Skip to content

In which I go to WSG

November 8, 2009

Last night I made excellent progress on my PvP project.  I would’ve made it to 20 had I not alt-tabbed out that last time and made WoW horrible – I figured it was a sign to quit for the night.  I’m sitting a mere 4000 experience points from 20 and a mount.  I’m also 4000 experience from questing in areas as flagged.

The last time I played on a PvP server was two years ago.  I remember the paranoia.  Now, I didn’t get ganked over often then – just the random 70 with epeen issues.  Once or twice was it someone who was about my level.  I was usually fine using my “live and let live” philosophy.  But it was the constantly looking over my shoulder, the waiting for it to happen?  That’s the worst.

You’ve never seen me failpvp. Seriously, I’m like the worst PvPer ever. I spaz out and then flip when I die.

@Linedan‘s not the only one – I spaz too.  “AMG WHAT DO I DO!!!” is pretty much what runs through my head when I get ganked. I’m comfortable enough with this character that I think I’d have a fair chance in a fight with someone around my level, provided I keep a cool head when it happens.  I’m actually not sure what my mentality ought to be about it.  It’s easy to brush things off if you’re apathetic about them, but on the other hand, if you’re choosing to put yourself in an environment where PvP happens, can you really be apathetic about it?

So, on a whim last night, I queued for a battleground.  Apparently the PvP Daily was Warsong Gulch and I needed a break from questing.  I figured that PvP wouldn’t be so bad if I chose to do it, if I wasn’t afraid of it.  It was so WEIRD being in a battleground!  I think that – literally – the last time I was in a battleground was for last year’s G.N.E.R.D. Rage achievement on Anea.  And the bg this time went as I figured it would go – which is to say, not fantastically.  I died a lot.  Somehow I ended up as number three on damage Hordeside in the first bg (which is more likely an indication of the quality of players in it rather than my prowess.)  I got my An Honorable Kill achievement from a kill I didn’t even make, which I thought was pretty sad.  I know that’s just how it works, but later I did kill a mage on my own so I felt like I earned it then.

Aside: I had actually entirely forgotten that you could get experience from battlegrounds now, but the experience that I got was so negligible that I would have gotten much better experience had I invested 40 minutes questing instead.

But really, the true test will be later this week as I’m questing to 25 in Hillsbrad.  Perhaps I could choose a better zone to level in, where I wouldn’t just be asking to be ganked…

6 Comments leave one →
  1. November 8, 2009 8:04 PM

    PVP server! You’re braver than I am! I had a dwarf priest on a PVP server for about 15 minutes (okay, 20 levels) and the minute I stepped into Redridge, I got camped by 60s (level cap then) and corpse-camped until I just gave up. It never got better! I hear some servers are better than others, though, so grats on your PvP achievements and good luck in autoflag zones!.-= Teuthida´s last blog ..<a href="http://sandwichrations.com/blog/2009/11/played-and-playing/“ rel=”nofollow”>/played and playing =-.

  2. November 9, 2009 11:27 AM

    Social comments and analytics for this post…This post was mentioned on Twitter by _anea: New post: In which I go to WSG http://twurl.nl/as8eqi #wow…

  3. November 9, 2009 2:31 PM

    Sorry about suggesting that :( I’ll know better next time.I’m hoping that you’re having fun. :D.-= Tahas´s last blog ..<a href="http://twitter.com/lordofthefries/statuses/5511046101“ rel=”nofollow”>lordofthefries: obsidian sanctum pug was not full of fail yay =-.

  4. November 9, 2009 5:57 PM

    Thanks! I’m sure I’m going to need it ;)

  5. November 9, 2009 5:59 PM

    lol – suggesting something different is never bad :] I AM having fun! Just wait until I’m 30! >:D

  6. November 9, 2009 6:37 PM

    I guess I need to roll that DK….-= Tahas´s last blog ..<a href="http://tahasnottatas.wordpress.com/2009/11/09/tier-10/“ rel=”nofollow”>Tier 10 =-.

Leave a Reply

