Skip to content

I am not your heal bitch

February 18, 2010

I usually try to stay away from these types of posts and try not to harp on things too much, but the number of people pushing my buttons has gotten too high for today.

I am not your heal bitch.

I will not heal you to full because you are too lazy to sit down and eat.

I will not heal you to full because you “dont hav food”.

I will not heal you to full because “you don’t need food in heroics”.

I am not your heal bitch.

If I can sit down and eat after buffing or topping off someone who just got rezzed, you can too.

I always come prepared for heroics – it is not hard and it’s common courtesy to do so.

Yes, you do need food and/or water in heroics – especially when you run ahead and pull a boss when the group isn’t ready and you wipe us.

I am not your heal bitch.

Yes, I am a healer.  No, that doesn’t make me your personal healing slave, to heal when and how much you want.

I chose to have this role in the party.  I am more than happy to heal you while we’re in combat, and after if you need topping off.  It’s what I enjoy doing.

This does not mean that my mana is the equivalent of your food.

“At your gear level, you shouldn’t be worrying about mana issues.”  I’m not – it’s a respect issue.  Healers are not something for you to use whenever you enter an instance.

I am not your heal bitch.

I’ve noticed that I’ve become way more of a stickler about this issue than I ever used to be.  Back before the LFG system, I would usually have guild runs, but even then, sometimes we’d have to pug a DPS.  I was much more lenient then – I attribute this to the fact that no one DEMANDED I heal them.  That no one arrogantly stood around at half health while I sat to drink because my mana was gone.

Other players USED to be courteous.  But now this new system has taken away potential reprecussions that being discourteous and an ass will get you if you group solely on your own realm.  It makes it easier to be a twatwaffle when you (most likely) won’t see those people again.

And it isn’t just the food issue – it’s other behavior.  Being rude or insulting to other players.  Random AFKs with no explanation.  Abusive language when wipes do occur.

And so as the behavior of the people in my groups has changed, so have I, I’m sorry to say.  Perhaps some see me as a selfish healer who isn’t doing my job because I won’t heal you up full at any and all times.  But is it truly a “not playing your class/spec” issue if I don’t do it?  Healers – are you comfortable healing up party members when they don’t eat, and you’re stuck drinking frantically as the tank runs to the next pull?  Am I the lone reed here?

My faith in humanity has so many ups and downs with the system.  Just earlier today I posted about a great group I had – and now I had not one, but two so horrible I felt like I had to post this.

The common rules of courtesy apply in any situation when you are interacting with another human being – this includes PuGs.  But I would like to reinforce the preparedness issue – bring food.  And eat it when you see your health is low and the healer is drinking.

Because I am not your heal bitch.

39 Comments leave one →
  1. February 18, 2010 1:42 AM

    AMEN. I actually have not run into a lot of problems on my priest. However, I have in the past and it makes me want to throw a bowling ball at people’s heads. I have the same issue with my mage. Adding ‘plz’ after telling me to open a portal does not work. I started teleporting one time after being told to open a portal and they actually said ‘um.. you’re teleporting.’ My response? ‘Yeah, I know :D’ It really bugs me when people demand portals. I know warlocks have the same issue with summoning people. -.-

  2. February 18, 2010 1:56 AM

    I’ve only healed at low level (15-26), but I’ve run into this too. I think if they would just roll a healer, most people would realize how annoying and inconsiderate it is. I know after trying my hand at healing, I’ve actually changed the way I play in groups.

  3. February 18, 2010 2:15 AM

    You are a good healer hon. People are just douches, especially in R-LFG. I think they just feel like can act however they want because they may not run into those people ever again.But the frustration remains. *huggles*

  4. February 18, 2010 2:21 AM

    You have every right to feel this way, as far as I am concerned.People not using food – especially when a mage has provided it – to top off after a wipe has always been a pet peeve of mine, but I can handle it in raids. I don’t mind. When I have people who don’t sit to eat and then spam ‘HAELZ PLZ’ I get rather irate. When a warlock lifetaps to near death in the middle of combat and doesn’t bother to replenish it via drain, I get rather irate. When people lie there dead after a full wipe, wait for me to make the 5 minute run back, then demand ‘REZ ME HEALER’… I get rather irate!So no, you’re not alone in this.

