Skip to content

Willpower

November 3, 2009

I think that pretty much all of us would agree that this game is about enjoyment.  We play this game for pleasure, for leisure, for killing of (insert opposite faction’s race here).  I know that I’m certainly an advocate of “play what makes you happy”.  But as I was reviewing the characters/classes that I’ve been playing recently it made me think… do we will ourselves to enjoy, sometimes?

One thing that’s been made clear to me, through my own revelations but then clarified by Professor Beej‘s article “Why Play a Healer?” – I am a healer.  I enjoy healing.  I like standing in the back and bringing you back from the brink of death.  I’ve tried the tanking thing – no.  I’ve done the DPS thing – meh.  Healing really is where it’s at.

But if you’ll read my “About” page, you’ll see that my first 70 was a rogue.  A rogue!  Man, I thought I was hot stuff with my Blood Elf rogue named Sin, stabbing things with the best of them.  The journey there wasn’t smooth, though.  I had of course tried many classes by that point (resulting in lots of characters left by the wayside, none higher in level than 46) but I had made the decision that I wanted a rogue and  I was going to have a rogue.  I believe the number of “tries” before things clicked was five.  Five times(!) I had to try to “do it rite” and finally I did.  But it really was a conscious decision and I beat my head against a wall until it worked.

My other example of willpower taking precedence was my warrior.  I had to try more times than the rogue – I’ve told poor Linedan I don’t know how many times, “I’m starting my prot warrior!  Again!” but it just never (ever) worked.  To be fair, it probably was just that I was making myself level Prot, ’cause that’s what all the awesome tanks do, right?  Once I gave Arms a try, things went quite swimmingly.  But it was pretty hard to get there.

Why do I do that?  Hell if I know.  I do know that I wanted a break from being squishy and wanted to smash things, but why didn’t I just play a paladin?  I already knew that I could play them well and I also had a resident paladin to bother ask when I had questions!  But instead I choose classes that I don’t understand and that gave me headaches to play.

Am I the only one to do this?  I’d like to think that we all have mains that we really truly enjoy, when you get right down to it, but do we become masochists at some point in our gameplay?

3 Comments leave one →
  1. November 3, 2009 2:56 PM

    I generally do it because I see a “need” that I could fill by rolling a certain class/spec. I like playing the game and can have fun with just about anything (save warrior and priest), so it doesn’t bother me to roll up something that other people don’t generally find enjoyable. But when it really comes down to it, if I don’t like the character then it’s not going to go very far. I might get them up into their twenties or thirties, but that’s about where it will all end for that toon.I’m sure I’ll keep right on doing it more and more as I go along, but that’s generally the reason why – a desire to help the group or fit in better with the team. In the end, it’s all social..-= Psynister´s last blog ..<a href="http://psynister.wordpress.com/2009/10/29/mage-leveling-part-ii-21-39/“ rel=”nofollow”>Mage Leveling Part II: 21-39 =-.

  2. November 3, 2009 2:57 PM

    My very first serious character, Shawndra, I rolled to fulfill needs in the guild. Playing a tank is not often my first choice, or my favorite, but sometimes I make myself do it “for the team”. Right now I am dusting her off for the trip to 80, and I am enjoying her. I’m hoping that she is not often needed to tank, or I may run away screaming to my healer/shadow priest again :).-= Shawndra´s last blog ..<a href="http://feedproxy.google.com/~r/EscapistScrawl/~3/ryvS7SEvBe8/shawndra-returns.html“ rel=”nofollow”>Shawndra Returns! =-.

  3. November 3, 2009 3:05 PM

    Of course, just as an addendum, I don’t care what Pike says – leveling up resto is masochism. :P@Psynister: It does make good blog fodder. I’ll probably end up blogging about my shaman a lot since I’m on that downhill slide towards Outland (I’m really impatient to walk through the portal again).I also definitely agree sometimes the challenge just doesn’t pan out, but it does give us something new and different. Like my rogue, who I was originally planning to level solely through battlegrounds. It took me all of 2 levels of WSG to realize that’s not gonna cut it. (Especially since I need her 60+ pronto for a feat of strength for my main…).-= Stop´s last blog ..<a href="http://feedproxy.google.com/~r/TheStoppableForce/~3/u7uiLg7ikYI/“ rel=”nofollow”>Gaming vs. Cancer: Sidhe Devils present “Raid for the Cure” =-.

Leave a Reply

