Skip to content

WTB tips – PST

January 21, 2010

One post idea that has been floating in and out of my mind requires reader input.  It requires blogger input.

I am looking for tips for new bloggers. 

What do you, as a blogger, have as advice to someone who’s just starting out?  As a reader, are there some things that you would like new authors to know about your preferences?  What could go in a “primer” for those new to the blogosphere?

Let me know – send tips in.  I can only think of so many tips on my own and in this case, I think “the more the merrier” certainly applies.

You can leave a comment on this post, you can send me an e-mail – spacegoat (at) anea (dot) nu – or you can use the contact form.  Whichever pleases you.

And spread the word!

7 Comments leave one →
  1. January 21, 2010 5:06 AM

    1) Set a topic. Decide what you are going to write about. It might be priests, it might be role playing or it might be raiding and boss strats. This will help you when you run out of ideas.2) Set a goal. Decide how often you are going to post and for how long. Set a reasonable goal. Mine was to post every second day for 12 months. This will help you to keep writing3) Don’t worry about comments or lack there of on your blog. Takes a while for them to start4) Advertise your blog. Nothing overt for me I just comment on other peoples blogs. People see you have a website and get curious.5) Check comments and remove spam.6) Almost forgot the most important one – make your post titles informative and concise. This will increase the amount of traffic you get from search engine. 7) Have fun! If it starts feeling like a day job, it might be time to review what, when, how often you blog, or even if you want to continue blogging.Hmm, i’m sure there was more wisdom somewhere…Gobble gobble.

  2. January 21, 2010 9:50 AM

    I wrote a couple of posts last year on blogging that you might find interesting:On Blogging, Part IOn Blogging, Part II

  3. January 21, 2010 9:31 PM

    Pro blog tips:"Before going public, draft a large number (I used 20) of posts to make sure you have enough ideas. It also helps to let you know how regular you can expect your postings to be.""Avoid the urge to censor your comments. Spam is one thing, criticism is another. Related – take everything in your comments with a grain of salt.""Don’t opine about anything you don’t understand. You can use your blog to ask for assistance, but don’t express opinions on things that you don’t have a grasp on.""If you want comments, be provocative. Most people will only comment if they disagree with you."

  4. January 22, 2010 9:49 PM

    I’m still trying to figure it out myself. In my opinion, make it fun. If its not fun then its not worth it. I still have lots of bugs to work out myself, so I don’t know if I have a lot of suggestions, but not everybody has to be an expert to be able to write a blog. You might only be an amateur at playing your priest, but if its your favorite class and you like the go for it. Maybe you’re blog is the "human interest" story, or something else like that.I also think its important to interact with your readers, reply to comments and emails, create a community, network around your blog. Oh, and maybe keep a piece of paper with you to jot down ideas, you never know when they’ll come, but if they aren’t written down you may very well forget them as soon as they come (I know that happens to me).

  5. January 22, 2010 10:12 PM

    Tips I like to share are mostly in my Blogging 101 page on my blog, feel free to use them if you agree, I don’t mind :)One of the biggest things that will put me off a blog is truncated posts, particularly if truncated in the feed reader. The amount of blogs I follow I can’t be bothered to click through. There are many reasons it is bad.That, along with a tidy looking blog (if there has been no visible effort to show people you care about your little space on the web, even if it’s just to make it tidy, doesn’t have to sparkle and dance for me, then I probably won’t bother reading either) and an RSS feed, whether there’s a button or not, as long as I can sign up for the RSS feed in my reader, and the posts aren’t truncated. I guess they are the 3 most important aspects of a blog to me :)

  6. January 26, 2010 10:58 PM

    I would go further than Tarsus did in his suggestion: In addition to having a bunch of ideas in mind, have multiple posts actually published before announcing to the world that you’ve got this brand new blog. The Internet is littered with the corpses of one-post-ever blogs, and frankly, those bloggers tend to be sort of embarrassed by them. Make sure you’re actually a blogger, not a one-time essayist, before declaring yourself as such. It’s not for everyone, and maybe it won’t be for you — and then your posts can just be guest posts on someone else’s blog, allowing you to be an occasional writer, rather than one tied (or at least perceived to be) a more regular schedule.

  7. January 29, 2010 11:02 AM

    Hi Anea :)I wrote a "how to" a while about – feel free to steal points from it.http://treebarkjacket.com/guides/advice-on-starting-your-own-blog/

Leave a Reply