  5. February 18, 2010 2:21 AM

    You have every right to feel this way, as far as I am concerned.People not using food – especially when a mage has provided it – to top off after a wipe has always been a pet peeve of mine, but I can handle it in raids. I don’t mind. When I have people who don’t sit to eat and then spam ‘HAELZ PLZ’ I get rather irate. When a warlock lifetaps to near death in the middle of combat and doesn’t bother to replenish it via drain, I get rather irate. When people lie there dead after a full wipe, wait for me to make the 5 minute run back, then demand ‘REZ ME HEALER’… I get rather irate!So no, you’re not alone in this.

  6. February 18, 2010 2:44 AM

    Shit I’m the TANK and I bring food to eat if I’m less than 90% after a fight and the heals is drinking. I KNOW I’m going to get healed the next pull, yet I eat anyway. Why? Because its common fucking courtesy. When I play my priest, I do not heal retardo lifetapping warlocks who refuse to eat or bandage. I do not heal anyone who displeases me. Why? Because I don’t have to. I heal the dps as a kindness, not as a requirement. The way I see it, I am there to heal the tank. And thats it. Don’t like it? BRING SOME FUCKING FOOD.

  7. February 18, 2010 3:09 AM

    I think that you are justified in saying this and feeling the way you do. I don’t mind healing whatever health is down because I don’t know their reason (if they are like me, I seldom play my hunter enough to remember I forgot to stock food) for not eating or w/e. Being a healadin, I rarely have to sit and drink and just Divine Plea through 95% of the pulls if I need it. Should I have to sit and drink resulting in a lot of downtime, I may have more of an issue with it. All the same, my problem, similar to what you’re feeling, is people demanding to be healed. I do my job as I see fit and if that means sacrificing a dumbass/douche, I’m sorry. You should learn to respect me and know that without me…or a healer in general rather…your group is doomed.

  8. February 18, 2010 5:02 AM

    I am perfectly okay with chucking a hot on people to top up after a wipe or whatever, but if someone asks or demands a heal, tough luck. Especially hunters who demand I heal their pet – I will heal pets, as long as the other members of the group aren’t in more need of a heal than your precious Pooky is, so just get over it and l2mendpet.You’re certainly not the only one who isn’t a heal bitch!

  9. February 18, 2010 5:51 AM

    PS. I have thus decided, if we wipe and I have to run my ass back…you shouldn’t expect a res. That is sooo irritating when they think they are too good to run back with the group. NERDRAGE! 0:)

  10. February 18, 2010 6:39 AM

    Yes, exactly! What part of "My mana bar" do people think means "Your personal bitch?" Good for you for not taking people’s crap when it comes to this. We have to drink to refill our mana, it’s the least people could do to help us out. I go through almost all my mage strudels in a given raid, not just refilling my mana but I’ll sit to eat after I’ve been buffed and my health isn’t completely topped off. It’s just common courtesy, and it speeds things up in the long run, too.

  11. February 18, 2010 7:52 AM

    I like healing people, that’s why I rolled a healer. I like seeing bars fill up. I don’t have mana issues and consider it my responsability to keep everyone up – yes, I do try to heal stupid.However… I hate people who say ‘heal plz’ or any variation of this. I particularly hate people who say ‘healer, heal mel’. My name is 3 LETTERS long and as simple as can be, why can’t you just type it?! I’m a person, not some NPC who happens to be a healer.

  12. February 18, 2010 1:55 PM

    Yeah, I’m a DPSer, but I try my best to be nice to the healer. When I’m on my hunter I’ll set up traps in front of them in if the tank is having issues keeping aggro, and I always, always thank people for a rez, even when I’m the only one who died. They could still make me run back, and honestly I don’t mind. As for healing myself after a fight, I don’t expect to be healed. I’m bad about remembering to eat, even though I have food in my bags, but that’s not out of entitlement but sheer ditziness. If the healer were to be like "Poe, please eat" I would be like "kay, sorry!" and do so. A lot of the time they end up topping me off anyway, and I thank them. After this post I will make sure to eat after a wipe and after a fight while the healer drinks, because you’re right. I wasn’t aware I was coming off as rude. :( It was more "dootdootdoot waiting for health to regen dootdootdoot". On the other hand, the idea that I don’t need to be healed during combat and should be grateful, not expressed by you but by other commenters smacks of smugness and entitlement. We ARE there for a reason, that reason being to protect the healer, bring down the boss quickly, and when asked (and I can’t remember the last time someone requested a sap or trap in a heroic!) to cc. We are just as important to your group as the healer and the tank, believe it or not.

