Skip to content

The WoW Year in Review

December 17, 2009
tags:

More than two weeks after Anexxia started the whole thing, I’m finally getting around to doing it, after Naithin tagged me.

Without further ado:

What did you do in World of Warcraft that you’ve never done before?

Played a Death Knight.  On a PvP server!  On a PvP server whose name doesn’t somehow correlate to the race of the DK!  The sky is falling!

What was your favorite new place that you visited?

Northrend!  A whole new continent to explore!  As beautiful as all the areas were (most of them, anyway) I loved Storm Peaks the most – the landscape, the music, the quests… love it!

What would you like to have in 2010 that you lacked in 2009?

I would like to get a second character to 80 (I have four characters sitting at 70 right now!  Four!)  I’d like to tank – successfully.  And I want to get Loremaster, dammit!

What was your biggest achievement of the year?

(I feel so horrible that I envisioned the Achievement page in WoW when I initially thought of this question.)  And also that an achievement doesn’t immediately come to mind!  It could be that I finally beat the Frogger boss on my own (really!  Without making Lus do it for me!)  Perhaps it could just be the humble achievement of reaching 80 on Anea.

What was your biggest failure?

Altitis.  By far.  I just kept making alt after alt after alt, trying to find “the one” and I wasted months of time and effort with it.  I try not to think about what could have been done with all that time if invested in only one character, but that makes me want to cry a bit, so we won’t think about it.

What did you get really, really, really excited about?

Besides little silly excitement about vanity pets here or there, I think the thing that’s had me most excited all year in WoW was the LFG tool.  That thing is AWESOME.

What do you wish you’d done less of?

Alting :(  Or perhaps overthinking – if I could just clear my mind of all the worries and concerns that seem to be inherent when I’m finding a “new main” I may have been able to enjoy one before December!

What was your favorite WoW blog or podcast?

Even though I have several favorites, it seems like some have either stopped updating or just don’t update hardly at all.  Perhaps few updates make for part of the allure of Letters to Azeroth – in addition to the writing itself, of course.  (I wonder if I can elicit another post from him – let’s see!)

Tell us a valuable WoW lesson you learned in 2009.

“If at first you don’t succeed, try and try again.”  This is applicable in so many ways – from boss fights to class info to attempting to play a class that just never ever worked for you until you try a spec that no one else will endorse, or a class that you swore you’d never play.

Also: don’t forget my RSS/link notice!

6 Comments leave one →
  1. December 17, 2009 9:03 PM

    What a fun idea for a post, I’ll have to use your format sometime in the near future.

  2. December 17, 2009 9:03 PM

    What a fun idea for a post, I’ll have to use your format sometime in the near future.

  3. December 17, 2009 9:07 PM

    Thanks for completing the meme! I have a 70 priest and 72 mage Alliance side, sitting neglected, who came to mind while reading through this post…I am a bad alt mama, the poor things.

  4. December 17, 2009 9:07 PM

    Thanks for completing the meme! I have a 70 priest and 72 mage Alliance side, sitting neglected, who came to mind while reading through this post…I am a bad alt mama, the poor things.

  5. December 17, 2009 9:11 PM

    Ahh, cool! A meme I almost want to complete! Hmm, maybe I will. Your answers were neat!

  6. Anea permalink
    December 17, 2009 9:56 PM

    @Aoirselvar – you definitely should use it for a post! It only occurs to me after I’ve read your comment I forgot to tag people >.> I usually take the "tag yourself if you want to play!" route anyway, so definitely feel free! :)@Anexxia – thanks for starting it! I hope your alts get some love… mine probably won’t, haha.@Fyreuni – DO complete it! I better read it soon! /whipwhip :P

Leave a Reply

