Skip to content

Wrath: Looking Back

January 5, 2010

I was bemoaning my lack of posting this year (despite having my own proposed mini-shared topic and Syrana’s topic idea gift >.>  I need the muse!  I’m sorry!) and @Jaedia ever so gently nudged me in the direction of her proposed Shared Topic over on BA.

…looking back to the beginning of Wrath. Memories of how I felt, what I did, things I discovered, things I now miss…  what are your fondest memories from the beginning of this expansion?

Well.  At first when I thought about the idea, I felt old, ’cause I couldn’t really remember clearly!  I hung my head and felt horrible that my memory was already fading at my age (/snerk) but after I read her post, I remembered a bit about my guild.

Actually, let’s start at the beginning.

Lus and I were greatly anticipating Wrath.  When they announced that the CE could be ordered, I jumped and bought two copies for both of us, after figuring out how to navigate the whole “one per household thing” – or was it per card?  Do you all remember that business?  At any rate, they were ordered and I felt so smug that I was able to snag them and not have to worry about finding a location close to us (we were in Colorado at the time) that would have a midnight release so we could pick one up, even though I really did want to go to an actual store to see if I could meet any other people that played.  (I’ve never met any one else in person who played.  Lus doesn’t count, I converted him.)

So!  We got the boxes and installed impatiently and hopped right onto the boat to the Borean Tundra.  I remember a million people trying to kill the seakelp guy and no one wanting to group for it and Lus spamming Consecrate to tag him.  Since Borean Tundra was the first place we went (and we stayed long enough to get the Nothing Boring About Borean achievement) I remember lots from there.  Afterwards though, was quite a blur, even though we leveled at a slower pace than some in our guild.

There were a select group who had turned cliqueish right as the expansion came out and they leveled together and helped each other out – only each other.  They reached 80 at lightning speed and started doing all these instances and heroics and didn’t give a crap about the rest of the guild (it didn’t help that the guild leader and officers were these people.)  So… I remember feeling a big indignant about that.  We had transferred back to Exodar to be with this guild and this happens.

I remember I was in love with the music that all the zones had.  I loved the scenery everywhere.  I refused to quest in Icecrown – Lus had to drag me there to quest.  I remember we made efforts to ding at the same time – we ungrouped so I could catch up in experience to him, then we turned in a quest and dinged together.  My addon didn’t work and so it didn’t take a screenshot of it – I only got a screenshot of the achievement.  I am still freaking bitter.

I remember having fun in Naxx, but not as much fun as Kara, now that I look back.  Thaddius was my favorite boss there and I hated the damn Frogger boss.

I got to spend time playing with Lus – that’s what I remember.  And actually, I’m getting a little sad thinking about all this, ’cause we were happy playing back when Wrath came out.  I looked forward to him getting home from work so we could play together.  We can’t anymore.

Lus has quit WoW.  I don’t think I’ve told any of you.  He played less and less, even though he was having fun (I thought) on his warlock.  He hit 70 then told me to catch up on my gnome DK and we would level to 80 together.  That’s why I stopped playing my warrior – for that DK.  Then I got to 70 on the gnome and he didn’t want to play anymore.  At first I felt like it was my fault for taking so long to get to 70, that if I had leveled faster he would’ve still played.  I still feel that way sometimes, even though I know it’s just ’cause the game isn’t fun for him anymore.  He cemented it when he uninstalled WoW to make room for MW2.

I don’t think that Cataclysm will make him want to play again, so come the next expansion, I’ll be playing by myself.