  13. February 18, 2010 4:46 PM

    I absolutely love this post. I want to frame it and hang it on my wall. But in the meantime, I’m going to read it during the recording of Episode 20 of our WoWphiles podcast tonight. You are saying what the rest of us have been thinking and mumbling to ourselves.

  14. February 18, 2010 4:52 PM

    As a DPS who occasionally stands around at half health, I have to say most of the time that I’m just not thinking about my current health bar. In most heroics, the healers are so overgeared (and half the classes so overpowered) that I haven’t had to think about my current HP outside of "don’t stand in the hellfire, idiot" in quite some time. I can’t remember the last time I was seriously worried about dying in a 5-man instance. The truth is that healers have spoiled us. We are so used to being at 100% life all the time (even when we do f*ck up and stand in the fire) that it has not really become a big deal to watch our own life anymore. I, and I believe most other dps, assume that the healer is in the group, not afk, they have a window with my lifebar and name attached to it, if I get close to dying, they will do something about it. It is their job and they do it quite well. This is reinforced by the fact that I chase you guys around BG’s and Arena on weekends watching you never run out of mana or life after literal minutes of being beat on. If I give a half a second worth of time, your life bar is at full, why isn’t mine? =)

  15. Ailinea permalink
    February 18, 2010 5:03 PM

    I’m totally with you on this!When I’m on my mage, the first thing I do is offer everyone (even the tank, who is usually my own dear fiance) a stack of mana strudels. They have no excuse to not eat AND drink if they need it.So when I’m on my priest, I get a little irate when a) there’s a mage in the group who doesn’t do the same, and b) when the tank (yes, even my own dear fiance) continues pulling when I am in need of mana.This happened recently and I made a comment in Vent about how mana is precious to healers because it is what provides the group with heals. Another dear friend and guildie was on her DK and made a sarcastic comment about not needing mana (I know it was meant as a joke but I was a bit miffed at this point–yes, the fiance got a thorough chewing-out). I replied that if that’s the case, she doesn’t need my heals, either. She commented back that she’s blood spec and would be fine. So I gave her no heals except for the bosses when her health was in that dark-red-about-to-die stage. I wasn’t about to cause a group wipe, so I healed her only to the point of survivability, but no more than that. Cleric Wrath means "don’t piss off your healer."I like keeping everyone at full and get paranoid when they’re not. But disrespecting my mana bar means my next Penance will be cast as mob damage, and you’ll be lucky if you receive a pity Renew.

  16. Ailinea permalink
    February 18, 2010 5:03 PM

    I’m totally with you on this!When I’m on my mage, the first thing I do is offer everyone (even the tank, who is usually my own dear fiance) a stack of mana strudels. They have no excuse to not eat AND drink if they need it.So when I’m on my priest, I get a little irate when a) there’s a mage in the group who doesn’t do the same, and b) when the tank (yes, even my own dear fiance) continues pulling when I am in need of mana.This happened recently and I made a comment in Vent about how mana is precious to healers because it is what provides the group with heals. Another dear friend and guildie was on her DK and made a sarcastic comment about not needing mana (I know it was meant as a joke but I was a bit miffed at this point–yes, the fiance got a thorough chewing-out). I replied that if that’s the case, she doesn’t need my heals, either. She commented back that she’s blood spec and would be fine. So I gave her no heals except for the bosses when her health was in that dark-red-about-to-die stage. I wasn’t about to cause a group wipe, so I healed her only to the point of survivability, but no more than that. Cleric Wrath means "don’t piss off your healer."I like keeping everyone at full and get paranoid when they’re not. But disrespecting my mana bar means my next Penance will be cast as mob damage, and you’ll be lucky if you receive a pity Renew.

  17. February 18, 2010 5:05 PM

    Totally agree.I do tend to buckle and top them up before the next pull tho… I would rather not have to res them if they die because they where low.I have been in some runs where i can see a mana burn going on and being careful not to drop below 75% so then can bandage/eat.. Often i will top them up quickly. I have also offered sometimes to let them mana burn hard between fights and I would keep them up. I always get a thank you and the appreciation i think is what makes this ok.Now if i see heavy mana burning going on and not asking… i let them drop… and sometimes die… its mean i know but they shouldn’t assume i’m a mana bucket for them.Totems down, Hero up!~chamsa

  18. February 18, 2010 5:06 PM

    Here here.I’ve always found taking advantage of the healer an annoyance. A shame they won’t read and listen to this /sigh.

