Skip to content

*bounce bounce*

November 4, 2009

In the last several months, I’ve been playing exclusively alts. I still consider Anea my main, but I just haven’t played her in any real way since about June. I’ve hopped from one alt to the other, depending on what seemed good at the time and my attention span. As I’ve mentioned before – I can only play one character at a time. And by that I mean that I am committed to one character at a time.  If I commit to a character, they are what I play – exclusively.  I guess I’m an all or nothing kind of person.

While this may be good for getting the feel of a character and really sinking into a class/race/culture, it’s really bad for rest experience.  The most rest experience I see is that little bit of blue on the bar after logging out for the night.  Then I’m at it again the next day – after a kill or two, I get the “you now feel normal” message.  And because I’ve been going at this leveling thing since June rest-experience free, it gets a little old.  And long.  I have memories of what it was like to log in after leaving a character for a while and then zooming through a level with the help of rest experience.  (It felt fast, haha.)  So, I thought to myself, “The rogue in the horrible 20s decade.  There’s no good place to level until I’m 29 and can go to STV, I’ll let the rogue get some rest experience!”

And that’s how it began.

For the last day and a half, I’ve been thinking something horrible.  Rather than start another character out at level one, why not pick up something that’s at a higher level?  I have several alts left on the wayside that are a semi-decent level that I lost interest in.  I have my paladin who’s in her late 50s, a warrior in the early 50s, the Fel-damned Death Knight is 70 now, my poor rogue has been sitting at 70 for two years,[1. I think – has it been that long already?] the other paladin is early 50s… wait, the Tauren warrior I just leveled!  I could play her!

/shrug
Then the horrible thought entered my mind… I could transfer her Alliance-side to be a Night Elf.  *gasps of horror* Coming from me, this is just inconceivable.  I don’t think I’ve ever addressed it here, but I really dislike Night Elves.  But more to the point, I dislike Night Elf women.  This unreasonable hate stems from their dance and the general Night Elf stigma there is.  But, that aside, I’ve always had a fondness for Night Elf areas and I do like the culture and lore that I’ve read.  I feel it’s all very fitting to me and I want to embrace it, but I have this ridiculous mental block.

Over the past day and a half I’ve been back and forth about it.  Yes, I’ll do it – once I settle in to the class, I’ll see that being a Night Elf isn’t so bad – what could be bad about actually being one when I like the rest of what “Night Elf” encompasses?[3. If anyone knows the answer to that one, please share.]  No, I’ll just transfer and make her a Draenei – we already know I like them, plus I can have the cool dark skin/dark hair sexy smoldering combo!  But…  *envisions Darnassus and Night Elf area music*

I know it’s not something that I ought to agonize over too horribly much, because if it ends up that I just really can’t stand being a Night Elf, I can now change her to anything I want, pending cooldowns; it’s just a matter of money.  But wouldn’t it be a waste if I did decide to give it a try and I’d have to switch her later?

As @Linedan said:

Blizzard made nelf culture very interesting and the women very strong…and then gave them The Idle Bounce and the /cower.  Urgh.

He’s right – the female warrior history of the Night Elves is intriguing and would make great RP fodder… but can I do it?

*bounce bounce*


4 Comments leave one →
  1. November 4, 2009 9:27 PM

    What level is the warrior? I’m tempted to transfer my 80 druid to Feathermoon. I’m hating leveling as a priest. I can do it for about 30 seconds or three deaths — whichever comes first. The I remember why I abandoned my Forsaken priest at level 37 and switch over to my Hordeside critchicken. >.<.-= Elle´s last blog ..<a href="http://altadin.com/2009/11/03/shameface/#utm_source=feed&utm_medium=feed&utm_campaign=feed“ rel=”nofollow”>/shameface =-.

  2. November 4, 2009 9:43 PM

    Her Warr is 70, and all this talk is making me think long and hard about moving my own 70 warrior to FM as well.Bad Nait, No! … Or at least, not until later. I’ve let my WoW sub lapse at the moment during the exam period, just hoping and praying they don’t release 3.3 too soon now. :P.-= Naithin´s last blog ..<a href="http://feedproxy.google.com/~r/TanknTree/~3/Q5fHh6larMA/“ rel=”nofollow”>NaNoWriMo Begins Today =-.

  3. November 4, 2009 10:34 PM

    Yep, as Naithin said, I’m 70. It wouldn’t take me too long to get to 80 and rock instances with you ;)”30 seconds or three deaths – whichever comes first” – ahaha :D

  4. November 5, 2009 1:31 AM

    I vote do it if money isn’t too big of an issue. Ignoring the stupid run and the strange *bounce bounce jiggle* animations, it is a pretty cool race. I’ve always been an elf fan ^^.-= Jaedia´s last blog ..<a href="http://feedproxy.google.com/~r/lazy-sniper/iEkg/~3/9QujOXi5fnM/“ rel=”nofollow”>Hots & Dots =-.

Leave a Reply

