Skip to content

A(n exciting) scary contemplation!

February 5, 2010

One of the things that I have always wanted to do in game is have a jewelcrafter.  Anea started out as an alchemist to fill her role as helpful healer to the fullest and hasn’t switched from that ever since she was just a baby priest.  But just about every alt I’ve made after that has had jewelcrafting, with varying rates of success.  Their level, mining skill and/or gold on the server that they call home really dictates how well they do or don’t do.

However, since Anea is my only max level character, I have never gotten any character to max level with jewelcrafting.  I’ve always wanted to – mostly ’cause I’ve romanticized it.  I want to find gems in ore and make pretty jewelry!  Oh yeah, and I heard that special helpful gems are nice… but shineys!

I’ve been thinking more and more of picking Anea up, but she’s… Old Anea.  She’s “boring” because I haven’t done anything new on her since I took her to the barbershop for the first time.  Friendly and comfortable is one thing (/hugs priest healing) but what else is there to make the game exciting and new and fun for me again?

I always tell other people that the game is, first and foremost, a game.  It ought to be fun!  Sometimes it’s easy to get sucked into the grind of farming for X, gearing up, doing whatever it is that can be draining to us while we’re in the game.

However, a line from Aoirselvar‘s comment has been resonating in my head tonight:

I do think you have to look at what is really fun and do that. If its focusing on a RP story line, playing 100 different alts, or making up a game jumping on tiles in IronForge, you have to do what is fun.

…and it gave me a thought.

What if I switched Anea’s professions?

This is a big decision, for several reasons.  For one, I’ve always been a flower picker and as much as I may groan about it, I do like seeing the new flowers that are around the world and I think it especially convenient that I can make my own potions and flasks.  (Plus the trinket that I am still using.)  It was helpful to the guild and especially useful for Lus since I would farm the herbs for all his damn potions.  /grumble

For another, herbalism and alchemy are smart professions to have – they’re not labor intensive, they’re always useful and can be used to make money if I would get off my butt and actually hawk my wares.  The way that I’ve been operating, they haven’t really made me money, but they’ve sure saved me money.

If I had a jewelcrafter that was also Anea, the chances of it being leveled to max are very high, since I have the time to farm the mats and the resources to do level it fairly painlessly.  I don’t have an active raiding schedule and may not for a while, so I could spend some time in game re-familiarizing myself with Anea as I mined ore and made some pretty baubles.  And also, if I did have Anea as a jewelcrafter, then I could scratch “have jewelcrafter!” off my silly little To Do list.  (I’ll be damned if I know any other reason why I want one so bad besides it matches Draenei and because I just want one.)

But part of the reason that I don’t want to is that sometimes you can’t teach an old dog new tricks.  As I’ve mentioned before, when I roll a character, I have an image and an idea of who they are already in my mind – this includes what they do for their professions and it all meshes together to make the whole.  If I switch part of Anea’s whole, will I “ruin” it?  Will I miss picking flowers and brewing potions too much?

I won’t even mention engineering and the awesome looking goggles they have…

5 Comments leave one →
  1. February 5, 2010 9:44 AM

    I don’t think so! There’s much JC can offer a healing priest—mine is one! The JC gems are really nice, and you get to chose which stat you increase (I go with int for all 3 of my JC gems in my current gear) and there’s trinkets for JCs, too. I think you’ll enjoy leveling it… I didn’t have a miner and I enjoyed leveling it back in BC even though I had to buy gems/ore off the AH to make the shinies.If you’re worried about dropping alchemy, then don’t! Just drop herbalism and pick up JC, do what I did and mooch ore no one’s using off guildies (offer to give them the things you make to DE or sell or use for alts!) and buy ore on the AH to prospect. Sell the gems you don’t use back on the AH and you pretty much break even.

  2. February 5, 2010 10:25 AM

    If you’d told me 10 years ago that I’d be teaching in a computer lab today, I probably wouldn’t have believed you.When my father became an RN, if you’d told him that he would also become a licensed electrician AND a cop, he may very well have called you crazy.People change career paths (CAREERS, not just the jobs we take while waiting for those careers to start) in real life all the time, I don’t think you’d be ruining a character by having her do something similar. My only concern would be if you had any really hard to get recipes – it’s what kept me from abandoning Enchanting on my priest until my pally had the same ones.In any case, that’s my 2 cents worth.

  3. Jack permalink
    February 5, 2010 3:01 PM

    My main is a level 80 feral on Dentarg. Started with herbalism/alchemy, but switched to skinning/leatherworking fairly early. Well, I reached the point that I never actually skin anymore. I rarely make anything except the fur linings, drums and leg armors and always buy the mats for them.I also just started a priest on Dentarg. I had the urge to be an alchemist, but one of the problems I had with alchemy early on is that the herbs I wanted to pick to level it up were always in zones a level higher than I could safely wander around. So this time, I dropped skinning on the Druid, picked up Herbalism and voila . . . levelling it up is soooo easy. It took a little research to find out the best places to herb (teldrassil for peacebloom/silverleaf, Barrens for mageroyal/brairthorn, etc.) but feeding the druid’s herbs to the priest let me pick up inscription too and now the toughest part is that the priest is maxing out the professions quickly enough that I need to level up to continue. I mean, I’m at 225 alchemy and nearly 200 in cooking and inscription at just level 20.I’ve done similar with new characters on new servers where I made a DK to be their farmer. For mining, you just start in Dun Morogh for copper, then hillsbrad when you can mine tin, alterac/arathi for iron, Hinterlands for mithril and I really like southern Winterspring (Darkwhisper Gorge) for Thorium if your high enough level to easily handle the level 60ish elites there. Then it’s on to Outland. Easy.

  4. February 5, 2010 7:54 PM

    There’s lots of benefits to being a Jewelcrafter – "ooh, shiny" is just one of many. :D I’ve been toying with it myself, but I would want an alt to go farming mats for me – I don’t have the income to buy my way to 450. C’est la vie.Of course, I can also understand the other side – not wanting to change the ‘image’ of Anea you have in your head. Which is also cool! But the shinies, they are tempting…

  5. February 6, 2010 11:07 AM

    Hmm actually, I’m a weird one with professions. I like to have alts with different professions to my main, and on my main server I’m missing Alchemy, Engineering and Blacksmithing. I also like to combine the appropriate gathering profession with whichever profession I chose. I’ve wanted to switch my hunter’s professions for so long but she is a Leatherworker/Skinner. Always has been! I’ve put time, effort, and money into her profession, and I’ve collected some pretty nice patterns I’d never get back :<But, if you can level them both, start doing the JC dailies, collecting useful epic gems/metas, you might find you prefer it. They have trinkets too! You can finally respond to all of those.. "LF JC" in /2, help your friends, and heck, make money. I have a JC on both servers I play, it is the profession I make most of my money with since enchanting can’t anymore.

Leave a Reply

