Skip to content

Willpower

November 3, 2009

I think that pretty much all of us would agree that this game is about enjoyment.  We play this game for pleasure, for leisure, for killing of (insert opposite faction’s race here).  I know that I’m certainly an advocate of “play what makes you happy”.  But as I was reviewing the characters/classes that I’ve been playing recently it made me think… do we will ourselves to enjoy, sometimes?

One thing that’s been made clear to me, through my own revelations but then clarified by Professor Beej‘s article “Why Play a Healer?” – I am a healer.  I enjoy healing.  I like standing in the back and bringing you back from the brink of death.  I’ve tried the tanking thing – no.  I’ve done the DPS thing – meh.  Healing really is where it’s at.

But if you’ll read my “About” page, you’ll see that my first 70 was a rogue.  A rogue!  Man, I thought I was hot stuff with my Blood Elf rogue named Sin, stabbing things with the best of them.  The journey there wasn’t smooth, though.  I had of course tried many classes by that point (resulting in lots of characters left by the wayside, none higher in level than 46) but I had made the decision that I wanted a rogue and  I was going to have a rogue.  I believe the number of “tries” before things clicked was five.  Five times(!) I had to try to “do it rite” and finally I did.  But it really was a conscious decision and I beat my head against a wall until it worked.

My other example of willpower taking precedence was my warrior.  I had to try more times than the rogue – I’ve told poor Linedan I don’t know how many times, “I’m starting my prot warrior!  Again!” but it just never (ever) worked.  To be fair, it probably was just that I was making myself level Prot, ’cause that’s what all the awesome tanks do, right?  Once I gave Arms a try, things went quite swimmingly.  But it was pretty hard to get there.

Why do I do that?  Hell if I know.  I do know that I wanted a break from being squishy and wanted to smash things, but why didn’t I just play a paladin?  I already knew that I could play them well and I also had a resident paladin to bother ask when I had questions!  But instead I choose classes that I don’t understand and that gave me headaches to play.

Am I the only one to do this?  I’d like to think that we all have mains that we really truly enjoy, when you get right down to it, but do we become masochists at some point in our gameplay?

4 Comments leave one →
  1. November 3, 2009 2:47 PM

    You know that priest I’m leveling right now? NOT FUN! And yet, I’ll continue to do it (up to a certain, comfortable point anyways) to have an RP character. He’ll be disc specced because it’ll fit his character, but he won’t set foot into a group/instance. I wouldn’t put my sucktitude on anyone in that manner. ;).-= Arrens´s last blog ..<a href="http://arrens.net/?p=649“ rel=”nofollow”>The Mercenary =-.

  2. November 3, 2009 2:56 PM

    I don’t think we’re masochists, per se. I just think that, after a while, we want a challenge. Leveling in perverse ways gives us that challenge, or at least just gives us something different.For example! I recently revived my long-neglected shaman (who was level 46 then), and took a good long look at him. His weapons were kind of stupid, but other than that he was sporting a great set of mail gear from SM and ZF. Looking ahead at quest rewards, pretty much 99% of the vanilla mail rewards are … you guessed it… geared for enhancement. Blizzard’s even flat-out said they intend for enhancement to be the dedicated leveling spec. But y’know what? I already have a high level character who runs around beating on mobs with two weapons, so I shelled out for the Mystic Pauldron and Vest of Elements, passed over the Devout Aurastone Hammer, raided the AH for greens for every other slot, and respecced him elemental.It’s not as easy as it would be as enhancement at this point, for sure – after all, I’m still sporting leather or cloth in a few areas, and I had to prioritize intellect over stamina in a few places so my health is somewhat lower – but you should hear me cackle when Lightning Overload procs on a Chain Lightning AND I FRY A SATYR IN THE FACE LIKE A BLUE-SKINNED SITH L–*ahem*I think you see my point, yes? :).-= Stop´s last blog ..<a href="http://feedproxy.google.com/~r/TheStoppableForce/~3/u7uiLg7ikYI/“ rel=”nofollow”>Gaming vs. Cancer: Sidhe Devils present “Raid for the Cure” =-.

  3. November 3, 2009 3:02 PM

    @Stop I do it for the challenge at times too, but they seem to die off just as quickly as my others unless there’s just something about the class that I wasn’t expecting that I end up loving. @All Another point that just came to mind too, for me, is that I also do this for the sake of blogging about it. With a leveling blog I do occasionally play classes/specs that I have no desire to actually play, simply to tell other people about my experience with it..-= Psynister´s last blog ..<a href="http://psynister.wordpress.com/2009/10/29/mage-leveling-part-ii-21-39/“ rel=”nofollow”>Mage Leveling Part II: 21-39 =-.

  4. November 4, 2009 2:39 PM

    Leveling through battlegrounds is a good idea with a sad reality. If you get a full team of people doing it in a single guild who all queue up for premades, then you could pull it off by having a reasonable chance at actually winning and capping enough flags to make it worth your time. If you drag out a WSG fight for the full 25 minutes though without capping a single flag then you just spent 25 minutes being very frustrated for less than a single quest worth of experience.For leveling via BG’s, it’s only good if you never lose..-= Psynister´s last blog ..<a href="http://psynister.wordpress.com/2009/10/29/mage-leveling-part-ii-21-39/“ rel=”nofollow”>Mage Leveling Part II: 21-39 =-.

Leave a Reply