  19. February 18, 2010 5:11 PM

    Fully justified, as all the other comments have noted as well.So many healers though do feel like they have to heal everyone back to full all the time. I keep at least two full stacks of both food and drink on my toons at all times because I actually don’t want the healer wasting their time and energy doing something I’m fully capable of doing myself. Even on my warlock I let the healer know before hand not to bother wasting mana to heal me if I’m not taking damage from the mobs. I’ve got plenty of ways to heal myself and I know how to manage my agro. As DPS, if I die then it’s usually my own fault. And demanding a rez after a wipe is the absolute worst. When I’m tanking I’ll ask the healer not to rez morons that don’t run back after a wipe. If I’m the healer, I’ll refuse to rez you after a wipe. If you die, no problem I have a rez for a reason, but if we wipe then we’ve all got equal shares in getting back and getting ready; tank included.People really piss me off sometimes.

  20. February 18, 2010 5:14 PM

    Y’know, I’m tempted to link this to every group I heal from now ’til the end of time.I agree. I agree wholeheartedly. I can’t add anything that hasn’t been said, so I’ll just say, I’m a cranky healer/tank/DPS and I endorse this message.

  21. Jack permalink
    February 18, 2010 7:51 PM

    Expecting people to bring their own food? Not unreasonable at all. Especially with the simple "teleport out of dungeon" option that lets us pop in and out at will.You need food? Go buy some, we’ll wait.Seriously, I’ve rarely had anyone get abusive with me when I’m healing. The very few times they did, I had no qualms about just quitting the group. Mid fight if the whole group is being dickish.

  22. February 18, 2010 8:46 PM

    My healer is a max-level, well-geared druid. I toss out a WG at the end of the fight and we’re good. I’m almost always healing my bear-tank hubby and he sets the pace for the dps – and if they have time to type something like "Hael plz" that’s a rare occurrence. Heck, I’ve started whining at warlocks for NOT life tapping right after fights, since they usually have a hot up on them. Is that wrong?But if someone gets abusive, I know all I have to do is mention it to the tank and the next time that dps pulls aggro, oops, guess the tank didn’t notice and my heals just weren’t enough… and somehow just knowing I can do that means I don’t mind jerks nearly as much.

  23. ambient permalink
    February 19, 2010 5:10 PM

    My biggest irritation is that non-mana users can basically keep themselves supplied with FOOD DROPS FROM MOBS. (My rogue has 200 salted yeti cheeses from my priest’s polar bear grind, and I’m not getting to use them because I have so much other food sitting around!) It is *pathetic* in my mind to be a physical class caught without food. Chances are, unless you’re being a douche or it was a really tough fight, the healer will top you off anyway and you won’t even need your food! But definitely count me in the crowd that will only heal you out-of-battle if I have nothing better to do — if I’m drinking, you’re on your own!Because, buddy, I spend money and time every week to cook up my 25 Kungaloosh (not to mention that I had to level cooking and do a quest line to have that recipe). So while I’m doing it as economically as possible, if there’s no mage and I’m sitting down to drink, I’m PAYING to refill my mana bar. The least you could do is dig out the random Salted Venison the last guy dropped.

