Skip to content

Stage left: a hunter emerges

November 16, 2009

Here’s a fun fact about me: I’ve never played a class that has a pet.  No hunters, no warlocks.  At least, not past level 5.  I was afraid of not keeping my pet/demon in order and killing myself and everyone within a 25 yard radius.

Another fact: the character that I decided I was going to roll when BC launched was a Draenei hunter.  I had picked out what she’d look like and everything.  She never got rolled though.

So, even though it’s been a very roundabout way and nearly three years late, I’ve finally rolled my Draenei hunter.

I’ve thought off and on about it, of course.  But I finally acted on it just a few days ago.  I have to say, the first 10 levels are just mind-numbing.  The pet – the light at the end of the tunnel – was all that was keeping me going, honestly.  I wanted to see what it would be like as a “real” hunter with a pet.

And I am here to tell you – it’s so much fun!  I had an article in draft form to publish later this week about having fun and when the last time was that you had honest to goodness fun while you were playing.  What the class was, what you were doing, etc.  I had intended to write about my Tauren warrior and how I had so much fun on her, but I have to say, maybe this hunter tops it.

I’m not that great at kiting, I think.  I haven’t mastered the jump shot.  So maybe I’m not a hunter yet.  But I do have a pet, so I am a hunter if only by that quality alone.   I took my cue from Pike and got a Daggercap Hawk for my first pet.

together

As Pike observed, he does fly low to the ground and he flies in the “hovering” position, but that doesn’t bother me.  Probably because I’ve never had another bird pet so I don’t know how he “ought” to fly.  I have my eye on some other pets in the future, such as a Marshlight Bleeder and the Cursed Offspring of Har’koa, plus a yet to be determined white pet to be named Milkshake.

But for now, I have a seahawk named Poe to travel with.  He’s a little pokey, but I like him just fine.

WoWScrnShot_111509_012659

10 Comments leave one →
  1. November 16, 2009 2:12 AM

    You should join the Cult of Hunters With Pets Named Omnomnom.DO IIIT..-= Ambrosine´s last blog ..<a href="http://forthebubbles.wordpress.com/2009/11/13/ulduar/“ rel=”nofollow”>Ulduar… =-.

  2. November 16, 2009 2:41 AM

    What timing, just a few days ago I rolled a Draenei hunter too. And I also went and tamed a Daggercap Hawk. And since they look like the normal druid flight form, I named it after my friend’s druid. He was actually kind of annoyed by that :P.-= deyndor´s last blog ..<a href="http://swiftretribution.wordpress.com/2009/11/14/raid-for-the-cure/“ rel=”nofollow”>Raid for the Cure! =-.

  3. November 16, 2009 3:41 AM

    Actually, don’t tell anyone but I’m not sure I ever mastered jump shot, shh ;p@Ambrosine – I have a kitty (the rare blue kitty in Winterspring) called NomNom, is that the same? :D.-= Jaedia´s last blog ..<a href="http://feedproxy.google.com/~r/lazy-sniper/iEkg/~3/PJlwyqXat00/“ rel=”nofollow”>The Week #2 =-.

  4. November 16, 2009 12:11 PM

    I am glad you finally decided to roll a hunter :DI leveled every class and have to admit that I enjoyed a hunter the most! It’s just sooo much fun and easy going! I have pet-attack keybinded on my Q key and start with it and after my little wolf is attacking the enemy I keep shootin’ :D Just sooo much fun!I hope you’ll enjoy it too!.-= Nanuki´s last blog ..<a href="http://nanuki.wordpress.com/2009/11/15/faction-change-set-change/“ rel=”nofollow”>Faction Change = Set Change =-.

  5. November 16, 2009 5:28 PM

    I’m about to do the same thing on a hunter I rolled last night, also prompted by Pike..-= Psynister´s last blog ..<a href="http://psynister.wordpress.com/2009/11/16/microtransactions-final-thoughts/“ rel=”nofollow”>Microtransactions: Final Thoughts =-.

  6. November 16, 2009 8:19 PM

    Social comments and analytics for this post…This post was mentioned on Twitter by _anea: New post: Stage left: a hunter emerges http://twurl.nl/a1txa0 #wow…

  7. November 16, 2009 9:18 PM

    Isn’t it a nifty pet? One of my faves out of all the dozens and dozens I’ve tamed ^_^

  8. November 18, 2009 1:17 AM

    I’m glad that you’ve enjoyed playing a hunter. So funny that be both rolled baby hunters on Feathermoon and both went and got the daggercap hawk right away. Just goes to show how far Pike’s influence is spread. We’ll have to get together sometime and practice the jump shot, once you get it down you’ll wonder how you played this game before with out it, its sooooo fun!!.-= Aoirselvar´s last blog ..<a href="http://www.casualhuntering.com/?p=386“ rel=”nofollow”>More of the Adventures of Praxton Seamsmith =-.

  9. November 20, 2009 12:25 AM

    Yay! For all I preach of playing my Druid, I really love my Draenei Hunter. I went and got Death Claw up on Bloodmyst for my main pet. In later levels, when I could just let him run around gathering up enemies with Swipe and Thunderstomp, taking on half a dozen enemies without thinking was a breeze. Tenacity pets are great tanks like that. My true love with her, though, is Battlegrounds. For whatever reason, Hunter PvP just feels fluid and natural. Love love love!Anywho, welcome to the Half Hearted Hunter Club (H3C?), cuz it’s just fun to be a Hunter. Now, when do we get to tame Druids?

  10. November 21, 2009 1:06 AM

    It’s about time you rolled a hunter! Mind you she’s a space goat, but not everyone is wantin’ to be a troll mon! I hope you enjoy her though and happy hunting!.-= The Troll Hunter´s last blog ..<a href="http://thetrollhunter.com/?p=1145“ rel=”nofollow”>/spit happens =-.

Leave a Reply

