Skip to content

Fun – the game has it!

January 28, 2010

After my post Struggles, I took a break from WoW for a little while.  I had expected it to last longer than it did but after a while, the idea for a new RP character was too much and I wanted to get it started.

There were lots of weird back and forth cobbling together of character and potential story that is how I work, but in the end, I went a completely different direction than what I had initially had in mind.  And that was ok.

The story that I had in mind for the character was to be a healer, yes – but I’m also incorporating books (she’s a scribe!) and herbs and inks (scribe!  She is one!)  It’s odd how fun a new profession can be.  She has many elements of my earlier RP personalities, but that’s because they are things that I want to have for my RP, they just hadn’t found the right home for the ideas.  Everything fits together very well in her, so I feel confident.

Tonight, she ran into the tavern in the Dwarven District with the intent of seeing if any books were laying around to be read, but she ran into a few people sitting around and drinking.  My first thought was just to run back out rather than RP “before I was ready” but I figured what the hell.  No time like the present, hey?  It was quite nice, really.  A little scary, because the only other people I had RP’d with before, I knew through Twitter or blogs, but these people were totally new to me so I didn’t know what to expect at all.  It was a nice little chit chat – a good exercise in RP, I suppose.

(Actually, I may post my character concept here eventually.  That’s an idea!)

While she was poking around looking for books, my new priest did find two that she found particularly interesting and sad.  While she stopped in at Saldean’s farm, there was a book upstairs titled Aegwynn and the Dragon Hunt that was interesting for me to read – I hadn’t known anything about Aegwynn.  Conveniently, at the inn in Sentinel Hill there was a continuation of the story, The Last Guardian.  I found them very tragic.

I hope that if I pace myself and only play when I truly want to (not because I feel like I ought to, just so I can get to 80 quicker) the game will still be fun.  It’s still hard remembering Lus at odd times and missing him but I think that with all the great people in the guild and on the server, it’ll be alright.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. January 28, 2010 9:35 AM

    It’s very hard coming back to something when you feel – or felt – a real connection to someone.I don’t think this does just apply to WoW.I have songs I can’t listen to.Films I don’t like to watch.I have a baby priest sat at level 23, looking at me mourningfully because I can’t quite bring myself to play her – a good friend who had some issues and decided to stop playing and stop talking to me full stop was my RAF for her. Even though we’d barely started gaming together playing her reminds me of him because of all the stuff we used to do together, out of game too.Moving back in to the game is the right thing to do for you, and pacing yourself slowly and playing as and when you feel right is the best way to go about it.Good luck.Sophx

  2. Anea permalink
    January 28, 2010 11:35 PM

    @Sohpx: Thank you.

  3. February 3, 2010 10:44 PM

    I do think you have to look at what is really fun and do that. If its focusing on a RP story line, playing 100 different alts, or making up a game jumping on tiles in IronForge, you have to do what is fun. I think its easy to get sucked into working on goals and grinding, then it starts to feel like a job. And by golly, I don’t want a job that I have to pay to do!! Its your $15 bucks, do with it what you’d like.That reminds me, I’ve neglected my feathermoon RP toons as of late, I really ought to have Praxton or someone come visit the university soon.

Leave a Reply

