Skip to content

But where will the quests go?

December 4, 2009

One thing that’s been on my mind since I found out that Cataclysm isn’t going to take as long as I thought to come out is… what will happen to the quests?

There are plans to re-do several areas because of the Cataclysm:

Familiar zones across the original continents of Kalimdor and the Eastern Kingdoms have been altered forever and updated with new content, from the devastated Badlands to the broken Barrens, which has been sundered in two.

Now, I’ve been saying for quite a long while that I’d like to get Loremaster.  I’ve yet to work on it, but I will do it.  However, I’m curious as to how the numbers for all this will work.  When they redo zones, will they put in exactly the same numbers of quests that they took out because the zone changed?  Will they even change the quests?

Surely they must change the quests – if the Barrens will no longer be whole and will be sundered in two, things are going to change.  I believe Desolace was mentioned and it will no longer be desolate?  (Perhaps there will be a huge flood and it will drown all those Fel-damned centaur…)  And if they do change, if you go back and do the quests as a high level, will you get “extra” credit for doing them?

If I am not able to complete the quests in the zones that will be changed, will I have a problem later on when I do go to finish Loremaster?  Will it be easier to mark those zones out as “priority” to finish off before Cataclysm, or am I worried for nothing because quests are quests are quests?

Edit: I had to include Tam’s take on Loremaster – read and enjoy!

3 Comments leave one →
  1. lissanna permalink
    December 4, 2009 8:45 PM

    I think we’ll have at least a couple months to figure that out once the Cataclysm Beta starts & people are able to take inventory of the quests they lost (or don’t lose) as they copy characters over. If you want it for sure, I’d recommend doing it before the expansion comes out. I finished explorer stuff early so that when the geography changes, I won’t have to worry about it on my Achievement main.

  2. December 5, 2009 7:19 PM

    I’m really curious to see how this plays out as well. As you know I just recently earned the Loremaster myself, so I wonder what will happen in Cataclysm. Will there be new quests counting for a new Loremaster achievement? Will the old one become a feat of strength? Will they give me another ridiculously high goal like 5,000 quests completed?By the way, I like the new look for your site.

  3. Anea permalink
    December 5, 2009 7:36 PM

    @Thistlefizz – thank you! It will look even better soon, I have a pretty banner in the works!Y’know, that’s a pretty good guess at what they might do – making the old Loremaster a feat of strength. I wonder what the 5,000 quest title might be… "the Obsessive"?

Leave a Reply