  24. Anea permalink
    February 19, 2010 8:44 PM

    @Rose: You know, it IS the same thing with mages/portals and warlocks/summoning. I didn’t even think about it at the time I wrote this. And that is because I don’t think that’s something I’m entitled to. If the mage chooses to give us a portal at the end of an instance that’s really nice! Otherwise, I get out the trusty hearthstone.@Deyndor: That’s awesome that you’ve seen "the other side" and actually applied the knowledge and experience you gained by changing your playstyle. I know it was an eye opener for me to actually tank on my DK, rather than just watching Lus tank and feel like I "knew" what it is to tank – whole other world.@Tart: Thank you <3@Dristanel: Yes! Then they "ask" (and always "plz" with a "z") it’s just like poking you with a stick, isnt it? And actually, my last two runs last night, after zoning in, I did add the "we all wipe, we all run" clause just to make sure we were on the same page. I felt a little weird about it, but no complaints and no idiots laying around waiting to spam "REZ PLZ" as soon as I zone back into the instance.@Baenhoof: We are so on the same page – actually, when I see a warlock Life Tap correctly, or a small amount so as not to strain me, I’m so happy I want to overheal them into oblivion in thanks.@Tarinae: Actually, just last night I had a pally support me last night in HoR when I reminded people that no, I will not rez you after the boss fight – I am trying to chug my Honeymint Tea to have mana enough to heal the rest of the group through the coming waves. He said he knows it’s rough for a healer, but he got through fine because of his Divine Plea… I thought, "WTB Divine Plea!"Also: I support your new resolve and dedication to the "We All Wipe, We All Run" credo! @Angelya: Hm… I’ve never had anyone demand I heal their pet. Lucky me? (I did have a hunter in a group yesterday who had named his pet Buffmetoo) :)@Vidyala: ‘What part of "My mana bar" do people think means "Your personal bitch?"’ ahahahaha – I want to macro that so bad! :D@Jen: I like seeing the bars fill up as well – I prefer when they’re full! But as we both agree, it’s a matter of courtesy. And the constant "healer" reference when they’re talking specifically to me annoys me too… my name is only one letter more than yours, yet they’d rather write out "healer" – but abbreviate every other word! Gah!@Poeryth: I know some people are bad to remember to eat – whether they are doing it on purpose or not, when I see people standing around while I’m drinking (especially when time is an issue) I’ll say, "Everyone grab a bite" since I feel it still gets my message across, but isn’t "AMG EAT ARGH!" Usually it works just fine, but every once in a while, I have someone be a smartass and say, "I don’t see food on the ground" and it makes me want to shank them.I will also agree that "DPS are people too" and I do of course heal you in combat… but sometimes there are DPS that forget that the priority list does go tank > DPS – I even had a guy in PoS send me a tell asking if I saw that he needed heals. My jaw dropped for a second, not only because of the nature of the question but also because the person asking it was the person who had died to stupid no less than five times since I came to the group in the middle of the instance and twice in a row by not getting out poison.@Jason: I’m flattered you liked it that much! I can’t wait to hear the episode :)@shieldbreakr: To give a personal response to your "healers are overgeared, why should I worry about it?" comment – I am not overgeared. I picked Anea back up only about two weeks ago and her gear is a year old – literally. I am still updating her gear and am not yet at the level of all the other priests who have been raiding and updating their gear as it should have been. While I will say that I don’t usually have mana issues, I can’t run through the Icecrown 5-mans and yawn at the easiness of it. As the theme of the post was courtesy, it doesn’t stop applying because of gear. There may be healers who don’t mind when other players don’t eat – I am not one of them.@Alinea: Only half the time do mages provide tables, in my experience. However, when they do, I’m happy! Not only do I get free food for a little while, I KNOW no one can use the "don’t have food" excuse – which is just absolutely ridiculous. Mage tables are always appreciated. And "don’t piss off your healer" is one of the lessons that not everyone has learned. I usually stop short of letting someone die outright – but they’ll get the Pity Renew you talked about – and that’s it.@Chamsa: I really try not to buckle and not throw the Idiot DPS a renew before the pull… however, what good does that do me if they’d just get healed DURING the pull? Then my efforts would be for nothing. I’ve gotten around this by doing a Circle of Healing – that way I’m healing everyone (myself included) and so don’t have to feel bad about healing only the Idiot DPS. @Jaedia: Would that more DPS/tanks agreed with you!@Psynister: You are one of those courteous players that I would LOVE to have my parties. I never get one of you though >.> And a tank that not only agrees with me, but TELLS me not to rez the morons?! <3…if we wipe then we’ve all got equal shares in getting back and getting ready; tank included. YES@Matojo: *cranky healer high five*@Jack: I have the stupid impulse to at least try to finish a group, no matter how much they piss me off. However, it would probably be better for my sanity if I would just leave the minute they start getting too dickish. I left a group in the middle of an instance for the first time day before yesterday – it’s what prompted this post, actually. It wasn’t just one or two people that were being asses though, it was the whole damn party. That was too much. Ugh. However, after I ported back to Dalaran, I "forgot" to leave group for about five minutes (and they couldn’t kick me) Oops >.> :>@Analogue: I miss having my boyfriend being my tank – not only because I can get him to do runs when I want and because he’s a familiar tank, but because when someone is an ass, I can let him know and he’ll "forget" to taunt like your hubby, or help me enforce a rule (such as WAWWAR) Now, I have to hope I get a "good" tank – otherwise, I’m on my own.@ambient: That is absolutely a great point! You can eat just fine with the drops that come from mobs… they’re always sitting there in my bag – surely the other party members have them. Eat them! So simple… It really does boggle me when people say they don’t have food or "I don’t need food" – did they not remember leveling when you would need to have food while out questing? Perhaps it’s just the Over Prepared Healer in me, but I always stock up with 100 food/water. Yes, 100. That way, I have NO way of running out. Same with reagents. I’ll restock every two instances or so. That may be "overboard" to some of you, but you certainly have room in your bags for two stacks of each.

