Skip to content

Single Abstract Noun (or, Easily Spoiled)

March 8, 2010

Let’s talk about Tam’s brain child, Single Abstract Noun.

Actually, let’s get the rules out of the way first:

The guild rules of Single Abstract Noun are as follows:

1. Anybody with even the vaguest passing interest in the blogging community is welcome – which is why it’s a blogging communities guild, not a bloggers’ guild.

2. Single Abstract Noun is a pantocracy – which means, not only that pants are encouraged, but it’s rule by all. The guild belongs to all who belong to it.

3. Use the guild however you like, as a meeting place, for conversation, for running the occasional dungeon, have a million alts, have a single character, whatever you like.

4. There are no rules about respecting other people because GODDAMN IT I’M TAKING THAT AS READ.

5. Leave your wowcock in the stand by the door.

And if you’ve read only about half the wowblogs I do, you’ll have seen posts about how freaking awesome it is (both the EU and US chapters).  If you want in on the awesome, roll up a character on Argent Dawn (Alliance-US and Horde-EU) and /join singleabstractnoun and you’ll be thrown an invite.

Naturally, after learning of this, I rolled up a Gnome mage to sign the charter Miss Medicina needed signed for our chapter!  My eyes were wide open in wonder – the possibilties were endless!  A new alt?  A blogger guild?  Where do I sign up?!  (Well… I was actually on the way to do that but…. *cough*)

That mage was soon deleted.  As I’ve written before, at my core I’m a healer.  I want to heal.  I mourned the fact that we couldn’t be Horde so I could transfer my baby Troll shaman, but Draenei can be shaman.  I like Draenei.  Should’ve been easy, right?

Well… no.  See, after I kitted out my hunter I got a taste of the good life.  Stuff died so fast.  I felt uber awesome.  I had SHOULDERS at level 1!  Life was good.  So now, I want my shaman to live the good life too.  But, she can’t!  She’s on Argent Dawn.  And even if I DID want to earn the emblems to kit her out, she would miss out on all the time that could be spent leveling and chatting over in SAN.

And not only that, it’s rather selfish.  Just about every other person who isn’t a Death Knight in SAN is doing things the same way – old school.  And they’re leveling just fine, of course.  I am not so new at this game I don’t remember back to vanilla and how leveling really was.  How could I get soft so easily?

Silly selfishness aside… it’s so awesome.  There are names that I recognize and also many that I don’t, who are readers, commenters, blog-stalkers… bloggers who are new to me!  All thrown together, running RFC and coming up with the most awesome Gnome names ever.  (I even got to chat with the Gnomish alter-ego of one R. Pebblebottom, Adventurist.  I only fangirled a little.)

So, please stop by and chat with us!  Play a little or just stay standing in the place it throws you when you’re created and only talk.  It’s all in the spirit of Single Abstract Noun!

7 Comments leave one →
  1. March 8, 2010 9:04 PM

    /join sanchan – for EU, though it’s simpler to /who Single Abstract Noun and whisper anybody who is online in the guild for an invite ^^I’m levelling my rogue without heirlooms and it sucked for a little bit but I’m starting to enjoy her more now that she’s about level 20ish.

  2. March 8, 2010 9:04 PM

    /join sanchan – for EU, though it’s simpler to /who Single Abstract Noun and whisper anybody who is online in the guild for an invite ^^I’m levelling my rogue without heirlooms and it sucked for a little bit but I’m starting to enjoy her more now that she’s about level 20ish.

  3. March 10, 2010 10:12 PM

    I think I’ll get over there eventually, but right now I have too many alts I’m trying to play. >.<Adding another one, especially on a new (to me) server just doesn’t seem feasible right now, since I’d probably only play it once a month or so. But I’ll get there someday!

  4. Jack permalink
    March 14, 2010 7:47 AM

    Totally off topic . . . that is an awesome picture you used for the raeg header.

  5. Anea permalink
    March 15, 2010 10:11 PM

    @Jack Thank you! I really like how the screenshot turned out – it’s one of my favorites :)

  6. March 18, 2010 9:58 PM

    I really really want to roll a toon to come play with folks soon. Would be great to get to play with some of the folks I enjoy reading…

  7. June 17, 2010 2:17 PM

    When I get my SAN dk leveled and get some heirlooms, I may consider leveling something else… I’ve already got 10 toons on my home server, so I don’t really want to start over at level 1 again just yet. Finishing Loremaster on my dk didn’t make me want to stop leveling… just take a break from starting another level 1

Leave a Reply