8 Comments leave one →
  1. Adlib permalink
    January 5, 2010 9:30 PM

    Aw, kind of a sad end to your post, but I also avoided Icecrown the first time around on my main. I get why everything major (raids, new content, etc.) is there, but boy do I hate how dreary and how that whole dark blue aura falls over everything. I started leveling in Howling Fjord to avoid some of the crowds in Borean Tundra. The music and scenery were great! I think I dinged 80 in Storm Peaks. My last guild also had a lot of people who got to 80 quickly and then ran stuff together. Cliques are very annoying like that, but I can’t seem to get away from it. It always seems to happen in most guilds I’m in. I don’t usually get too worked up about it since there’s not much I can do, but my husband and I got really irritated this past week about that very thing. We ended up in just a really bad ICC 10m group (that the officers put together but did not attend) after our guild was not able to field a 25m over the holidays. A lot more of the "A team" (which my husband & I are usually a part of) took a night off and ran the place a couple days later with no problems after our group had failed repeatedly on the 2nd boss which is demoralizing for us. We were both very offended, and I am kinda still not over it, but I just hate hearing stories like that. I definitely sympathize. I don’t think I’ll be running 10m again very soon. I do hope that some of my friends return to WoW when Cataclysm comes out. I am very close with my previous guild mates, but a lot of them stopped playing so it’s hard to stay in touch (even through FB). I miss them terribly. I also hope that maybe Lus will at least want to try it out, and you’ll have a leveling buddy!

  2. Adlib permalink
    January 5, 2010 9:35 PM

    Oh, and I can’t believe you’ve never run into people who play! I bet you have and don’t know it. Usually my husband gets comments and conversations from people who see him wear his hunter shirt. :) One time in the bridal store, before we got married, a guy stopped us and asked if we both play, said he had a hunter, but his fiance didn’t play. I’ve also been asked at the computer repair place too because I had a WoW desktop background! A guy I went to school with in high school used to play, and I didn’t even know it until a few months ago! And of course, people at Game Stop. :) Maybe you should get a WoW shirt and see if people notice. :)

  3. Anea permalink
    January 5, 2010 10:23 PM

    @Adlib: Actually, I DID I have a WoW shirt! I bought the Draenei shirt (despite the fact that it was a male) and wore it several times, but it shrunk too much in the wash and so I couldn’t wear it :( No one commented when I wore it. I even bought Lus a pally shirt when I had bought mine, but he refused to wear it. I had thought about buying another and wearing it around to see if anyone might come up and ask me but I haven’t yet.Also, now that I think of it, Lus said that he saw some guy driving that had a Horde sticker on the back of his truck. Only saw him the once though.

  4. January 6, 2010 11:48 AM

    Ah yes, I do remember the overcrowding. We stayed in Borean Tundra until it was time to move to Dragonblight though we also kept instancing. I wanted to semi-level together with Dan, though not entirely, just stay around the same level so that we could instance together and such. I took a couple of days off work and I levelled enough to get slightly ahead of the crowd but the Monday I had to go back to work and then when the DKs started catching up with me was quite demoralising. Dan of course levelled those last 5 levels without me and at the time that all sucked a little bit.I’d love to level with him in Cataclysm but the problem is he’d much rather be the first 85 than level with me :) Who quite likes to sleep!I’d move over to you for levelling funsies if you weren’t on US :< Though I’m semi tempted to move over to Terenas, where I met Elsen, which is a PvE server. That’d be cool :D no ganking while levelling..

  5. Jack permalink
    January 6, 2010 4:20 PM

    For the first half of the year, Wrath meant Death Knights for me. I mean, after a mad dash from 30ish to 55 so my youngest son could make a DK on "his" server. Mostly it is synonymous with DKs because, by fortunate coincidence, at the same time the "level 55 per server" restriction on DKs was lifted, my brother was headed to Outland on his druid on Exodar’s Horde side. So I made a DK and we levelled together as a tank/heal team mostly through instance runs from 60-80.Other than playing with my brother, though, playing a Forsaken was really uninspiring for me. Fortunately, his wife started playing on Exodar’s alliance side. So he made a toon to play with her there and I decided I’d try levelling a Boomkin. My brother & his wife level faster than I do, so they outpaced me really quickly. They’re raiding Icecrown now while I’m lazering my way through cultists outside Auchindoun. I’ve never raided before. Just been happy levelling alts . . . but they keep telling me to level this one faster so I can raid with them, so I guess I have to now. lol.Mostly I’ve just been using WoW as a chat server with them since I abandoned my Horde side toon. So I’m afraid I’m not at all familiar with their raid group. However I do know my brother & his wife each have two level 80s on Exodar’s alliance side that they raid with, and they’re super nice people. They’re not part of any hardcore raiding guild, but they organize or get in on something a couple nights a week. Recently it’s been mostly ICC, and they do a lot of the ICC 5-man runs, but they’ve also been doing Ulduar and ToC. If you’re interested in raiding on Anea with a really cool couple, I could introduce you. I guess I’m not even sure if they need a healer, but I know my sister-in-law alternates between raiding with her rogue and her holy paladin, so I imagine what they need fluctuates from run to run.