  25. February 20, 2010 10:47 PM

    /Cheer I am very glad that as a disc. priest in my current gear that mana isn’t really an issue, so if I do get a tank who ignores mana breaks at least I don’t need to worry about it so much. In the past I have refused to heal tanks who didn’t stop for mana breaks, I’ve found that soon gets their attention ;)

  26. February 20, 2010 10:47 PM

    /Cheer I am very glad that as a disc. priest in my current gear that mana isn’t really an issue, so if I do get a tank who ignores mana breaks at least I don’t need to worry about it so much. In the past I have refused to heal tanks who didn’t stop for mana breaks, I’ve found that soon gets their attention ;)

  27. Trys permalink
    February 21, 2010 5:26 PM

    I am so glad you wrote this because you wrote it better than I could ever could. And I’ve been running into this for the past I don’t know how long that it is now getting on my last nerve. In fact I think I’m going to steal the heal bitch whenever I run into people in randoms who do the above.

  28. February 22, 2010 9:36 AM

    There’s nothing I can possibly say to this except: amen!

  29. February 22, 2010 9:36 AM

    There’s nothing I can possibly say to this except: amen!

  30. February 22, 2010 5:13 PM

    I’ve played healers and at the moment I’m levelling several chars, one of which is a destro lock.Now my responsibility is to do good dps. I could be an arse and lifetap to death but generally I ask the healer if they’re fine chucking a renew on me every so often so I can tap. I bandage most CDs.Not healing me because of an AOE effect is silly. I understand not topping off locks who expect it however there are points when I will be taking damage and you "should" be healing me. You can choose not to and wipe because all the dps is dead – generally I’ll be popping Healthstones and pots and draining life if its desperate anyway but thats besides the point. If healers were only meant to heal the tank why would you have Wild Growth, circle of healing, chain heal or glyph of holy light?I appreciate how frustrating it can be healing, lord knows I’ve been annoyed by crappy dps who stand in fire or tanks who insist on pulling the whole instance but I feel it’s dangerous to get into the situation where we’re saying 1 role is more important that the others – Tanks I find are prone to it as well. I appreciate you can’t heal stupid but sometimes the bad is unavoidable.

  31. Joredin permalink
    February 23, 2010 3:14 PM

    Great post and very well written! While I like the overall theme of the post (don’t be a dick), I can’t say that I wholey agree it. Keep in mind this is coming from a well geared Discipline Priest.When it comes to random heroics, I usually want to get through the instance as quickly as possible. Heroic dungeons have become quite stale for me given the dozens of times I have ran them. I love groups that want to chain pull through the dungeon. This helps me to feel useful. Generally, 98% of the time when I am healing in a 5-man heroic, I rarely drop below 60% mana. My mana pool is over 30k, my MP5 in combat is well over 500, and I have 2 mana generating abilities (Shadowfiend and Hymn of Hope). So most of the time, I am hoping the tank is pulling the next group quickly so that I can feel like I am contributing to the group rather than acting as a saftey net. So regardless, I am always healing my group to full health, which include life tapping Warlocks. I always have food and drink on me, but I generally judge myself on my ability to NOT USE FOOD OR DRINK. If I am below 50% by the next pull, I cast Shadowfiend. If my mana and other mana users in my party are low right after a fight, I cast Hymn of Hope. Usually by the time I would need to use them again, they are off cooldown. Overall, I am just wanting to see how fast we can clear a dungeon.For all you Tanks and DPSers out there, this is a good reason to download and install GearScore. GearScore does not make the player and does not make any statement about skill or ability to play. However, I find GearScore useful in these cases so I can quickly glance at my healer (when I am running my DK tank) and see what type of gear they are in. I also glance at their mana pool as it is usually an indicator on how long they will last in a fight(s). If I am tanking and my healer is in 4.5k GS or less, I tend to be more courteous. However, if they have a big mana pool and a higher GS, do expect a bit more out of them because I know from my Priest that they probably are not that busy – unless of course the rest of the group is under geared, inexperienced, or incompetent. General rule of thumb is to use your common sense, IF you have any.Please don’t /spit or /hate me for this comment. I will say that is that this DOES NOT APPLY to healers who are working on better gear after a break from the game or tend to run out of mana. Tanks and DPS need to look at their Healers mana bar before they decide to pull. If I wasn’t in the gear I have I would definately agree with 100% of this post.Now for my RANT!1. We wipe together, we RUN together – Makes me so angry when people are too lazy to run and expect a rez2. Do NOT join a random to level your weapon skill3. Do NOT stand in the fire and wonder why you died4. If you are out of RANGE or out of LINE OF SIGHT, don’t blame the healer5. I will NOT heal your pet – LRN2MENDPET and turn OFF taunt!6. I DO NOT make my own reagent, nor are they FREE – Want a BUFF?? Then wait for everyone to be in range or in zone.

