Skip to content

WTB Cross-Server Friends List

February 22, 2010

After doing nothing but doing heroic after heroic for what felt like forever (and was in fact probably only two weeks) I finally got enough emblems on Anea to get my planned hunter alt some heirlooms so she could level in style.

(BTW: just pointing the bow at the level 1 wolves and having them die is awesome.  Just sayin’)

In the course of the many, many, many groups that Anea was in, I was grouped with some nice people.  I was grouped with some assholes.  And I was grouped with a person or two who I wanted to hug tight and never let go of.  Sadly, these people weren’t from my home server of Exodar – they were from other servers.  I could place the assholes on my ignore list all I wanted and never worry that I’d have to see them again.  However… why can we not friend great players as well, as a sort of “preferential” grouping mechanism?  Awesome Mage from HHoR?  I’d love to see him again.  The pally from a HPoS group that was such a great leader and tank?  I’d heal for him any day.  Those are just two that stood out, but there have been other people I wouldn’t have minded having in my party again – and I’d like to rely on more than just random chance that I’d see them again too.

There was a baby pally tank that I ran into while on my hunter – we had quite the rough SFK run and had been sending each other tells back and forth for entertainment.  We finally finished the instance, despite fourmanning it and having the druid smacking Arugal with his staff instead of being in kitty (both times!) and just general chaos.  We had both agreed that we’d like to stay partied and queue for further instances, but the druid wouldn’t drop the group – we couldn’t kick him either, since we had ported out of the dungeon (something to note for future reference!)  We politely asked him to leave – he didn’t.  We told him that he only had to right click his portrait and select “Leave party” – he didn’t.  He logged out, but most likely exited the game rather than a normal log out, since it showed him as disconnected in party – and was therefore a member we couldn’t get rid of.

The pally and I heaved sighs and /wave’d goodbye, since we were sure we couldn’t see each other again since there was no friending feature.  We thought we’d try to queue immediately after we dropped party on the off-chance that we’d be thrown in the same group again.

And it worked!  An instance came up instantaneously and who was the group’s tank?  My pally friend!  We probably got lucky – not because the stategy was a good one, but because of the extremely late hour and the lack of people queueing at those times.

But really… I’d love to be able to friend some of the people I meet in randoms, not just take a screenshot of their name and server for future reference.

15 Comments leave one →
  1. February 22, 2010 9:47 PM

    Not such a bad idea, not only that, just about all of my twitter friends play on other servers. I wouldn’t mind saying hello when I got on-line.

  2. February 22, 2010 10:14 PM

    I wouldn’t be surprised to see some sort of cross-server friend list-lite in the future. People would accrue a decent list of people they don’t mind running instances with, and asshats nobody wants to run with again will get stuck with other asshats nobody wants to run again with.

  3. February 22, 2010 10:19 PM

    I totally agree! I’ve been leveling my discipline priest from 50-60 and I’ve encountered some great people from other servers I’d love to run with again. Maybe they’ll implement something like this – they’re clearly still tinkering and improving the tool. I actually have had the good fortune to encounter some of the same players again, often after both of us have leveled 5 or 6 levels, which is cool to see.

  4. February 22, 2010 10:19 PM

    I totally agree! I’ve been leveling my discipline priest from 50-60 and I’ve encountered some great people from other servers I’d love to run with again. Maybe they’ll implement something like this – they’re clearly still tinkering and improving the tool. I actually have had the good fortune to encounter some of the same players again, often after both of us have leveled 5 or 6 levels, which is cool to see.

  5. Tarinae permalink
    February 23, 2010 12:31 AM

    I would love to be able to talk to some tweeps in game! Sorry this is short but I am doing this mobile ! Great post!

  6. February 23, 2010 3:20 AM

    I would love to have a cross server friends list. It would be great for exactly like you said, the people you meet doing randoms. When my shammy was healing VC and BFD I had this awesome rogue in my group, who I ended out whispering with through out the whole thing. She actually would tell people to wait for me to get mana, and yell at the tank for not pulling mobs off me. All around awesome. we pretty much two manned most of VC because the rest of the group was terrible. :P

  7. February 23, 2010 4:51 AM

    Hey you’re in my battlegroup!

  8. February 23, 2010 6:45 AM

    This! I’ve actually wondered if there are any folks sharing a battlegroup with me I might end up with. I wish I could! And I wish I could friend great people regardless of where they are.

  9. February 23, 2010 7:55 AM

    Well, part of this is coming with the new Battle.net – the chat part, that is. I’m not sure I’d want to friend some random someone who could then see me wherever I was online, but it’s a start.

  10. February 23, 2010 2:44 PM

    You can requeue with someone from another server. Just don’t leave the party after the instance. :)

  11. February 24, 2010 10:09 PM

    Oh yes, I could get a lot of use out of a cross-server friends list. Dolts and assholes I can just put on ignore, and I never have to group with them again, but when I have an awesome party, I’m forced to probably never group with them again ever, barring incredibly low odds?Maybe that’ll come about with the whole cross-game functionality and Real IDs down the road with battle.net. I’m hopeful, anyway.

  12. February 25, 2010 2:33 PM

    I completely agree, luckily had an awesome pug the other day, healer and tank were insanely awesome people and good players (at level 35 that’s quite rare), luckily one of them was on my server so I got chatting to him a bit more, but I know what you mean :)

  13. February 25, 2010 2:33 PM

    I completely agree, luckily had an awesome pug the other day, healer and tank were insanely awesome people and good players (at level 35 that’s quite rare), luckily one of them was on my server so I got chatting to him a bit more, but I know what you mean :)

  14. February 26, 2010 2:30 PM

    I have been waiting for this forever. The new LFG system is cool but the chance of hookin up with some of my friends is a shot in the dark.I thought i remember hearing about the battle net system coming in to chat with your friends that are logged in. I would think there would be some sort of cross server communication. or atleast have an ability to whisper them. general channels once i think about it could be complete chaos.I would definetly like a ignore list for cross servers. add that to the list kk?Totems down, Hero up!~chamsa

  15. Wowopa permalink
    March 14, 2010 1:19 AM

    Great post… we need one so bad now with RDF. I’ve had some really great folks that I wish we could group with again; here’s to hoping the new battle.net will be all it is shaping up to be.

Leave a Reply

