Skip to content

You threw off my groove!

December 23, 2009

I am still a pretty big fan of the dungeon finder, for all the reasons that I (and just about every other WoW blogger) have listed.  However, I’m starting to see the other side of the coin.

I quest when I level.  It’s almost exclusively what I do – this whole “multiple dungeons a day” thing is only a recent happening with the dungeon finder.  I work my way through areas and do just about every quest I can see until it’s time to move on to bigger, better, (prettier) areas.  There are certain zones that I will drop every quest I have in an old zone to run start – Stranglethorn Vale is one of these zones, Zangarmarsh and Nagrand two others.  I’ve been looking forward to Dragonblight so I can finally see what Wrathgate is all about and then Storm Peaks later.

However… since I’ve been so busy with the dungeons, I’ve gained lots of experience in level but I find myself behind in quests.  I’ve not moved through them as I ought to have.  There’s been hardly any quest progression!  I only just tonight got the three quests for the Nexus, even though I’ve run it at least 6 times already.  And those quest rewards would’ve been GREAT for me had I gotten them when I first started running the Nexus.

It’s not just about the quest rewards, either.  Even though I’ve been having fun (most of the time) in the PuGs, I’ve been feeling a little… uneasy, shall we say.  While I was writing yesterday’s post about finding “the one” for my main, I started to feel worried, thinking that this was the start of an upheaval and change of mains.  But, I think I’ve pinpointed what the issue is.  I’m not questing as I am wont to do, so I don’t feel the smooth progression through chains and zones that I usually do.  It’s surprising how much I favor structure like that in my leveling.  I just need to get back into my questing groove.

I did hit 73 early this morning in a Nexus PuG that probably has been my favorite thus far.  Our bear tank lagged out so we were going to wait for another tank, but I stepped up and offered to tank to save time so we only had to wait a few seconds for a DPS to port in.  The group was quick and efficient, I was moving at a nice pace, tanking well and having fun.  I jumped off a platform and totally missed the landing and died from falling too fast – and the group laughed at it.  That was a nice bit of comic relief – jokes were made.  I just had a great time on that run <3

3 Comments leave one →
  1. December 23, 2009 11:31 AM

    I agree! The proper way to level is through questing! Probably because somehow I find questing with grey quests a lot less fun. I want to see the ka-ching of 20 k xp or at least 13 k gold when I turn in a quest, or possibly some 250 or more rep gain with some faction.Doing the Howling Fjord quests at 80 is not the same fun as doing them at 70 :-(

  2. December 23, 2009 3:19 PM

    I’ve been trying to weave questing and dungeon-running together. As I level my ickle bebeh warlock through the 70s (okay, I guess he’s not THAT little), I find that anytime I have a quest that involves a lot of walking, or killing a lot of things in a row – such as putting the Indu’le villagers to rest or running up and down Howling Fjord looking for something-or-other for the Forsaken – it’s a good time to queue. So far, I’ve been fortunate – 20 or 30 minutes later, when my quest is completed or near-completed, I get a group. We run, which takes a little longer than instances at 80 (and you can tell some of us are trying to remember how to play these instances at the appropriate level). For instance, it’d been so long since we ran Utgarde Keep that we forgot that at 70-72? Those ice blocks from the first boss hurt.Instances are fun, I’ll admit that. However, they’re also obsoleting a lot of my quest rewards before I get to them. On the up side? More money for the warlock, since he’s not on the same server as the rest of my alts with money.

  3. Anea permalink
    December 23, 2009 7:10 PM

    @Tessy – yes! One of the best things about questing is finding a nice little hub, picking everything up then completing them all and turning them in at the same time and seeing your experience bar jump by several bubbles (in a big turnin.) LOVE that!@Stop – Once I saw the iceblocks in UK I remembered those (and frantically trying to heal them the first few times Anea went in there) but it’s certainly an exercise in memory for me to remember how all these dungeons go. It’s too bad that most groups’ strategy for not remembering is to just throw themselves (literally) willynilly at the problem.

Leave a Reply

