Skip to content

Not a special snowflake

November 11, 2009

For a long time, my main was a Draenei.  A female Draenei, at that.  Just about anywhere you look, there one is.  And I was pretty fine with that – I like Draenei.  Spacegoats are awesome.

However, I feel too special when I roll a race that you don’t see too often.  Example: my Dwarf rogue.  Now, because of her race/class combo, I know that she is special – Dwarf rogues hardly exist.  But female dwarves are few and far between as well.  I would run around Ironforge thinking, “Look how unique I am.  Tuh, look at all those Night Elves and Draenei and humans… I am the only female dwarf!”

And then all these female dwarves pop out of the woodwork.

I think it’s just because I am hyper-aware of who/what I am, so I notice my race/sex more.  Before I played a Dwarf?  I might notice one here or there, but not with the frequency I would when I was playing the Dwarf.  Same thing with my female Orc and my female Tauren.  Before I played those races, I hardly saw them.  But after I spent time as one, I started seeing all these other sisters I didn’t know I had!

4 Comments leave one →
  1. November 11, 2009 10:09 PM

    Welcome to <a href="http://www.wowarmory.com/character-sheet.xml?r=Kael%27thas&n=Lasombre“ rel=”nofollow”>the female dwarf rogue club. :D.-= Stop´s last blog ..<a href="http://feedproxy.google.com/~r/TheStoppableForce/~3/JOw26YVuv20/“ rel=”nofollow”>It’s not a meme, it’s a survey =-.

  2. November 11, 2009 10:09 PM

    Welcome to <a href="http://www.wowarmory.com/character-sheet.xml?r=Kael%27thas&n=Lasombre“ rel=”nofollow”>the female dwarf rogue club. :D.-= Stop´s last blog ..<a href="http://feedproxy.google.com/~r/TheStoppableForce/~3/JOw26YVuv20/“ rel=”nofollow”>It’s not a meme, it’s a survey =-.

  3. November 12, 2009 7:28 PM

    When I was considering starting my troll warrior I felt that way. Then I started noticing the others. It’s kinda like I didn’t realize how many electric blue Dodge Neons there were on the road until I started driving one. (Mine’s still the only one I’ve seen with all my extras though XD).-= Loreli´s last blog ..<a href="http://www.aodstudios.com/reroll/?p=148“ rel=”nofollow”>Just Spam Chain Heal! =-.

  4. November 12, 2009 9:12 PM

    /highfive!

Leave a Reply