  32. Joredin permalink
    February 23, 2010 3:14 PM

    Great post and very well written! While I like the overall theme of the post (don’t be a dick), I can’t say that I wholey agree it. Keep in mind this is coming from a well geared Discipline Priest.When it comes to random heroics, I usually want to get through the instance as quickly as possible. Heroic dungeons have become quite stale for me given the dozens of times I have ran them. I love groups that want to chain pull through the dungeon. This helps me to feel useful. Generally, 98% of the time when I am healing in a 5-man heroic, I rarely drop below 60% mana. My mana pool is over 30k, my MP5 in combat is well over 500, and I have 2 mana generating abilities (Shadowfiend and Hymn of Hope). So most of the time, I am hoping the tank is pulling the next group quickly so that I can feel like I am contributing to the group rather than acting as a saftey net. So regardless, I am always healing my group to full health, which include life tapping Warlocks. I always have food and drink on me, but I generally judge myself on my ability to NOT USE FOOD OR DRINK. If I am below 50% by the next pull, I cast Shadowfiend. If my mana and other mana users in my party are low right after a fight, I cast Hymn of Hope. Usually by the time I would need to use them again, they are off cooldown. Overall, I am just wanting to see how fast we can clear a dungeon.For all you Tanks and DPSers out there, this is a good reason to download and install GearScore. GearScore does not make the player and does not make any statement about skill or ability to play. However, I find GearScore useful in these cases so I can quickly glance at my healer (when I am running my DK tank) and see what type of gear they are in. I also glance at their mana pool as it is usually an indicator on how long they will last in a fight(s). If I am tanking and my healer is in 4.5k GS or less, I tend to be more courteous. However, if they have a big mana pool and a higher GS, do expect a bit more out of them because I know from my Priest that they probably are not that busy – unless of course the rest of the group is under geared, inexperienced, or incompetent. General rule of thumb is to use your common sense, IF you have any.Please don’t /spit or /hate me for this comment. I will say that is that this DOES NOT APPLY to healers who are working on better gear after a break from the game or tend to run out of mana. Tanks and DPS need to look at their Healers mana bar before they decide to pull. If I wasn’t in the gear I have I would definately agree with 100% of this post.Now for my RANT!1. We wipe together, we RUN together – Makes me so angry when people are too lazy to run and expect a rez2. Do NOT join a random to level your weapon skill3. Do NOT stand in the fire and wonder why you died4. If you are out of RANGE or out of LINE OF SIGHT, don’t blame the healer5. I will NOT heal your pet – LRN2MENDPET and turn OFF taunt!6. I DO NOT make my own reagent, nor are they FREE – Want a BUFF?? Then wait for everyone to be in range or in zone.

  33. johnny permalink
    March 9, 2010 11:11 PM

    This is my late comment due to my computer’s video card shitting on itself and I had to decide to buy a new computer or just a new card…or neither. I opted for a new card finally. lol. /lifestoryoffBUT when I play my druid I am more then happy to be the "heal bitch." Truth is popping a rejuv or regrowth on someone really fast is so mana-inexpensive that I don’t mind doing it if it makes the group go faster, less chance he will die next pull, and I just seem like the BAMF who can heal whenever no problem :P I mean maybe druids are OP or I’m some sort of bomb ass player that never runs out of mana, but unless its a boss fight or some scary shit just got pulled and I drained all my mana there is no reason as a healer I need to drink after every pull and be topped off. (god that was a long run on sentence :P sorry) Basically I guess I think by topping off the DPS the run goes faster and there is a less chance of wipe and you popping one heal before a pull isn’t gonna be the difference between a wipe or a success on a trash group. :P good day

