Skip to content

“Witty” names

November 12, 2009

In general, I am the fun-quashing person who doesn’t laugh at cheesy names in game.  I tend to prefer “real” names to the funny ones.[1. Applecake is an exception.  I don’t know what came over me with that one.]  However, in the course of playing my warrior I’ve seen three gems that I wanted to share with you all.

Is this not the perfect name for an Undead female?  She was a warrior as well, which fits the “gore” part, but the “vomit” is especially fitting – have you ever heard the noise an Undead female makes when she dies?

Lul.  It occurred to me after I had seen this name that it must be one of those names that’s on every server, but I hadn’t seen one before this.  Perhaps that’s why it was funny to me.

Shockacon!  Who would not laugh out loud when seeing this for the first time?  Anyone?  Just me?

I also notice that the Joanoforc and Shockacon are both from the same guild… maybe that’s the guild you go to when you have witty names. Entrance requirement, perhaps? What other gems have I been missing?

Also, Silverpine Forest has massive bears.  I’m not sure where they’re hiding, but I never want to run into one.  Click to embiggen.


10 Comments leave one →
  1. November 12, 2009 8:13 PM

    I LOVE Joanoforc! I’ve never seen that one before. Gorevomit is pretty fitting, I agree..-= Celaeno´s last blog ..<a href="http://discopriest.wordpress.com/2009/11/11/a-little-bitch-about-toc/“ rel=”nofollow”>A little bitch about ToC =-.

  2. November 12, 2009 8:16 PM

    We have a shockacon on Deathwing, but Joanoforc cracked me up. I am with you on the “serious names” preference, but once in a while, some of the more clever names crack me up pretty good.

  3. November 12, 2009 8:28 PM

    I’m a big fan of the names of a couple of my guildies. Bungrot – maybe not from the witty category more like funny as hell. He had this name for something like 4 years, then Blizz made him change it. Then they let him change it back. I think what makes it so great though, is being in a raid with him for the first time and seeing the Bunglust go off. (Yes, that’s a Bloodlust macro, Heroism for you Ally types))the other is Embalmo the undead rogue. XD

  4. November 13, 2009 1:17 AM

    Nearly all of my toons have serious names, but I have 2 exceptions. Furrealz the tauren baby druid, and my undead warlock, who is named… Heylookimded. >.>Naturally I can’t remember any of the funny names I’ve seen, except for one that will always be stuck in my head. We had a tauren hunter on my old Horde server named Burgers, and his pet was a white frostsaber named Milkshake..-= Sarai´s last blog ..<a href="http://spiritbond.blogspot.com/2009/11/in-which-some-alts-get-attention.html“ rel=”nofollow”>In which some alts get attention… =-.

  5. November 13, 2009 5:55 AM

    That pet name is awesome! Great hunter/pet combo.I had a friend whose hunter was named Candycanes and her pet was named Sugarcrisp.Also, now that I think about it, on my very first server there was a hunter whose name was Think and her pet’s name was Thought. I always thought that was clever.Man, now I want a hunter so I can have a pet named Milkshake…

  6. November 13, 2009 2:52 PM

    Before I gave up on my server’s Alliance side the first time (I have since tried again and also play alliance on another server) I had Gynne, the Dwarf hunter, and her white bear, Tonic.I’m on a RP server, though, so my appreciation for silly names can only go so far before I have to say, “Well that was amusing buuuut… *report*”

  7. November 14, 2009 3:15 AM

    My boyfriend popped up behind me while I was reading this post, he found it hilarious ._. Think you’ve got a fan xD.-= Jaedia´s last blog ..<a href="http://feedproxy.google.com/~r/lazy-sniper/iEkg/~3/QgNx5oeHwis/“ rel=”nofollow”>This Is How I Roll =-.

  8. November 14, 2009 6:00 AM

    Yes, that’s what I’m worried about. I rolled a hunter on that “amg cute name!” whim but she’s on an RP server… So I can’t do the cutesy name combos :(

  9. November 14, 2009 6:02 AM

    Glad to hear it! :D

  10. November 14, 2009 6:02 AM

    Glad to hear it! :D

Leave a Reply

