372“ rel=”nofollow”>Not Dead Yet =-.

  14. November 7, 2009 6:04 PM

    I hope that you can find one you’re comfortable with – I guess you could always roll a Dwarf, since you know you’re comfortable with them, right? That way you’ll get to experience the RP and not feel (too) paranoid :)

Leave a Reply