  6. Jack permalink
    January 6, 2010 4:20 PM

    For the first half of the year, Wrath meant Death Knights for me. I mean, after a mad dash from 30ish to 55 so my youngest son could make a DK on "his" server. Mostly it is synonymous with DKs because, by fortunate coincidence, at the same time the "level 55 per server" restriction on DKs was lifted, my brother was headed to Outland on his druid on Exodar’s Horde side. So I made a DK and we levelled together as a tank/heal team mostly through instance runs from 60-80.Other than playing with my brother, though, playing a Forsaken was really uninspiring for me. Fortunately, his wife started playing on Exodar’s alliance side. So he made a toon to play with her there and I decided I’d try levelling a Boomkin. My brother & his wife level faster than I do, so they outpaced me really quickly. They’re raiding Icecrown now while I’m lazering my way through cultists outside Auchindoun. I’ve never raided before. Just been happy levelling alts . . . but they keep telling me to level this one faster so I can raid with them, so I guess I have to now. lol.Mostly I’ve just been using WoW as a chat server with them since I abandoned my Horde side toon. So I’m afraid I’m not at all familiar with their raid group. However I do know my brother & his wife each have two level 80s on Exodar’s alliance side that they raid with, and they’re super nice people. They’re not part of any hardcore raiding guild, but they organize or get in on something a couple nights a week. Recently it’s been mostly ICC, and they do a lot of the ICC 5-man runs, but they’ve also been doing Ulduar and ToC. If you’re interested in raiding on Anea with a really cool couple, I could introduce you. I guess I’m not even sure if they need a healer, but I know my sister-in-law alternates between raiding with her rogue and her holy paladin, so I imagine what they need fluctuates from run to run.

  7. January 6, 2010 11:57 PM

    Aww, I’m sorry to hear he doesn’t play with you anymore. Sideshow and I had a lot of fun questing and leveling together when Wrath first came out. And even though neither of us have quit, it can be hard sometimes when we take our mini-breaks from the game at different times.The guild thing sounds all too familiar too. Although with us, it really wasn’t the officer core that was in the clique that hit 80 together first. What did happen was a few guildies hit max first, (one was even the server first of his race!) and several left for raiding guilds. Several of them were getting impatient with how long everyone else took and then complained when they had to run heroics and such over and over with the rest of us… then took a break.Bah, it actually brought a fair mount of turmoil and drama to our guild.

  8. Anea permalink
    January 7, 2010 6:52 PM

    @Jaedia: Bah, being left behind while leveling isn’t any fun. And it’s too bad we’re not on the came "continent", leveling together for funsies would be… well, funsies :D@Jack: Oof, you have quite the stomach if you can tolerate that much Death Knight. I’ve spent TOO much time playing Death Knights (now that I think about it, it’s rather sad) and I’m sick of them already, haha. Hm… I have wanted to start healing again – all the Death Knighting was making me miss it dearly, and I would jump on Anea and run her through randoms, but I’m worried her gear would be subpar, since she’s not been played in so many months. If I get a major calling to heal on Anea, I’d definitely like to see about the possibility on getting in on a few raids with them. Thanks for thinking of me :)@Syrana: It hit me really hard that he quit ’cause it was one of the things that we did together all the time – our other interests are so different. Even though, after leveling, we didn’t spend ALL our game time together, it was nice knowing if I needed a meatshield for a group quest or he wanted to run something and needed a healer, we were there for each other. I’m surprised how much the whole clique thing happens in guilds. I guess I shouldn’t be too surprised, but… /sigh

Leave a Reply