  34. April 18, 2010 11:14 PM

    Oh this is so true! It doesn’t just go for healers though sadly – in general random heroics seems to have a lot of inconsiderate people. Not only of course – you meet good ones too. But it really bugs me that people are rude and don’t play for the best of the group. I do heroics both as tank and healer – and sometimes as dps.You find all kinds of annoying behaviour.. like if you’re a healer, my priest wasn’t that well geared and I DID need mana breaks now and then. Most tanks are okay with that, but I had one the other day (not even defense capped, so one would think they’d be a bit careful.. but no) that just kept on charging forward. We’d wiped and I’d ressed two people and healed them to full.. sat down to replenish mana only to see the tank run ahead and start tanking the next group.As a tank I generally get annoyed when dps for some reason decides that they wanna pull the next group – excuse me, but if I’m tanking then I will pull. You pull – you be the tank. Accidental pulls of course not counting. And I’m not a slow tank, so it’s not that they can say I’m taking too long. I always keep an eye out for the healer’s mana too – since occassionally you do run into a lower geared healer. I think it’s just common courtesy – but it seems some people forgot what it is after they can just leave the party and never see you again.

  35. Moochew permalink
    May 3, 2010 11:59 PM

    I’ll be honest, I don’t get irritated at people who stand around while I’m drinking in between fights. (which, if I’m honest, is really really rare for me to need to do unless I’ve been DPSing) I just don’t heal them. If they’re really low, I’ll generally make a comment that I’m drinking so maybe they should eat. What REALLY gets my goat is the people who say "Rez Plz" straight after a fight when I’m in the middle of drinking, and then spam "Rez Plz" if you don’t answer / rez them immediately. Or the ones who don’t release but wait for someone to rez them after a full wipe. I’ve told people to run back because I’m not rezzing their lazy ass. Same goes for people who, after a full wipe, sit around waiting for ME to get mana in order to heal them up instead of eating / bandaging. Oh, and people who scream "HEAL PLS" in the middle of a fight. Do they think I don’t know what their health is? I usually make a point of NOT healing people who do that. Basically, for me, it’s people who demand things, and make no effort to "help themselves" or display any team spirit such as running back with the group after a wipe, etc.

  36. Anon. permalink
    May 10, 2010 1:33 PM

    Imo it’s just a lack of respect for the healer when someone thinks he has "the right to demand a heal". We’re all playing WoW because we want to have fun, right? Why should some players have the right to get treated in a better way then most others? You’re right about the dungeon finder and that it’s too easy to find new groups for many people so they don’t appreciate what other players do for them.

  37. June 11, 2010 9:06 AM

    I’ve read this before, and I’ll read it again, because it is so damn true. The other day I zoomed into a heroic Gundrak, and needed to sort my interface for a few seconds before I was ready to start. We had a paladin tank who, for some reason, stood at half health… and wanted me to heal him up? I probably would have healed him had I not been busy, or if his request wasn’t equal to "heal?" I know I’m probably being very fussy here, but for goodness sakes he is a paladin, heal yourself for crying out loud! My shift starts when things start hitting you -.- Not because you can be arsed to use your own heals, or sit down and eat. Also, there is a really powerful word out there which will basically persuade me into happily doing anything you ask of me (healer-wise)… can yah guess it? That’s right… "please" (and none of that plz, that’s just lazy, just like the non-healing yourself is). Anyway, brilliant post. /salute

  38. June 11, 2010 9:06 AM

    I’ve read this before, and I’ll read it again, because it is so damn true. The other day I zoomed into a heroic Gundrak, and needed to sort my interface for a few seconds before I was ready to start. We had a paladin tank who, for some reason, stood at half health… and wanted me to heal him up? I probably would have healed him had I not been busy, or if his request wasn’t equal to "heal?" I know I’m probably being very fussy here, but for goodness sakes he is a paladin, heal yourself for crying out loud! My shift starts when things start hitting you -.- Not because you can be arsed to use your own heals, or sit down and eat. Also, there is a really powerful word out there which will basically persuade me into happily doing anything you ask of me (healer-wise)… can yah guess it? That’s right… "please" (and none of that plz, that’s just lazy, just like the non-healing yourself is). Anyway, brilliant post. /salute

Trackbacks

  1. The Scoop « Ethermead

Leave a Reply

