Skip to content

WTB Lore – pst

November 7, 2009

One thing that occurred to me today is that I have a difficult time thinking up a backstory because I don’t know any more than what I can find on WoWwiki or similar pages and that information – while helpful – isn’t enough for me to feel sure that I have enough information.  I always knew I wasn’t as educated in lore as I might be, but to think up a person’s history and life story with such limited resources is rather difficult – especially if it’s a Night Elf who is hundreds of years old.  That’s a lot of history to cover.

I love to read.  My favorite genre is historical fiction.  Because I have read so many books covering a large variety of time periods, I could quite easily make up a story about a person in (insert time period here) – through all these years of reading, I’ve become familiar with events that happened in many periods, lifestyles, culture, speech, dress… all the things that are wrapped up in a person and are part of their story.  All the things that I don’t know about for my characters.  I know that there are “Warcraft books” out there – I haven’t read them (not my genre) but now I wonder if I should.  I doubt they’d have all the information I’d want in them, but it would certainly be more than I know now.

Or is that some of the appeal for RPers?  They only know so much about the world and what may have happened to their character, derived from what their particular race has been through.  After that, it’s up to them to embellish and create.  Is that the appeal for some of you?  Or are others like me,  preferring to stay as close to canon as possible?

8 Comments leave one →
  1. November 7, 2009 5:39 PM

    I wonder if they’ll eventually do a Warcraft Atlas that’s similar to the Anne Rice Vampire’s Companion encyclopedia..-= candy´s last blog ..<a href="http://www.furlinedteacup.com/bibleofdreams/2009/11/friday-five-5-things-more-qq-worthy-than-blizzards-new-pet-store.html“ rel=”nofollow”>Friday Five: 5 Things More QQ Worthy Than Blizzard’s New Pet Store =-.

  2. November 7, 2009 5:52 PM

    I’ve read parts of the books & I’ve generally found the books to be full of a lot of lore that I wouldn’t have known otherwise. You could always buy one or two of them that relate most directly to what you consider is important about your character’s past, and use it more as reference (where you can skim it to look up things that you are interested in)….

  3. November 7, 2009 6:02 PM

    That I would be very interested in!

  4. November 7, 2009 6:03 PM

    Hm… I guess I should just get over my “but it’s not historical fiction! *whine*” attitude and just try them out. I guess if I play the game the books aren’t too far out of the scope, right?

  5. November 8, 2009 2:08 PM

    I recently purchased all but the most recent two Warcraft (and WoW) novels, and for the most part they were an excellent and informative read. <a href="http://www.wowwiki.com/Novel_guide“ rel=”nofollow”>WoWWiki actually has a guide posted for the novels, which details the chronology of events depicted in the novels as well as the order in which they were released which I found helpful when I started reading the books.While lighter fantasy isn’t usually my style (I prefer a bit more of a heavy read if I’m really going to get into something), I did enjoy reading the books. They provided not only lore I wasn’t already aware of, but personality to figures I was already familiar with. You really start to get a feel for these NPCs we’ve spent the past however many years interacting with. I’d definitely recommend them..-= Lassirra´s last blog ..<a href="http://feedproxy.google.com/~r/TheHuntersMark/~3/stvGtKWE7eI/“ rel=”nofollow”>Hunter Gear for Leveling (31-40) =-.

  6. November 13, 2009 3:01 PM

    I glean what I can from WoWWiki, pass ideas by friends that have a better grasp on the lore than I do, and just run with what I can. I do like to stick as close to the lore as possible, but I know that this isn’t always going to work as well as I’d like.For example, there isn’t any information on Booty Bay and when it was built, how long it’s been there – so I kinda have to just guess and run with it (I have three or four characters who are from or worked there many years ago).I need coffee #2 before I can really be coherent. :|

  7. December 23, 2009 12:25 AM

    I personally enjoy learning as much about the lore as I can…but fill in lots and lots of information in the inevitable gaps, or draw logical assumptions about things that were not expressly stated.For instance, draenei death knights who stick with the provided backstory were very, VERY old when they died, a conclusion you have to reason your way to. They are urged at one point in the starting area to "remember the mountains of Argus, where you were born." However, we know that draenei split from the eredar thousands of years ago (immediately driven from Argue when they did), and only came to Draenor a few centuries ago. A death knight, meanwhile, should be assumed to have died on Azeroth. Therefore…unless you change your character background, a draenei death knight is a millenia-old creature. Connecting the logical dots can often open up a lot of very interesting lore that most rpers won’t necessarily have noticed….But the negative space in lore, the things that just aren’t defined in any way, are what I have the most fun with. Our roleplay groups understand that I’m always pulling a great deal of info straight out of my bum. (For example…again on the death knight subject, we ‘re informed that they will be overcome by intense pain if they don’t make that first kill immediately after resurrection. What isn’t defined (as far as I’ve ever noticed) is whether this is a continuous need or a one-time thing. Fun to play with.) And for a draenei player, where almost all we know about two thousand years of their history is that they tried to settle in place after place, always hunted by the Burning Legion? Good times, good times. Lots of room to make up fantastic, non-canon (but non-conflicting!) stories.

  8. December 23, 2009 12:25 AM

    I personally enjoy learning as much about the lore as I can…but fill in lots and lots of information in the inevitable gaps, or draw logical assumptions about things that were not expressly stated.For instance, draenei death knights who stick with the provided backstory were very, VERY old when they died, a conclusion you have to reason your way to. They are urged at one point in the starting area to "remember the mountains of Argus, where you were born." However, we know that draenei split from the eredar thousands of years ago (immediately driven from Argue when they did), and only came to Draenor a few centuries ago. A death knight, meanwhile, should be assumed to have died on Azeroth. Therefore…unless you change your character background, a draenei death knight is a millenia-old creature. Connecting the logical dots can often open up a lot of very interesting lore that most rpers won’t necessarily have noticed….But the negative space in lore, the things that just aren’t defined in any way, are what I have the most fun with. Our roleplay groups understand that I’m always pulling a great deal of info straight out of my bum. (For example…again on the death knight subject, we ‘re informed that they will be overcome by intense pain if they don’t make that first kill immediately after resurrection. What isn’t defined (as far as I’ve ever noticed) is whether this is a continuous need or a one-time thing. Fun to play with.) And for a draenei player, where almost all we know about two thousand years of their history is that they tried to settle in place after place, always hunted by the Burning Legion? Good times, good times. Lots of room to make up fantastic, non-canon (but non-conflicting!) stories.

Leave a Reply

